Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Friendship
I picked this movie because of Timothy Olyphant. I like his performance in HBO series "Deadwood" but have not seen him on the big screen yet before I got this movie. His big dark eyes are mesmerizing and his quiet walk hints that there is a trouble to this character that is difficult to decode right away. Olyphant plays a convict released early from the prison who...
Published on October 6, 2008 by Reader

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low budget indie melodrama
Despite Josh Brolin's presence, this indie film smacks of low budget, though its tale of revenge, with a love triangle on the side, makes for pleasant viewing. Set in the Florida Panhandle, the film doesn't make very clear what the central character wants from the two evil marina guys, though he seems to want some money owed him before he went to prison for some drug...
Published on July 24, 2009 by Bradley F. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Friendship, October 6, 2008
This review is from: Coastlines (DVD)
I picked this movie because of Timothy Olyphant. I like his performance in HBO series "Deadwood" but have not seen him on the big screen yet before I got this movie. His big dark eyes are mesmerizing and his quiet walk hints that there is a trouble to this character that is difficult to decode right away. Olyphant plays a convict released early from the prison who returns to his home town. He wants to collect money from a job that landed him to prison in a first place and reconnect with friends from his youth. His best friend is a sheriff, kind and caring, if not dull - who is married to a beautiful woman both men love. Can this love triangle survive the temptations? Where does loyalty and frendship fall into the play? Can someone start over his life after terrible personal loss? Good story, lots of action, great characters and moving emotional power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait..., February 12, 2007
By 
Cubist (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coastlines (DVD)
Victor Nunez may not be the most prolific filmmaker - he's made five feature films in 28 years - but the ones that do exist are intimate portraits of characters in transition, often leaving a bad situation in the hopes of starting a new life. His films are set in Florida (the state that he hails from) and his latest, Coastlines, is no different. However, because it was independently financed, the film has taken five years to finally see the light of day on DVD but for fans of Nunez's work, it has definitely been well worth the wait.

Right from the opening credits Nunez establishes the setting and the main characters of the film. He does a great job creating a sense of place, immersing us in the town and the people that inhabit it with the way he shoots everything and uses location and music. For example, he employs several evocative overhead long shots of the landscape that really go a long way in setting a particular mood and atmosphere. There is a consistency to the way he shoots his movies and Coastlines feels like it was shot in the 1990s along with his last two efforts, Ruby in Paradise and Ulee's Gold.

Nunez also has a knack for drawing very naturalistic performances out of his actors. These characters behave and speak like actual people and not like movie stereotypes. There's an ease and natural flow to their conversations. It's great to see actors like Timothy Olyphant, Josh Lucas and William Forsythe, who normally play larger than life characters in more mainstream fare, portray more realistically-written characters.

The nature of the story - a drama mixed with a crime thriller - lends itself to a potentially sensationalistic approach but Nunez treats every aspect of the movie (even the blowing up of a house) in a matter-of-fact manner. He also takes the time to incorporate the minutia of life into the film with little details, bits of business like showing the characters working at their respective jobs, to make them richer. This is true of his entire body of work because he is a humanistic filmmaker with a genuine empathy for his characters. He knows his universe and how to work within it. With the exception of the slightly pat ending that wraps things up a little too neatly; Nunez rarely makes a false step in Coastlines, delivering yet another satisfying movie for people who want a little something more substantial than what most Hollywood movies are willing to offer.

There is an audio commentary by writer/director Victor Nunez. He points out that many of the crew members that worked on this movie have worked on all five of his films. Nunez does a fine job articulating the themes in his movies and why he chooses to explore them while also touching upon aspects like casting and the technical details of making a movie.

Also included is one deleted scene with an optional commentary by Nunez. This scene actually appeared at the Sundance Film Festival screening but he ultimately cut it because it dragged out the film's ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low budget indie melodrama, July 24, 2009
By 
This review is from: Coastlines (DVD)
Despite Josh Brolin's presence, this indie film smacks of low budget, though its tale of revenge, with a love triangle on the side, makes for pleasant viewing. Set in the Florida Panhandle, the film doesn't make very clear what the central character wants from the two evil marina guys, though he seems to want some money owed him before he went to prison for some drug activities. The action parts of the film are the weak link, but the character development of the love triangle participants is decently done. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coastlines, May 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coastlines (DVD)
Being a huge Timothy Olyphant fan, I knew I would not be disappointed and I wasn't. This is an emotional little movie with characters that are flawed and so human. I would suggest this film to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ties that Bind / Blood does not a family make... in all cases., January 23, 2011
By 
KatieHepburn (Sweetwater, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coastlines (Amazon Instant Video)
I recently became a fan of Timothy Olyphant after watching the new series 'Justified', one of the best programs on FX or any other network. Fortunately, he does not disappoint in 'Coastlines', not one little bit. Writer and director, Victor Nunez manages to confer a depth of character upon our protagonist that leaves us really caring what happens to him. In fact, even the children in this film are gifted with personas that make them memorable.

Sonny is a rather tragic fellow just returning home from a three year prison stint, hoping to start over. His relationship with his father is ambiguous on a good day. The affection between them is obvious, but his father just seems compelled, whenever he opens his mouth, to say something disparaging about his son. Unfortunately, Sonny's resolution towards a quieter life is marred slightly by unfinished past business gone bad. Nunez brilliantly culls these moments and experiences to lay open the finely nuanced aspects of Sonny's character, allowing us to really see into his soul.

The music chosen for this movie is so very apt to the spiritual threads throughout. We hear some Jazz, Blues, Zydego and the movie ends on the laid back, go-with-the-flow of Lynyrd Skynyrd's "Call Me The Breeze". So apropos!

While some have criticized Dave's (Josh Brolin) kindness to Sonny after he misappropriates certain family valuables, so to speak, I came away with a totally different perspective. I grew up in churches that taught, repeatedly, the concept of unconditional love, yet not often have I witnessed it. The camaraderie that Sonny, Dave and Anne had formed over so many years was closer than blood. Indeed, there had to be rules and boundaries, but forgiveness, upon remorse, was a given.

In conclusion, the good guys were flawed, yet they were heading in the right direction and the bad guys... Well, they were heading in the correct direction. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You could do worse, I suppose..., August 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coastlines (Amazon Instant Video)
I rented this film from Video on Demand for less then three bucks and watched it in a fit of boredom. Under these circumstances, I do not regret seeing it. However, had I spent money to actually purchase the DVD, I would not have been pleased. The film is a low budget creation which surprises with good acting. However, not even the quality of acting can rescue the film from the poorly constructed and written story.

After three years in jail for drug traficking, Sonny (Timothy Olyphant) comes back home on early release. His first order of the day is to collect $200K from the Vances, his former partners in crime. His shut mouth after his arrest had earned him the pay out. However, the Vances are slow with the cash, eventually making it clear they have no intention of paying up. While waiting for the money, Sonny re-establishes his relationship with his lifelong friends Dave and Ann (he is a local police officer), now a happily married couple with two daughters. It quickly becomes evident that Sonny's feelings for Ann run deeper then friendship. From this point on events slowly escalate. There is murder for hire, murder for revenge, betrayal.

You'd think that the above is a good set up for an interesting story. So it is. However, the writers mangle its potential by having characters make choices and decissions far removed from human logic, in order to accomodate a predictable scenario of events. Therefore, in the end, nothing makes sense to the viewer. All leading characters without fail seem self centered and narcisistic. Sonny does not seem to be at all concerned that by pursuing Dave's wife he is destroying his two friends and their children. Ann finds it easy to begin an affair with Sonny, despite having an otherwise happy marriage. Dave's care for Sonny's wellbeing is pathological and inexplicable, and continues even AFTER he finds out about his wife's affair... The Vances are meant to be manacing and powerful in their community, but come accros small time and grotesque. Then we are treated to a sugar sweet ending, that is also unjustified in human terms. Oy...I'm still not sure why this film was made...

Timothy Olyphant is cute...and that's the best I can say about this film... ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly endeering, thank god for Timothy Olyphant!, March 17, 2009
This review is from: Coastlines (Amazon Instant Video)
I really enjoyed this movie. I am a fan of Timothy Olyphant and that was the reason that I decided to rent this movie. I thought that the characters were well played and written as well as the overall script. I would have preferred to have seen more movie though. Like the other reviewers I thought the movie ended to soon, I could have continued watching...which is a good thing. Worth watching and certainly a movie that I would watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, needed more ending?, July 3, 2007
This review is from: Coastlines (DVD)
When Sonny comes home after going to prison in the place of two guilty friends, he hopes these friends will keep their promise and pay him the money he's owed. Those hopes are dashed after it becomes clear his old partners plan to kill him instead. While Sonny is planning his revenge, he's getting intimate with an old love he left behind. This young love grown into a woman is now married to Sonny's best friend, who happens to be the town sheriff. Though I liked the story, I felt the ending fell short. The writer(s) could've gone a bit further with the conclusion to make it feel more complete.

Chrissy K. McVay - Author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action film with a twist, February 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coastlines (DVD)
Timothy Olyphant did an excellent job of acting & directing this movie. Am a big fan of his ever since "Hitman". Enough action for the men & enough romance for the women. Most excellent movie all the way around. Hope Tim stays on the right track with keeping his career in his own hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where was this filmed?, August 22, 2009
This review is from: Coastlines (DVD)
Actioned packed and twists and turns.But I bought 2 ,one for my daughter, one for me.We lived in this area, Franklin County,Florida.It is Apalachicola, East Point, with a splash of Carrabelle and Lanark.If you've been there on vacation,or have lived there, it will bring back fond memories.You'll see landmarks like the Gibson too.
By the way ,it is a good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Coastlines
Coastlines by Victor Nunez
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.