Codename: Dancer (The Dani Spevak Mystery Series Book 1) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$7.19
Qty:1
  • List Price: $7.99
  • Save: $0.80 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Codename: Dancer: A Dani Spevak Mystery Paperback – April 3, 2012


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$7.19
$4.98 $3.09


Frequently Bought Together

Codename: Dancer: A Dani Spevak Mystery + Pointe of No Return: A Dani Spevak Mystery + Pas De Death
Price for all three: $21.57

Buy the selected items together
If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle Edition for FREE. Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Product Details

  • Paperback: 146 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (April 3, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1461184010
  • ISBN-13: 978-1461184010
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 5.2 x 0.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 6.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (42 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #824,403 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Fans of Pretty Little Liars and Ally Carter's Gallagher Girls will love Codename: Dancer....a must read for every girl who ever danced - or ever wanted to!"
--Gemma Halliday, award-winning author of "Deadly Cool" and "Spying in High Heels" --This text refers to the Kindle Edition edition.

About the Author

As a little girl, Amanda Brice dreamed of being either a ballerina or the author of a mystery series featuring a cool crime-solving chick named Nancy Flew, but her father urged her to “do something practical,” so she went to law school and spent her days writing briefs and pleadings instead of fiction. But dance and writing have remained a part of her life. Amanda was a member of the ballroom dance team at Duke University, and continues this interest by her obsession with Dancing with the Stars, so it was only natural for her to set a teen mystery series at a dance school. Amanda is the Vice President of Washington Romance Writers, and is a two-time finalist for Romance Writers of America’s Golden Heart® Award. She blogs every other Wednesday with the Fictionistas and every other Friday with Killer Fiction. She is also a popular conference presenter, speaking on basic copyright and trademark law for writers. In her spare time, Amanda enjoys dancing, reading, cooking, traveling, and obsessing over whether Duke will beat Carolina in basketball. Go Devils! You can learn more at www.amandabrice.net.

More About the Author

As a little girl, Amanda Brice dreamed of being either a ballerina or the author of a mystery series featuring a cool crime-solving chick named Nancy Flew, but her father urged her to "do something practical," so she went to law school and spent her days writing briefs and pleadings instead of fiction.

But dance and writing have remained a part of her life. Amanda was a member of the ballroom dance team at Duke University, and continues this interest by her obsession with Dancing with the Stars, so it was only natural for her to set a teen mystery series at a dance school.

Amanda is a two-time finalist for Romance Writers of America's Golden Heart® Award. She is also a popular conference presenter, speaking on basic copyright and trademark law for writers. You can learn more about Amanda at www.amandabrice.net.

Customer Reviews

I couldn't wait to see what happened next.
Juli Alexander
It felt like the author was just trying to get to the end of the story, and just giving us the main points.
heather
I love Danis character and the whole plot of the story!
Reader338166 Reader338166

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Kamaria Carrington on August 6, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book was excellent and I would suggest it to all of the girl on my dance team. Heck I'd recommend it to all the girls in my performing arts school! I absolutely love it and will definitely read it again!

Very well written too! I can't wait to read what else Dani Spevak has in store for us!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By J.A. Beard on June 20, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
Codename: Dancer
Author: Amanda Brice
Genre: YA Mystery
Rating: 4 Stars

Codename: Dancer is a delightful YA mystery with a touch of romance.

Summary:

Fourteen year-old dancer Dani Spevak's fortunes at her new performing arts schools seem to be turning around when she's selected to dance with a gorgeous teen actor on a reality show. Just as quickly though, her fortunes reverse when a series of suspicious accidents strike the set. Now, this dancer has to turn detective before it's too late.

Review:

Codename: Dancer begins with a fairly standard scenario: a new transfer student having a hard time fitting in at her school. Though the social antagonist is a bit typical, the performing arts school setting and the lively lead give more than enough entertainment prior to the start of the mystery. The protagonist, Dani Spevak, a likable aspiring ballerina is likable and competent without ever seeming unrealistic.

Dani, and the various secondary characters were fairly well-developed. As a 14-year-old with a major crush, her actions aren't always motivated by the most deep and noble of reasons, but they're never inconsistent or inexplicable. Given the setting, the quirky, memorable line-up of secondary characters never seemed unnatural. The same can be said of the romance sub-plot. Those looking for deep, epic romance might be disappointed but it's still a cute sub-plot, an Dani's feelings come through well.

The Arizona performance arts setting was a nice touch. The author gives enough detail about the school to provide a more definite sense of setting beyond the more typical "fancy private school" settings that seem to dominate many YA mysteries these days.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By A. on August 19, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
I'm a fan of mysteries and/or thrillers. I really am. I just have a bit of a problem with adult thrillers/mysteries. They can get a bit too intense for me sometimes, haha. I guess I just get too involved with the book. That's why YA mysteries and thrillers are more my pace.

Codename: Dancer satisfied my taste for mystery without being too over the top. The book is on the shorter side so the action picks up pretty fast. The mystery was done well. It was one of the books where you had to keep reading so you could figure out who did it. [Normally I'm pretty good at figuring it out but I wasn't able to do it for this book!] While the book was a mystery, it was light-hearted and fun as well. Definitely perfect for a quick afternoon read.

When starting the book, I was a bit worried about the dancing. Since the author has a background in dancing, I thought the book would be heavy on the dancing and dancing terms. As someone who hasn't even mastered the Macarena, I thought I might be in over my head. I was pleasantly surprised though. The author used the terms just enough to prove she knows what she's talking about but not enough to turn off or confuse the non-dancers reading. I discovered at the end of the book there's a glossary of dance terms! It's not terribly convenient if you're reading on an e-reader though.

My only "problem" with the book was it walked the line between a middle grade book and a young adult book a bit awkwardly. I could see younger teens/tweens enjoying this book but there was more language than a normal middle grade book has. On the other hand, the book seemed maybe a smidge more juvenile than typical YA books. As an adult, this isn't a problem for me but for some people, like parents, it could be a problem.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By S. Power TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on June 9, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Codename: Dancer (A Dani Spevac Mystery) is a cute middle grade book about Dani who has just arrived at a performing arts boarding school. Dani is lucky enough to be cast as a dancer in a dancing with the stars like reality show but there's a problem. Someone has been sabotaging the show. A set falls down injuring one of the dancers, a bomb is planted in Dani's purse and more. Dani and her friends decide to put their spying skills to the test so they can save the show.

This is an adorable book and the mystery was fun I tore through the book and found it very entertaining. The setting and characters were interesting enough and I liked that the main character was a dancer. However, the characters were super cliched. The art student was dark and dreary, the mean girl was nasty and conniving and the movie star was cute and funny with Dani falling for him in an instant. Dani eats nothing at all and is constantly skipping meals and her friends help her diagnose her eating disorder before the end of the book which she accepts rather easily (because all dancers have eating disorders). The dance sequences seemed like they were written by someone who has read a lot about dance or watched it on TV but not someone who was actually a dancer. The book is very short (150 pages) but it's currently available on Amazon for kindle for 1.99 and for that price it's a fun and quick read.

Appropriateness: This book is free of sex and substance abuse and the romance is limited to kissing. The main character has an eating disorder that's handled in the same way that one would be handled in a program for young teens. She skips a lot of meals and uses costuming as an excuse. Her friends notice and after a few point it out to her and she accepts it (after denying it for a while) eats some pasta and in the end she mentions that she'll be going to a nutritionist to get it in control. I would recommend this book to girls 10-13.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews