Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, practical, go-to resource for the clinician.
Dr. Leahy has provided a first-class resource of techniques for the problem-solving oriented clinician to use.

This book is laid out in a logical format; you are shown the technique, the rationale, given clinical vignettes, possible obstacles, cross-references to other techniques to be used in conjunction or perhaps instead of a particular method, as well as a...
Published on May 3, 2005 by Rocco B. Rubino

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
a waste of $$ for me.
Published 4 months ago by LJS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, practical, go-to resource for the clinician., May 3, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Therapy Techniques: A Practitioner's Guide (Paperback)
Dr. Leahy has provided a first-class resource of techniques for the problem-solving oriented clinician to use.

This book is laid out in a logical format; you are shown the technique, the rationale, given clinical vignettes, possible obstacles, cross-references to other techniques to be used in conjunction or perhaps instead of a particular method, as well as a homework assignment for the client. This resource reflects the wisdom born out by many years of practice, as well as understanding how the mind thinks and operates; responses rooted in compassion and an empathy for the human condition.

Dr. Leahy focuses on concepts, from automatic thoughts to schema-focused therapy. This resource is necessary for the clinician not just because of the variety techniques, there are actual handouts for the therapist and the client to use.

I relied heavily on this book during my counseling internship as a go-to resource with very good results. I plan on using this book, as well as the others that Dr. Leahy has written, to inform my practice for many years to come. The homework assignments as well as the forms proved to be very practical and useful for the client.

This book is highly recommended for the novice as well as the veteran practioner alike. 5+ Stars. A must have for your professional library. I cannot recommend this book enough! It was so helpful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection of cognitive restructuring skills, November 21, 2003
By 
Wong Chi Kin (Hong Kong, nil China) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cognitive Therapy Techniques: A Practitioner's Guide (Paperback)
The book contained many essential cognitive restructuring skills, schema work and emotional regulation methods for CBT therapist to make us in their daily practice. There are many forms available for daily application, and this is a good reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cognitive therapy techniques: A practitioner's guide, February 20, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Therapy Techniques: A Practitioner's Guide (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book and a vital resource for both students and experienced cognitive-behavioural therapists. The book is fully comprised of comprehensive CBT techniques spanning from simply identifying automatic thoughts to challenging and modifying schemas. The book also offers useful information to guide the reader in selecting which techniques to use and for what issue.

The CBT techniques all contain a summary explanation, how the technique should be used, what the therapist should say verbatim when using the technique and remedies for common problems encountered with the technique.

The book's best asset is the use of case scenarios for each technique, which contain therapist/client dialogue. These small examples offer excellent ways to deliver the technique to the client verbatim. I think this is a wondeful book and a must-have for anyone engaged in counselling or practising CBT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, comprehensive resource book, March 16, 2008
This review is from: Cognitive Therapy Techniques: A Practitioner's Guide (Paperback)
A wonderful addition to any professional library. Leahy provides detailed descriptions and examples of a wide variety of cognitive interventions, complete with examples of the questions and statements that the therapist can use for each intervention, and sample therapist-client dialogues. The book contains many excellent ideas for cognitive restructuring in ways that are empathic and respectful of the client's feelings. There are also lots of sample worksheets that can be used for clients' homework. This book is great for therapists at any level who want new ideas for cognitive work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Collection of Clinical Techniques Ever, June 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Therapy Techniques: A Practitioner's Guide (Paperback)
I have been a clinician for over 25 years and have never found a book so inclusive of various CBT techniques. The format provides the technique in a detailed manner allowing the clinician to fully understand how and when to use it. There is a wide variety of techniques to use in just about any clinical situation. I also use this book with my staff, most of whom are new to the field. Each staff meeting I have one of them highlight a specific technique so that we all get to learn what is available in the book and the new therapist can learn about CBT. This book is excellent for both the new and the seasoned clinician. I highly recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful and Practical Guide, November 10, 2010
By 
S. Morelock (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Therapy Techniques: A Practitioner's Guide (Paperback)
I am a beginner, and I think this book is especially good for people like me who are just beginning to use this technique. There are copious amounts of exercises and forms that the therapist can pick and choose from. The book is very helpful b/c it give lots of examples & exercises about how to use the techniques of cognitive therapy. It is well-organized and staight-forward. An easy yet practical guide about how to apply cognitive theories into practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond the basics, December 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Therapy Techniques: A Practitioner's Guide (Paperback)
Excelent book for those who want to improve their knowledge in CBT area.The book is excelent guide for begginers ,but also for those more skilled in working with CBT(there are lot of new techniques covered in this book useful for depresion and anxiety disorders) and will help those who want to include more specific techiques in their existing repertoar of standard CBT techiques.More important.For every techique is shown how it relates functionaly with the other presented techiques in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for business, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Therapy Techniques: A Practitioner's Guide (Paperback)
If your are in the counseling business, get a copy and use it. Better than Milkman, Wamberg, and Beck. Ellis is fun to watch on YouTube. Get a copy for your staff, I did. Good activities for the consumers and uneducated substance abuse staffers.

Jeffrey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The introduction of this book is worth the price alone., December 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Therapy Techniques: A Practitioner's Guide (Paperback)
The introduction of this book is worth the price alone. It spelled out Cognitive Therapy more lucidly than my Bachelor's in Psychology did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cognitive Therapy Techniques: A Practioner's Guide, February 12, 2007
This review is from: Cognitive Therapy Techniques: A Practitioner's Guide (Paperback)
Leahy provides the new therapist with an excellent book of CBT therapeutic techniques. This book is up-to-date and is evidence of further integration of CBT with other types of therapy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cognitive Therapy Techniques: A Practitioner's Guide
Cognitive Therapy Techniques: A Practitioner's Guide by Robert L. Leahy (Paperback - July 29, 2003)
$53.00 $44.65
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.