Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The English version is.....
The English version for this book is, PUERTO RICAN COOKERY by the same author. It is also available here in Amazon.com.
This is one of the best cooking books from Puerto Rico, with a lot of easy to follow dishes. The Bible in all the kitchens of the puertorriquenos.
Published on March 29, 2004 by Yo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware!
This was highly recommended to me as a great traditional Puerto Rican cookbook.
This version is all in Spanish however, looking to find an English version.
Published 11 months ago by L. Mumma


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The English version is....., March 29, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cocina criolla (Hardcover)
The English version for this book is, PUERTO RICAN COOKERY by the same author. It is also available here in Amazon.com.
This is one of the best cooking books from Puerto Rico, with a lot of easy to follow dishes. The Bible in all the kitchens of the puertorriquenos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Este libro es una tradición puertorriqueña, November 29, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Cocina criolla (Hardcover)
Mi madre tiene una copia de este libro con el autografo de la autora (primera edición). Con él fue que aprendí a cocinar. Cuando me case, fue el primer libro que compré para mi nuevo hogar. El libro ofrece las recetas basicas tradicionales, que uno con el tiempo aprende a modificar a su gusto. El libro es un clasico de la cultura puertorriqueña, debe estar en toda biblioteca boricua.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE book for Puertorican Cooking, July 1, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cocina criolla (Hardcover)
My mother bought this book her first week of marriage. I learned to cook from this cookbook during my childhood in Puerto Rico. When I went to college my mother bought me this book as a graduation present.
It is an invaluable guide to Puertorican cooking. All the basics are in it and more. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Puertorican food!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST of the BEST!, April 15, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Cocina criolla (Hardcover)
This is the best Puerto Rican cookbook you will ever find. When I got married my mom took me to the store to find this book and she said to me: "You can't leave Puerto Rico without this, treasure it forever, keep your husband happy for years to come." I've been married 10 years and I still use the cookbook and my husband gets very excited on what I will cook next. He has even done some himself and feels like a great chef. Everything on that book tastes as good as it sounds or better. It is the BEST of all. I will pass this on to my children when the time comes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Recipes, December 22, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cocina criolla (Hardcover)
This book is great in teaching traditional Puerto Rican dishes. However, I wish there were an engilsh translation for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow directions, delicious receipes., August 3, 1999
This review is from: Cocina criolla (Hardcover)
An excellent source of Puerto Rican cuisine. I have been using this book since 1963. It was a gift from my mother in law who was a fantastic cook and whom I kept pestering for receipes as a new bride. It has been my only source for receipes from back home and I continue to pass on these receipes to my children. I only wish there was a copy in english as some of the terminology and names of foods I am not failiar with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Puerto Rican Cookbook, February 20, 2007
By 
Gary M. Folmer (Kissimmee, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cocina criolla (Hardcover)
The recipes in this cookbook are the real thing; everything comes out the way I remember my grandmother's cooking was. The best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puerto Rican Goodness, September 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cocina criolla (Hardcover)
This book is amazing. I am a native Puerto Rican but live in Georgia. I truly miss all the authentic flavors from back home and there were a few things that I still had yet to learn.
I am so glad that before I moved my grandmother gave me this as a gift because it has ALL the recipes for typical Puerto Rican foods such as Pasteles, Mofongo, Alcapurrias and even desserts like Tembleque. Every time a make a recipe from the book it takes me back home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The food I grew up with., September 21, 2005
By 
ladyrican (Georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cocina criolla (Hardcover)
My mom has this book and I was always experimenting in the kitchen with recipes from this book. It is very easy to follow and has great recipes. Now, I've been married for 4 years and I miss all of this great puertorican food, so I looked for it specifically so that I can revive my love of cooking the best caribbean food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic, February 7, 2007
By 
J. CRUHIGGER (Killeen, TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cocina criolla (Hardcover)
WOW!!! The book is so wonderful. It makes me remember my grandmother's cooking. She would prepare us dishes from this great cookbook. She would let me read out the ingredients and help. I love the "Pasteles", "Brazo Gitano" & "Bacalaitos"

I never thought it would still be around. I was so amazed to find on Amazon that I had to buy immediately. I miss the original green cloth-covered version, but the original flavor is all in there. A super gift. A great cookbook. Truly, the essence of Puerto Rico !!! Sabor Boricua!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cocina criolla
Cocina criolla by Carmen Aboy Valldej́uli (Hardcover - March 31, 1983)
$25.95 $20.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.