Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sion travels farther south...
For me, Sion Sono's movies traverse the cinematic landscape between the unadulterated beauty and artistic brilliance of Noriko's Dinner Table to the completely adulterated brilliance of Cold Fish. Dark, nasty, and totally insane, this film makes you feel the way Sion wants you to feel. That, right there, is his key power as a film maker. He can make you laugh at...
Published on January 1, 2012 by Dan Bergevin

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good, not bad. Definitely worth a rental
I rented this movie not too long ago and found it somewhat amusing. It is NOT overly violent but there is some. Disgust is more the feeling one gets from viewing this film.
I would most certainly not recommend anyone purchasing this movie but if you have almost two and a half hours to kill and want to watch a movie worth renting (ONLY), then you could do a LOT worse...
Published on April 7, 2012 by Dennis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sion travels farther south..., January 1, 2012
By 
Dan Bergevin (danbergevin dot com) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cold Fish (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
For me, Sion Sono's movies traverse the cinematic landscape between the unadulterated beauty and artistic brilliance of Noriko's Dinner Table to the completely adulterated brilliance of Cold Fish. Dark, nasty, and totally insane, this film makes you feel the way Sion wants you to feel. That, right there, is his key power as a film maker. He can make you laugh at inappropriate moments and incapable of laughing even when characters are trying to be humorous (inappropriately humorous, of course). He'll shock you by showing things you probably should have seen coming, and beat that shock into your head like a railroad spike with every new scene of violence and debauchery.

I used to try and classify Sion's movies in comparison to each other, with Hair Extensions, Suicide Club and Noriko's Dinner Table in the "safe for average people" spectrum with Strange Circus and now Cold Fish on the "careful who you show this to" side. But the more I watch his films the more I realize they all must be handled with care. The Sion Sono fan wields great power by being able to show people things about themselves they wished they didn't possess.

But with this power comes great responsibility, for his films can and will mess with people. And while Cold Fish is definitely first in line for the category of "most humorous yet seriously wrong fight scene ever" (the last one, which you will just have to discover for yourself) it is also toeing the line, along with all other Sion movies, for "every angle of humanity exposed and you might not like what you see," which is a category that should have its own Academy Award.

In sum, it's great. You definitely should see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Humor Horror, September 27, 2011
This review is from: Cold Fish (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
Cautionary note: Contains a bit of nudity and some suggestive sexual scenes. Also contains a bit of realistic dismemberment but in a comedic cartoonish sort of way if that makes any sense.

A psychological thriller loosely based on a Japanese pet shop owning serial-killer team a few years back, only in this case the owners sell aquarium fish and supplies. It's hard to determine how seriously we are suppose to take the characters' killing behavior, but one theme in the story that should be taken seriously is the portrayal of the breakdown of personal, family and social values in contemporary Japan.

Nice production work from writers, director, crew and actors especially Mitsuru Fukikoshi as the, what in American slang would be described as the "loser", father.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Earth as a pile of ugly rocks, March 9, 2012
By 
TorridlyBoredShopper "T(to the)B(to the)S" ("Daddy Dagon's Daycare" - Proud Sponsor of the Little Tendril Baseball Team, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cold Fish (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
Syamoto, reserved owner of the fish shop located just off the highway, finds himself in a quandary. He really does not know what to do with his life. He loves his wife and his daughter but they are like polar opposites. The daughter hates her step-mother because she is not her mother, and the wife finds herself having to do things like hide smoking because marriage changes all. When the daughter is caught shoplifting and the owner of Amazon Fish introduces himself, everything sort of starts sliding and ends up - well, you can kinda of guess, but it always seems worse than you expect.

First, the movie is a very graphic tale and has some elements viewers may find disturbing. From dismemberment to forced copulation to the pungent aroma of ideology sliding slowly off the grid, there are ugly things housed in this film. Some of it goes overboard, almost lightening itself, but some of it is visceral and a tad disturbing - as perhaps murder was truly meant to be. Second, the movie is really can be described as a character study in two pieces. One, a horrible man. The other, a man not wanting to be horrible.

The pacing of the movie was nice, actually, taking its time with the tale. It did not drag its feet while deepening the hole Syamoto seems to find himself being thrust into, and it did not bore. You got to know the man and his family and the people he suddenly finds himself around, taking in not only the parts that impact him but that impact other portions of his life. At first glance, you get this feeling that Syamoto does not know just how terrible thing can be. A lover of astronomy, he seems the world as a beautiful sphere and not as an ugly pile of rocks at first, but finds the world unfurled in front of him as the action after action is thrust upon him.

It is not going to be a movie for everyone and I would not recommend it as such. It is not a Strange Circus extreme but it is neither a suicide Club, landing a bit closer to the former in my opinion. That said, I liked it, thinking it a good 4/5, and would say that someone liking the type of movie would like this as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cold Fish, December 15, 2011
This review is from: Cold Fish (Amazon Instant Video)
I have only had the pleasure of seeing 3 other films from this director. (Strange Circus, Suicide Club, and Noriko's Dinner Table.) I would have to say this ranks up there with some of the best cinema to undergo the "genre film" tag released in a long while. I am happy to be the first to review this film on Amazon as it fully deserves its praise. Cold Fish is stark in it's portrayal of a man clinging tightly to his moody teen daughter and disassociated wife who's relationship with him seems tumultuous at best. Until he realizes that the only way to reclaim his family... is to actually let go of his illusion of control over them. Whether one positions this realization as a transformation into psychosis, or a man taking back his dignity, no one will deny this piece as uncompromisingly obscure and engrossingly empathetic. The cinematogrophy is excellent, which is very personal in depicting close angles and odd sets to give backstory to its characters. (The concept of centering the film in fish stores is not only original, can be quite humorous and disturbing, beautiful, and bleak.) The film is uniquely dramatic, and well scripted. At parts this film is also brutally violent (which is necessary for gore hounds such as myself.) but poignant and tasteful with high production values. This is also a slow burn so be patient as the film is sure to pay off for those of whom give it the opportunity. With this as an addition to the catalog I have witnessed, I will be looking forward to future releases from this neurotic director. (Fans of this should really look into his other film "Strange Circus".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good, not bad. Definitely worth a rental, April 7, 2012
By 
This review is from: Cold Fish (Amazon Instant Video)
I rented this movie not too long ago and found it somewhat amusing. It is NOT overly violent but there is some. Disgust is more the feeling one gets from viewing this film.
I would most certainly not recommend anyone purchasing this movie but if you have almost two and a half hours to kill and want to watch a movie worth renting (ONLY), then you could do a LOT worse. I have stumbled upon some real losers on Amazon by way of rentals and this movie in no way compares to the majority of those awful films. Whatever you do, ignore people like me and their reviews. Nine times out of ten the reviewers are either mentally ill or wouldn't recognize a good movie if it bit them on the backside.
Regardless, now after asking for you to ignore my review I would suggest this movie as a rental only. One thing is for certain, it is fimed beautifully!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem from across the pond!, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wow! Asian filmmakers really know how to do horror/suspense films. Cold Fish is no exception. Well done in every sense. What I liked was that the plot was interesting and kept your attention throughout the film. I am so tired of American horror films! With only a few exceptions, American films are so formulatic and rehash plot after plot.. But I digress. Cold Fish is a film that a horror fan will really enjoy. Well worth the time spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blood-curdling murder fest, April 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cold Fish (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
Another very good offering by the Japanese film industry. The characters are truly full of (hideous!) surprises. I really like the emphasis on the ordinariness of folly and evil. Some of the nicest people are clearly not so nice....The hypocrisy at the basis of so-called sophisticated cultures is nicely shown and the slow explosion of the main character (victim up to a point...!) is prepared with effective understatement (something I really like about oriental films in general). Give me more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Be Wary Of Kindness Of Strangers, January 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cold Fish (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
Darkly humorous and disturbingly twisted, a successful tropical fish store proprietor offers assistance to our main character, giving his daughter a job to keep her out of trouble and instill a little discipline. As time passes, we see there is more to our store owner than meets the eye. Amazing !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cold Fish (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
I love Japanese movies but not all of them grab my attention or my taste. This one actually served both!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars harsh cold, July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cold Fish (Bloody Disgusting Selects) (DVD)
This movie was absolutely amazing. So much violence and blood. Good anarchy, good plot scenes and a sad ending, very realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cold Fish (Bloody Disgusting Selects)
Cold Fish (Bloody Disgusting Selects) by Shion Sono (DVD - 2011)
$6.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.