Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honestly, Really Good
I popped this one in not expecting much. More straight to video drek from Starz I thought, formerly known as the once great Anchor Bay. I watched not expecting much, & to my suprise, it just kept getting better & better. This one really & truely is worth watching. This is slasher the way it used to be done... the way that it should be done. Now a quick warning for...
Published on May 4, 2009 by JBizzle

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tasty helping of more of the same
This is a well done movie, with talented young actors and great photography. It just suffers from plot monotony. A group of young people get stranded in an out of the way location, find an abandoned place to stay. They pair up to have sex and procede to get killed off one by one until one person is left who decides to get angry instead of scared, fights back and saves...
Published on March 15, 2009 by R. R. Delisle


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honestly, Really Good, May 4, 2009
This review is from: Cold Prey (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I popped this one in not expecting much. More straight to video drek from Starz I thought, formerly known as the once great Anchor Bay. I watched not expecting much, & to my suprise, it just kept getting better & better. This one really & truely is worth watching. This is slasher the way it used to be done... the way that it should be done. Now a quick warning for that certain few that can't get into subtitled films. This is in fact a foreign film & is in fact in a different language. The acting is great, the suspense, the horror, the villain, the blood & guts all done top notch, hats off to the makers of this film. This is a truely spooky flick that has you at the edge of your seat, well worth at least a rental, I was certainly impressed, & I think you will be too. Definately check this one out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC MOVIE!, August 8, 2011
By 
nolaboy2003 (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cold Prey (DVD)
This is one of the best horror/slasher films I have seen in a long time. Half of the new films that come out in this category haven't been so good lately. This one finally does everything right that a horror film needs. I purchased this film a week ago and am extremely happy with my purchase. Now, if only the American horror films could follow this path, then we wouldn't have any more terrible horror films like "Cabin Fever 2".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tasty helping of more of the same, March 15, 2009
By 
This review is from: Cold Prey (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a well done movie, with talented young actors and great photography. It just suffers from plot monotony. A group of young people get stranded in an out of the way location, find an abandoned place to stay. They pair up to have sex and procede to get killed off one by one until one person is left who decides to get angry instead of scared, fights back and saves him or herself. Its just like a trip to your favorite fast food restaurant - not bad, just more of the same. Until you find a finger in your french fries . . . oh wait, that was another movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Cold-as-Ice Tribute to '80s Slashers, March 2, 2009
By 
Michael R Gates (Nampa, ID United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cold Prey (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Director Roar Uthaug's COLD PREY is is a truly terrifying horror film that hearkens back to 1980s-era slasher flicks. What makes the film so unique--at least for American audiences--is that it was shot in Norway by a Norwegian crew and features an all-Norwegian cast. But if the fresh talent and fresh faces aren't enough, the film offers a tightly plotted story that adds a new twist to the old slasher formula. It basically transplants FRIDAY THE 13TH from the abandoned summer camp at Crystal Lake to an abandoned ski lodge in the frozen, snow-packed mountains of northern Europe. Another fresh twist to the formula is that even the virginal kids get whacked, and the true identity of the killer, while not a total surprise when revealed at the end, makes him a more sympathetic character than genre icons Jason or Michael.

The acting in COLD PREY is outstanding--if you watch with the original Norwegian soundtrack, that is; the English dub is...well...a dub--and Norwegian beauty Ingrid Bolsř Berdal is especially effective in her tough-but-sympathetic portrayal of the film's obligatory final girl. Roar Uthaug's direction is also top-notch--he's definitely a Euro-horror director to keep your eye on--and the special FX are seamless and realistic yet eye-poppingly fun. As with the '80s slashers to which COLD PREY plays tribute, a lot of the really gruesome violence is off-screen (the camera cuts away just after contact), but that's part of the fun. The only real flaw in the film is that there isn't a single T or A shot--and the film's two beauties would be worth seeing sans clothing, even if only in a quick cutaway--which has been a must-have part of the genre since John Carpenter's HALLOWEEN (1978), but that's only a minor gripe.

The DVD edition of COLD PREY from Anchor Bay is well worth the price of admission. It features a beautiful digital transfer of the film in anamorphic widescreen at its original aspect ratio of 2.35:1, with soundtracks offering either the original Norwegian in DD 5.1 Surround Sound or an English dub in DD 2.0 Surround. Tons of bonus features include a behind-the-scenes featurette, a featurette on the special FX, interviews with the cast, and much more!

COLD PREY has lots of jumps and scares, and the story is several notches above a lot of slasher fare. If you're a fan of old 1980s slasher flicks and would like a break from the torture-porn that seems to have taken control of the horror screens these days, give this film a screening. You won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY FROM AMAZON INSTANT TERRIBLE WHEN DUBBED, December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cold Prey (Amazon Instant Video)
This is a pretty typical slasher film but if you buy this film from amazon instant be warned it comes dubbed witch makes it pretty horrible to watch. I couldn't suffer through it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Streaming version is dubbed, no subtitles, February 10, 2013
By 
Scott Fulmar (Memphis, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cold Prey (Amazon Instant Video)
This is just a warning for people like me who despise dubbed foreign films and insist on subtitles. The streaming version of this film is dubbed only, and there's no subtitled version. Amazon doesn't bother to provide this information in the product details for any of their streaming versions of foreign films, and I'm sick of it. You've been warned; you can't get a refund on a streaming rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good movie but English dubs are horrible, October 20, 2013
By 
Cathy (Kittanning) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cold Prey (Amazon Instant Video)
I love this movie but I hate the English dubs, sounds like a bunch of infant voices.
Get the Norwegian language then use English subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Let's Check This Place Out, February 18, 2009
This review is from: Cold Prey (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Got to love those people that do the write up on the back of DVD's. For Cold Prey it says that, "If you think this is going to be the usual `trapped teens stalked by a maniac' movie, you're dead wrong." The finishes off the blurb by quoting Arrow in the Head that says, "If you enjoyed the original Friday the 13th and Halloween, you're going to love Cold Prey." Two movies that created the "trapped teens stalked by a manic" genre.

First off, it should be noted that Cold Prey is actually Fritt Vilt and is from Norway and is spoken in all Norwegian (aside from the occasional English songs). Naturally reading and horror flicks do not mesh very well as you are reading what they are screaming but are distracted by the words you sometimes miss what they are actually screaming at.

Despite what the back cover would have you to believe the movie is about a bunch of teens being stalked by a maniac (of whom it is pretty easy to figure out within the first five minutes). The one thing that differs is that they are not stuck in a warm climate conducive to fornicating but instead takes place in an abandoned cabin resort. The kids are stuck there as one of them has a snowboarding accident and it is too far to drag them back in the impending snowstorm to their car and just happen to see the cabin just up ahead.

The injured friend makes for a hard dilemma of flight or fight when one of the five comes up missing. Even with all the reading, you can still sense the fear and claustrophobia that the snowboarders feel as someone in an oversized parka, ski goggles, and an ax hunting them down and manage to frightening and entertaining even as it goes through more than one horror clichés. And if you are grossed out by gore, you can still enjoy this movie as it doesn't show much because it cares much more about the hunt than the kill, cleaning up the broken leg is as gruesome as onscreen gore as it gets in the movie. And being five character the maniac takes his time getting to each of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A compelling slasher from across the pond, January 22, 2009
This review is from: Cold Prey (DVD)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Originally made in 2006, Fritt vilt, or Cold Prey as it is known outside of Norway, is one of those few forgein horror gems that every so often you may stumble across, and thanks to the good folks at Anchor Bay, it has finally made its way here. A pure slasher through and through, Cold Prey doesn't do anything new with the slasher genre, but it defines enough of the conventions to make it notable, and it is a compelling horror exercise as well. The story revolves around a group of friends looking to enjoy some snowboarding action, only to have one of the group get injured. They find shelter in what appears to be an abandoned ski lodge, which just so happens to be inhabited by a hulking killer. Soon enough, they are stalked and picked off, culminating in a snowy showdown. While it isn't quite as bloody as gorehounds may hope, Cold Prey relies on some well orchestrated suspense to keep you glued to the screen. The script is intelligent, and there's actually character development (in a slasher flick? Egads!) to be found as well. The DVD itself is worth noting, and is packed with an assortment of extras including two short films, trailers, a blooper reel, an alternate ending, a music video, and various featurettes on the making of the film and the visual FX. All in all, Cold Prey is a compelling, suspenseful slasher that is more than worthy of your time. Now let's hope that it doesn't take two years for Anchor Bay to bring Cold Prey 2 over to our shores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold Prey is very good., November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cold Prey (DVD)
I wasn't sure when I first got this, but the reviews were pretty good. And I have to say that I agree with the positive reviews. Classic horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cold Prey
Cold Prey by Roar Uthaug (DVD - 2009)
$14.98 $9.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.