Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Device at a Great Price
My husband is a long-haul truck driver and goes pretty much all over the USA. He has owned a regular GPS for quite some time now and it has done pretty well for him but it didn't have a lot of the features that a professional driver needs, such as height and weight restrictions, low-clearance bridges, truck stops and so on. Because of that he has wanted a truck-specific...
Published on November 24, 2011 by HisWifeforLife70

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no good for truckers!!!
this is a poor gps for truckers, it tells you that the interstate is restricted to trucks or that the interstate or us hwys that are standared truck routes are resticted to certain weight or amount of axles or length!!! the cobra 5550 pro sends you way out of route of standard truck routes!!! it has a very small address data base!!! it will not route you into indiana,...
Published on October 15, 2011 by aliceskynyrd


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Device at a Great Price, November 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cobra GPSM 5550 PRO GPS Navagation with 5-Inch Touch Screen, Truck-Specific Routing and AURA Camera and Driving Hazard Protection (Electronics)
My husband is a long-haul truck driver and goes pretty much all over the USA. He has owned a regular GPS for quite some time now and it has done pretty well for him but it didn't have a lot of the features that a professional driver needs, such as height and weight restrictions, low-clearance bridges, truck stops and so on. Because of that he has wanted a truck-specific for quite soem time now and as a very happy Amazon.com customer, I decided to take a chance and check the site for a good deal on a decent trucker's GPS system and bot am I glad I did. The trucks stops are not known for being very budget-friendly with their GPS units, usually ranging anywhere from $275 up to around $500 or so. But thanks to Amazon.com I fund this GPS system and it was a great deal. With the system and expedited delivery it was still well under what we would have paid at a truckstop. My husband has been "playing" with it since he got it and he is very happy with it so far. Thanks for making this available at such an affordable price. We are very satisfied customers and would recommend this seller and product to others looking for quality products at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no good for truckers!!!, October 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cobra GPSM 5550 PRO GPS Navagation with 5-Inch Touch Screen, Truck-Specific Routing and AURA Camera and Driving Hazard Protection (Electronics)
this is a poor gps for truckers, it tells you that the interstate is restricted to trucks or that the interstate or us hwys that are standared truck routes are resticted to certain weight or amount of axles or length!!! the cobra 5550 pro sends you way out of route of standard truck routes!!! it has a very small address data base!!! it will not route you into indiana, keeps poping up "route calculation failed please check restictions" no matter what city i put in, out of indiana o.k. into indiana no good, i live in indiana and deliver to indiana address's and i get the same thing "route calculation failed please check restictions" ????? tried to update at cobra.com i get "no updates available" ??? i drive on a dedicated account for one company and deliver all over the u.s. of a. and this product has not done it's job, you put in an address and it dose not no where it is, hence the small address data base, 8 address's in 1 week out it did not know!!!??? do not buy this product!!! not for truckers!!! i went by the 1 review listed at the time and cobras reputation and bought this 5550 pro, the person is wrong, i have been a truck driver for over 31 years, do not buy this fellow truckers!!! it dose a good job telling you about truck stops, rest areas and state scales on the route, but that is not why a driver pays that much for a gps!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great GPS, October 26, 2011
This review is from: Cobra GPSM 5550 PRO GPS Navagation with 5-Inch Touch Screen, Truck-Specific Routing and AURA Camera and Driving Hazard Protection (Electronics)
Ive been usubg this GPS for about 3 months now.I also have a PC Miler Truck GPS.
The Cobra has a great POI database,it like any other gps is not perfect as far as routing you on roads suitable for trucks.You have to exercise common sence with this one and as far as im concerned any other truck GPS..
All in all,im extremly happy with the preformance of this unit. Will definatly buy another one when this one wears out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great GPS, September 17, 2011
By 
K. Miller "KM" (Southern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cobra GPSM 5550 PRO GPS Navagation with 5-Inch Touch Screen, Truck-Specific Routing and AURA Camera and Driving Hazard Protection (Electronics)
This GPS is a must for truck drivers. It has been great so far!
Does everything that was described. No complaints here, just wish I would have purchased this a long time ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT OK I guess, October 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cobra GPSM 5550 PRO GPS Navagation with 5-Inch Touch Screen, Truck-Specific Routing and AURA Camera and Driving Hazard Protection (Electronics)
Well been using it about 2 weeks now and its a nice looking unit, slim light, but its not truck specific with its routing ive inserted all my truck dimentions and it still sends me down no truck route like the one on 156 in california heading towards salinas, right before 101, I was trying to get over to Earthbound and it was sending me onto a road clear marked no trucks...but, im stuck with it so will use it....Update...4 months since buying it and its done it again this time in sandiego...be careful...dont trust it to much when it comes to city driving.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works good, October 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cobra GPSM 5550 PRO GPS Navagation with 5-Inch Touch Screen, Truck-Specific Routing and AURA Camera and Driving Hazard Protection (Electronics)
got the gps cause my husband is a truck driver. he says you have to do the computer setup first or else it wont give correct directions. so far so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cobra GPSM 5550, April 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cobra GPSM 5550 PRO GPS Navagation with 5-Inch Touch Screen, Truck-Specific Routing and AURA Camera and Driving Hazard Protection (Electronics)
After using the Cobra GPSM 5550 for a while, I found out it freezes every once in a while. If you are working on something and tries to do something else after changing your mind when the Gps is working on the previous task, most of the time it will freeze. I have been able to fix it with my computer once I charge it with the Usb cable. This reset all the information and restart the Gps. When it freezes, it stays that way even if you unplug it, it even freezes the batery. Other than that it helps with direction, took me to few wrong spot. But I would recommend it anyway because it takes me to the door most of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The unhappy trucker, December 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cobra GPSM 5550 PRO GPS Navagation with 5-Inch Touch Screen, Truck-Specific Routing and AURA Camera and Driving Hazard Protection (Electronics)
Not happy at all,to read the small letters on same factions need to put my readind glasses on
In a month use of it the srean freeze on me 4 times to unfreeze you must reboot it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars JUNK, September 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cobra GPSM 5550 PRO GPS Navagation with 5-Inch Touch Screen, Truck-Specific Routing and AURA Camera and Driving Hazard Protection (Electronics)
This is the worst GPS I have ever seen. The first time I tried to use it, it kept freezing up and was about as accurate as a drunk street bum. I gave cobra a chance, they sent me an updated SD card for it. WOW. What a joke that was. It started to update and an eror message showed up. After that point it had already ereased everything from the memory. I was so frustrated, that I got a refund and bought another brand. DON'T WASTE YOU MONEY OR TIME!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Trucker GPS, September 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am not impressed with the Cobra 5550. When I received it the maps were completely out of date, by years, I contacted Cobra and they mailed me an SD card update. It brought them more up to date, but are still far from being accurate. I am a truck driver that travels all over the midewest and travel many roads repetedly and the update are not accurate. It also does not provide enough info at a glance. Some of it is available by touching different places on the screen, but that is not something you want to be worrying about when in a strange place in traffic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.