Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not As Bad As These Reviewers Tell You ...!
OK, having seen this movie I know first hand that this movie is not as bad as it is made out to be by ALL the reviewers here on Amazon. I won't go over the plot and the actors, as they have been dug deeply into in the previous reviews. Instead, I shall tell you it like it truly is.

The movie, 'Cold Light Of Day' is a good, decent action movie. You get pulled in...
Published on October 23, 2012 by Vlitch Godunov

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOUR FAMILY HAS AN EXPIRATION DATE
A well traveled family has a reunion in Spain. The son, Will (Henry Cavill) is spending a lot of time on his cell phone as he just got a call his company is bankrupt. In spite of the sad violin music, they didn't bother to develop his character at this early point for me to care. Later, his brother Josh (Rafi Gavron), Dara (Emma Hamilton) and mom (Caroline Goodall) are...
Published on April 21, 2012 by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not As Bad As These Reviewers Tell You ...!, October 23, 2012
By 
Vlitch Godunov (Birmingham, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cold Light of Day (DVD)
OK, having seen this movie I know first hand that this movie is not as bad as it is made out to be by ALL the reviewers here on Amazon. I won't go over the plot and the actors, as they have been dug deeply into in the previous reviews. Instead, I shall tell you it like it truly is.

The movie, 'Cold Light Of Day' is a good, decent action movie. You get pulled in and it never lets you go. Why? Well, you just don't know who to trust and what is around any given corner. Sure Henry C. is made out to be a "super spy" instead of the stockbroker he seemingly is, but that's OK, as it truly doesn't deter you from watching the movie. My guess is this movie was made a couple of years ago before his upcoming blockbuster 'Superman - Man Of Steel' comes to our screens. Sometimes these kind of direct-to-DVD movies sit on shelves for ages until one of the leads becomes famous. (Take, for instance, 'Cabin In The Woods' with Chris Hemsworth, filmed in 2009 and released this year due to 'Thor'!)

Anyway, I digress. But I do agree that Bruce W. is wasted in the role of the father living on a boat with his wife, Caroline G. They have moved around, as a family for years, but now have all the kids around the table (on said boat) for the first time in a while. Rafi G. as Henry C's younger brother is wasted film fodder, much the same as his GF, the lovely Emma H. More than a hint of 'Bourne' runs thru Henry C. but unlike that other action character, this one "feels" real in his mistakes, wrong turns, pain.

Verónica E. as Henry C.'s "love interest turned sister" is both beautiful and full of action angst herself. Mind you, when being chased by Sigourney W. thru the streets, and coming off their moped rather badly, they both get up - and she, wearing a short skirt throughout, hasn't a scratch on her delicate thigh in the slightest! And, they both get back up and on the broken bike and roar off!

Joseph M. as the main bad guy is a treat to watch, but gets predictable very quickly. I mean, Henry C. has three (3) clear cut chances to kill him or at least badly wound him to stop him trying to kill them, but never takes the shot. Instead he tries to chat his way out of things! For me though, Roschdy Z. as the bad guy/good guy is brilliant! His voice, with that vibe of Morgan Freeman running through it, makes the last third of the movie his own.

Anyway, running at 93 minutes, filmed in Spain (so great scenery), and staring some big names that yes, I agree, were doing "paycheck movies," 'Cold Light Of Day' is definitely not to be taken seriously - but then again, are 'Bourne' and 'Taken' and all those others?!

Russell A. Trunk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOUR FAMILY HAS AN EXPIRATION DATE, April 21, 2012
This review is from: The Cold Light of Day (DVD)
A well traveled family has a reunion in Spain. The son, Will (Henry Cavill) is spending a lot of time on his cell phone as he just got a call his company is bankrupt. In spite of the sad violin music, they didn't bother to develop his character at this early point for me to care. Later, his brother Josh (Rafi Gavron), Dara (Emma Hamilton) and mom (Caroline Goodall) are kidnapped and ransomed. We discover Dad, Martin Shaw (Bruce Willis) is in the CIA. He and son Will must find a way to save their family in 24 hours. The kidnappers are demanding the return of a briefcase that Willis doesn't have, one that his case worker Jean Carrack (Sigourney Weaver) has already turned in.

Yes, that would have been a great movie, except Willis doesn't get paid past the first 20 minutes and Cavill has to outrun horses and defeat the bad guys alone. So let's see, he doesn't trust the CIA. The police are after him for a murder he didn't commit. Armed with his dad's cell phone and enlisting the help of some movie eye candy (Verónica Echegui), Will sets out to save his family. Pretty standard stuff and then we get to the expected twist. At this juncture, the movie almost caught my interest, except that Henry Cavill never becomes convincing in this role. Instead of Henry being a stock broker, they should have made him a karate instructor, or an Olympic marksman giving him a skill he could use...No wait! He did use the cell phone.

F-bombs. No sex or nudity. 2 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (2.5 STARS) "Frantic in Madrid": OK Thriller from the Director of "JCVD", November 19, 2012
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cold Light of Day (DVD)
Henry Cavill (Theseus of Tarsem Singh-directed epic "Immortals") plays a young American businessman Will, who has just arrived in Spain to meet his family. While out on a yacht with his father Martin (Bruce Willis), mother Laurie (Caroline Goodall), young brother Josh (Rafi Gavron) and Josh's fiancée Dara (Emma Hamilton), Will makes a mistake and one of them gets injured. To buy a medicine, Will goes on shore alone, but when Will comes back, he finds everyone on the boat has disappeared.

"The Cold Light of Day" starts promisingly, and then it slowly loses momentum through a whole heap of cliché. Without revealing too much about the story, the US-Spanish thriller is about an American on foreign soil, who gets involved in a web of intrigue.

The film's basic idea (a bit sounds like "Frantic") is not bad. The problem is its poor execution. In short, the film has no style. Characters, storytelling, acting and action set-pieces - everything in the film is just OK, and nothing more. Some action stunts are impressive, and so are the film's on-location shots (in Madrid), but they are wasted among the banal narrative that no one is really interested.

French director Mabrouk El Mechri (known for his unique mocumentary/meta-film "JCVD" starring Jean-Claude Van Damme as himself) directs "The Cold Light of Day," written by Scott Wiper (director of "The Condemned") and John Petro. In addition to the players mentioned above, the cast of "The Cold Light of Day" includes Verónica Echegui, Colm Meaney (in a cameo role), Roschdy Zem and Sigourney Weaver with a gun. The film's photography is by Remi Adefarasin ("Elizabeth").

With names and talent attached to it, "The Cold Light of Day" could have been a more thrilling suspense. As it is, it only feels like watching a drawn-out episode for a TV show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great move!, January 27, 2014
By 
Bigal (Hershey, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I didn't know what to expect and the move started out slow but quickly picked up and kept me thinking who was the villain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful show, just awful., December 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cold Light of Day (DVD)
If I could give this flick zero stars, I would. This show was so bad I threw the DVD away after watching it once. I never wanted to mistakenly watch it a second time. Awful plotting, no story development, no character building, some really clichéd plot points and worst of all the dialogue is just horrible. I swear Henry Cavill's character only had one or two lines he said over and over again. Do yourself a favor and watch something else. Anything else. I wish I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars superman before he was super, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cold Light of Day (DVD)
Maybe I went in with low expectations but I liked this movie. I guess I don't have to worry about spoiling anything. The other reveiws already did that. This would make a good movie series for cavill. This is a Henry cavill movie not a Bruce Willis movie. Bruce just does cameos these days to get the movie noticed. Don't get me wrong I am a big Willis fan but this is a cavill movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not all that original, but not boring, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cold Light of Day (DVD)
Perhaps all the negative reviews are based on the fact that a cast with so many big names promises a better story will be told than what "Cold Light of Day" delivers. However, based on whether or not i was entertained for 90 minutes, I give it four stars. The scenery is great, the action comes along fast enough to prevent long lulls in story telling, and the good guy wins in the end. I wish the car chase had been a little punchier, but I'm satisfied that i got my money's worth at $5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's okay, March 24, 2013
By 
ablooming1 (arkansas, usa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
No disrespect to Bruce Willis, but this movie put me to sleep and my hubby watched the rest of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars eh, dragged on a bit, March 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie started out pretty good and then just started to drag on. Once the plot was unraveled the search portion was kind of slow and uneventful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cold Light of Day (DVD)
I am really surprised by this movie, usually if it has Bruce Willis it is fairly good. I think that they put Bruce Willis in it just to sale copies, because he is not in it for very long. The acting is not great, even Sigourney Weaver wasn't very good in it. So I would say don't waste your money or time getting and watching this movie. Decent storyline, but became confusing in some parts because there was alot going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cold Light of Day
Cold Light of Day by Mabrouk El Mechri (DVD - 2013)
$14.98 $13.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.