Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samples alone are worth every dime!
There's tons of samples in this book that cover a diverse set of topics in Cocos2d.

Having been in the Cocos2d forums for over 2 years, I know that most of these samples touch base with complex topics that *will* be of value to almost every cocos2d developer.

Here's link to video overviews of each chapter on YouTube. In short - GET THIS BOOK...
Published on January 6, 2012 by Brad Parks

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great examples, not so great instruction
With this "book" purchase, you are basically paying for example code that you more or less need to sift through in order to figure out what is going on. The book itself offers very little instruction or learning beyond that of "here's something neat you can do in cocos and here's the code (you already have because it came with the book), but printed out (which itself is...
Published on March 11, 2012 by golightly


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samples alone are worth every dime!, January 6, 2012
By 
Brad Parks (Fredericton, New Brunswick) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cocos2d for iPhone 1 Game Development Cookbook (Kindle Edition)
There's tons of samples in this book that cover a diverse set of topics in Cocos2d.

Having been in the Cocos2d forums for over 2 years, I know that most of these samples touch base with complex topics that *will* be of value to almost every cocos2d developer.

Here's link to video overviews of each chapter on YouTube. In short - GET THIS BOOK!

Cocos2d for iPhone 1 Game Development Cookbook

Chapter 1 - Graphics
[...]

Chapter 1 - User Input
[...]

Chapter 3 - Files and Data
[...]

Chapter 4 - Physics
[...]

Chapter 5 - Scenes and Menus
[...]

Chapter 6 - Audio
[...]

Chapter 7 - AI and Logic
[...]

Chapter 8 - Tips and Tricks
[...]

Chapter 9 - Ads, Networking and Social (Extra via email)
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immediately Useful!, January 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cocos2d for iPhone 1 Game Development Cookbook (Kindle Edition)
If you are a Cocos2D developer this book will save you some serious time. I was immediately able to make use of the platformer A Star algorithm in a project I am currently working on. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great cookbook, March 12, 2012
This book is filled with code examples on how to do various things with Cocos2d. There are lots of different things covered and the author has a project available to see everything in action. The time you save makes it well worth the cost.

I admit the explanations are a little on the short side, but this is a cookbook after all, so I can't fault it for that. On the other hand, you should be prepared for that if you intend to purchase it.

If you are new to Cocos2d, you're better off with "Learning Cocos2d" by Wenderlich as it`s meant for beginners to Cocos2d.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now. No, seriously. Buy it now., January 31, 2012
We absolutely guarantee that just about anyone will find the book worth way more than its price in time saved. To see for yourself, head over to the book's website -- [...] -- and check out the Explore The Book section for videos and explanations of the recipes in each ... and download the demo apps. Yep, the demo apps, there's free demo apps up on the store for you to check out the recipes in action: check them out at [...] and see for yourself how to *really* support a book!

Also check out the book's thread on the cocos2d-iphone forums for some subtle understated commentary like
* "This book looks like it is going to be a requirement in every developer's library!"
* "Ok, I have read a handful of recipes and I am completely sold. This is an awesome book."
* "...every developer needs to have this book."
* "this book is an absolute must for anyone developing cocos2d apps."
* "Great book, instant buy!"

Gee, gushing much? But it actually does deserve all that and more. Let us take the very first recipe, "Drawing sprites". Oh for crying out loud, you think, how does that merit a recipe? Is this thing going to be full of fluff I already know? Well, no actually, that simple sounding recipe goes over drawing from files, images, textures, and frames; explains mipmapping and batch nodes; and tops it off with colorizing rectangles. Well, that is pretty good for a first recipe, isn't it now.

The first graphics chapter goes on to cover not only common drawing and animating but movie playing, particle effects, simple 3D effects, texture animation, palette swapping, screenshots, parallax, and lighting. Pretty much a worthwhile purchase already, and we're barely started!

Second chapter covers user input of varying types, including virtual joysticks, d-pads, and accelerometer; nothing too novel here, but useful time savers here if you're newish to cocos2d.

Third chapter covers data management; reading and saving plist/JSON/XML ... and even SQLite and Core Data. Probably not much completely new to you here either, but the details of working with sprites and the like are handy.

Fourth chapter is on physics and is a particularly valuable one for those of us weak on the background there; focusing on Box2D, takes you from basic setup through impulses and forces to joints, bullets, ropes, and ending up with a 2.5D isometric game engine! That's a pretty standout one there.

Fifth chapter, `Scenes and Menus', is mostly pretty straightforward but still handy code. The sliding menu grid and minimap are particularly nice.

Sixth chapter, "Audio" is another notably useful one, nice explanations of sound manipulating, positioning, metering, recording, iPod library usage, and finishing up with creating a MIDI synthesizer with MobileSynth and then speech recognition/synthesis.

Seventh chapter, "AI and Logic" is well-nigh invaluable for those without a background in it; basic waypoints, targeting, line of sight, flocking, pathfinding (the "in a Box2D world" getting special mention, good luck figuring that one out without some help!) and finishing off with discussion of Lua integration.

We figured the last chapter "Tips, Tools, and Ports" was a bit weaker; the tools picked here mostly aren't up to the currently regarded best of breed mentioned in yesterday's roundup, and the cocos2d-x and cocos3d intros were too short to really be of much use. But hey, still worth a read.

Closest thing we have to a real complaint is that you have to email the author to get the extra chapter which was omitted from the print versions; really, how hard would it be to put it as an addenda in the electronic versions most of us are going to be buying anyways? But hey, if mild inconvenience is the worst whine we can come up with, that's pretty solid.

So, yeah. We pretty much can't imagine anyone developing with cocos2d who won't find something in here well worth the price; for those just starting out it might be a bit over your head, but it would make a perfect second step after one of the introductory books or our starting recommendation --[...]/ -- so buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great examples, not so great instruction, March 11, 2012
By 
golightly (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
With this "book" purchase, you are basically paying for example code that you more or less need to sift through in order to figure out what is going on. The book itself offers very little instruction or learning beyond that of "here's something neat you can do in cocos and here's the code (you already have because it came with the book), but printed out (which itself is not very readable in the e-version)" I found the "why" or "how" it works to be fairly lacking. That, combined with the fact that the code is difficult to read in the e-version makes the book itself also of limited utility. Ultimately, you are paying for the code that accompanies the book. As for understanding the concepts, it's back to scrubbing various online forums yet again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference, April 21, 2012
This book is a wonderful addition to any IOS Game Developers library, it contains many useful recipes (my favourite one being in the extra chapter you email the author to get - real time multiplayer!).

The book is well written, the code is explained in a nice straightforward manner and is of a high quality. The writing style isn't boring or overly 'waffley'. This book now has a permanent position in my library, and I can see myself referring to it many times for the foreseeable future. You won't be disappointed with your purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars iDevGames Review - Good overall., March 2, 2012
By 
swillits (Orange, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Full review at:
[...]
Cocos2d for iPhone 1 Game Development Cookbook Review
iDevGames.com / Alex Sikora -- Mar 02, 2012

Overview
-----------

I have yet another Cocos2d book to review! Probably one of the (if not the most) popular 2d game engines for iOS development. Cocos2d is a free engine anyone can use to make 2d games. This book was not designed for those new to development, or those new to development on the iPhone. It assumes a bit of experience with Objective-C and Cocoa, and some minor familiarity with the Xcode IDE. It is a cookbook style (as the title states) introduction to using Cocos2d in your future iOS games. You can download the source code found in the book on the publisher's website.

The Good
-----------

Coverage
This book covers everything you need to know to use Cocos2d in your games. It starts off right away with drawing sprites to the screen, perhaps the most important of recipes in the book. It also covers how to take user input in a variety of fashions, from on-screen d-pads and "analog" sticks, to accelerometer controls.

Good Recipes
The recipes in this book are well written and structured, easy to understand. The recipes follow a simple format of explaining what they are going to do, usually with some screenshot to illustrate their point. This is followed by the source code to implement it. The code is commented and step-by-step descriptions follow the code describing what new methods and classes do. Methods and their parameters are clearly explained, as well as value ranges and typical choices.

Extra Content
These recipes also extend past just Cocos2d features. The chapters "Physics" and "AI and Logic" cover topics that are useful to any game developer. The Box2D physics system is explained with useful techniques, A* pathfinding is explained, and even Lua scripting. These extra tidbits are very useful for any developers looking to make better games.

The Bad
-----------

Ugly Code
Strange for a development book to mess this one up as it's probably the most important part of the book, but the code formatting is just a bit ugly. I'm not sure what font they chose but it seems like it got stretched a bit. Also some code lines wrap on to a new line with no special formatting at all. Perhaps it was simply the review ebook version I received, and I assume they will fix it in a future version.

Depth
This is a cookbook style development guide, so it can't cover everything, but there are occasions where you want to know more information that you will have to figure out yourself. This can be a good thing though! The best way to learn is through your own experimentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste time with others., January 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Coming from c# web apps as my day job, this iOS programming is challenging to grasp. I have spent the last 2 months going back and forth between easy to use frameworks or learning iOS with Cocos and xCode GUI. The easy to use, pay for, frameworks all have serious issues outside of their example projects and waste more time than just learning Cocos2D and Objective-C where things work correctly. So I have gone back to using xCode again.

I have bought many of the other books on this subject. I have to congratulate that this is the only book out there, out of the many I have tried, where all the examples actually built and worked on the simulator and on the phone without a glitch. All of them. All the other books you are lucky if the examples build without many errors, then if they do they don't display on the simulator or phone. I consider them tax write offs. You really want the examples to work because you can't copy and paste code correctly from ebooks and retyping every last letter is really to no benefit unless you are also learning to type at the same time.

The authoring is right to point and by example. It is a combination of many small examples of how to's.
For example, one of the many things on my bucket list was to be able to drag objects around smoothly using physics and a mouse joint.
That is one of the many small examples in the book. And it actually worked professionally right out of the box.

I have also gone through many Googled up internet examples and most of them are partial, don't work and/or are outdated. Or they were surrounded with too much code not relevant to want you where searching for, hence making it very hard to learn by example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every dime!, January 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cocos2d for iPhone 1 Game Development Cookbook (Kindle Edition)
It's the best book I've ever bought!
Saving me a lot of time to finding out solutions on Internet,
and sometime you just have to look at the sample codes then you understand it!

Excellent!! Shouldn't miss it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book, January 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cocos2d for iPhone 1 Game Development Cookbook (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this book in addition to the Learning Cocos2D: A Hands-On Guide to Building iOS Games with Cocos2D, Box2D, and Chipmunk book. It will speedup your development process immediately by giving you very useful examples/recipes. The current kindle version I would not recommend until they have fixed the formatting of the source code (check the 'look inside' function of Amazon)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.