Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource!
Coaching Questions is a great resource for coaches or any individual who would like to improve their communication skills. Not only is the information practical but it is easy to find just the right question because of the way the book is laid out.

The book is laid out into six sections. The sections give question examples, coaching models and exercises. At the...
Published on May 18, 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Starting Point
This book is great for coaches just starting out or for those that would like an abundance of questions. The content itself is OK and they questions are separated into specific areas of interest or niches. The questions are very thought provoking and I would recommended any coaches that purchase the book to answer the questions themselves. This way they will have a...
Published on December 17, 2008 by Gregg Swanson


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource!, May 18, 2008
By 
This review is from: Coaching Questions: A Coach's Guide to Powerful Asking Skills (Paperback)
Coaching Questions is a great resource for coaches or any individual who would like to improve their communication skills. Not only is the information practical but it is easy to find just the right question because of the way the book is laid out.

The book is laid out into six sections. The sections give question examples, coaching models and exercises. At the start of each section of questions Tony has added a sidebar that gives you the application for those questions. There are also sidebars with hints and tips throughout the book that are helpful. But the questions themselves are questions that I will use again and again.

Tony is perhaps one of the most practical authors that I have found. There's no fluff here, just good practical information. I highly recommend this resource!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coaching Questions, August 3, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coaching Questions: A Coach's Guide to Powerful Asking Skills (Paperback)
This book is one of those rare finds that truly over-delivers, even to (maybe especially to) long-time, experienced coaches. I confess that I have often straddled the line between coaching and consulting, but this book has put me back in the domain I love: coaching. Not only is it filled with succinct, real-life coaching situations I could relate to, the author offers several simple but powerful models for shaping coaching conversations and good reminders for how to be sure you're on track from the client's perspective. I keep it on my desk and make sure I review a few pages everyday just to keep my questioning skills sharp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Resource!, September 17, 2008
This review is from: Coaching Questions: A Coach's Guide to Powerful Asking Skills (Paperback)
If you are a coach, you must get this book! Tony continues to show us why he's a top coach. This is a book that you will reach for again and again as you develop your asking skills as a coach. The book is laid out in a manner that makes getting to the right questions quick and easy. I love the fact that it is not a "read from cover to cover" type of book...it is truly a guide for those of us that find ourselves sometimes reaching for the right questions. Even the margins of the book are set up to help you! The margins have quotes, client/coaching excercises, hints/tips and even tells you what page to go in the book for more!

If you are a coach, don't think about it...just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars like it -- wish it was spiral bound, April 24, 2009
This review is from: Coaching Questions: A Coach's Guide to Powerful Asking Skills (Paperback)
Overall, I like this book. I'm a Certified Wellness Coach in the 1st year of my practice. Within a week after I received this book, I used some of the questions with one of my clients who had previously requested that I make my questions more specific. As a result, we had one of our best calls: definitely created a stronger connection. The index in the back is most helpful: I would use that in between client calls if I needed help generating questions in a specific area. My one wish for this book, from an ease of use perspective, is that it be produced in a spiral bound format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best's books on coaching., March 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coaching Questions: A Coach's Guide to Powerful Asking Skills (Paperback)
I have researched many books on coaching. It is hard to find one that has a practcal use. Many are more theory than practice. This book is an excellent resource for anyone in counseling or coaching. Each page focuses on a topic and has questions listed on each page to ask the client. This book is THE MOST PRACTICAL book I have in my collection. If you want a hands on book with specific questions and tools, this book is a great reaource. If you want more theory then you should look elsewhere. You could pick this book up without any training, pick a topic, and ask the questions on each page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will Greatly Improve Your Coaching, June 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coaching Questions: A Coach's Guide to Powerful Asking Skills (Paperback)
Most new coaches (and even some experienced ones) have a strong tendency to want to help the client solve their problem(s) by showing/telling them the answer. The better method is to let the client discover the answer. And the most effective method for the client to discover the answer is to ask the right questions.

Tony Stoltzfus and created a very helpful guide with his Coaching Questions. The first section of the book covers the groundwork. Why ask? He gives you five great reasons why asking is so important and effective.
1. The answers lie within the person being coached.
2. Asking creates buy-in
3. Asking empowers - it gives the client confidence and encourages them
4. Asking develops leadership
5. And it creates authenticity

He then moves to the top ten asking mistakes. We tend to ask closed end questions, we lead the client or we ask rambling questions. There is lots of additional very helpful information in the first section of the book.

In section II, he goes over the coaching process which is a mini course in effective coaching. He spends time on the different conversation models, the coaching funnel, the coaching agenda and the life wheel assessment. Again he covers lots of additional material in this section.

In section III, he covers life coaching and destiny discovery. Here the question are designed for the client to get a clear picture of who they are, what motivates them, their dreams and desires, the obstacles holding them back.

Section IV is coaching in action, creating a better life today. Again the coaching is built around powerful and probing questions. Section V is about advanced asking skills. In section VI he covers the different coaching niches.

There are question presented in each section. The questions are powerful and well organized. They are not meant to be asked mechanically, but used as a reference prior to a coaching session.

There are plenty of sidebars in the margins of the book. They fall into three categories: applications, hints & tips and for more.

If you follow the information in this book you will bring much more structure to your coaching sessions. More structure will bring more effectiveness. Follow his advice and guidance and you will become a better coach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Starting Point, December 17, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coaching Questions: A Coach's Guide to Powerful Asking Skills (Paperback)
This book is great for coaches just starting out or for those that would like an abundance of questions. The content itself is OK and they questions are separated into specific areas of interest or niches. The questions are very thought provoking and I would recommended any coaches that purchase the book to answer the questions themselves. This way they will have a sense of what their clients will experience.
Gregg Swanson
Mental Strength Coach
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful resource for new coaches, especially!, January 26, 2010
This review is from: Coaching Questions: A Coach's Guide to Powerful Asking Skills (Paperback)
Coaching Questions: A Coach's Guide to Powerful Asking Questions, gets right to the heart of one of the most important skills that coaches possess; our ability to ask powerful questions. The questions we ask (as coaches) illicit answers from our clients that help them to become aware of their own thoughts and feelings that can help them create strategies and solutions going forward. Good questions are one of the keys to successful coaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and usable, June 9, 2008
By 
This review is from: Coaching Questions: A Coach's Guide to Powerful Asking Skills (Paperback)
This book is so much more than a list of coaching questions that it is truly a professional coach's handbook. The questions are organized by coaching opportunities, issues, and barriers so they end up being extremely helpful. But also included are such coaching aides as a client profile form, session prep form, coaching models, etc. Finally, there is a special helpful section for special coaching niches. I'm keeping the book handy whenever I plan or execute a coaching appointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Coaching Treasure, October 14, 2008
This review is from: Coaching Questions: A Coach's Guide to Powerful Asking Skills (Paperback)
What a resourceful, coaching guide! This was the best value for money. It far exceeded my expectations. The layout of the book was very simple yet extremely effective. Helps you get clear on process, models, and opens you up to hundreds of empowering questions with which to support your coaching clients. A must have for any coach, a treasure for your coaching resources. Fantastic job Tony Stoltzfus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Coaching Questions: A Coach's Guide to Powerful Asking Skills
Coaching Questions: A Coach's Guide to Powerful Asking Skills by Tony Stoltzfus (Paperback - April 24, 2008)
$14.99 $12.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.