Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No household should be without!
This cooler will last a lifetime! It is so well made, sealed tight. It held ice for days and days! Whether you are a diehard camper or even just a party on your back deck this cooler is worth every penny.... Trust me!!!!!
Published on January 11, 2007 by Misti S. Dale

versus
258 of 261 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars they don't make them like they used to!
if you asked me last year, i would have given this 5 stars, but since we've been using it on camping trips it has failed miserably.

i used to go camping as a child with my father with the old, bombproof coleman cooler. it was extremely well made & lasted for years. it is someplace in my brother's garage.

the old lid was held down by a metal hook that...
Published on September 30, 2007 by DancesWithWoofs


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

258 of 261 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars they don't make them like they used to!, September 30, 2007
This review is from: Coleman Coleman 54 qt. Stainless Steel Belted Cooler (Sports)
if you asked me last year, i would have given this 5 stars, but since we've been using it on camping trips it has failed miserably.

i used to go camping as a child with my father with the old, bombproof coleman cooler. it was extremely well made & lasted for years. it is someplace in my brother's garage.

the old lid was held down by a metal hook that cinched the lid tight & sealed it well. the "new, improved latch" is a thin cylinder that slides into a spring tentioned plastic groove in the lid. problem is the lid pops open with a tug and even worse if it gets knocked over when full.

the old design has a screw drain plug attached by a chain. the new design has a plastic cork-like stopper that can (and will) get popped open when placed into an suv full of gear (drenching the back of your car during the long trip). what was wrong with the screw drain plug? it stayed in place & never opened... even through the roughest of conditions.

they also removed the built-in bottle opener that used to be in the handle mounts.

i'm now looking on ebay for the old coleman cooler or looking to find metal latches to replace the stupid closure they have on it. i'm also looking at epoxying a guard over the drain plug so that it won't get unexpectedly dislodged.

it looks great, but they really ruined the design with all these "improvement".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 92 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, August 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman Coleman 54 qt. Stainless Steel Belted Cooler (Sports)
After looking forward to receiving a quality cooler, I was very disappointed with the Coleman Steel Belted Chest Cooler (54-Quart). The latch did not function properly in that it was not possible to secure a tight seal. Nevertheless I took the cooler on an outing for a week in which it was kept inside a cabin where the outdoor Tempaerture did not go above 90 degrees and the evening temperature dropped into the high 60's. Everyday the cooler needed a new bag of ice because all the ice would melt in less than a 24-hour period. Coleman has quality control problems as some of the reviews rate this cooler well and others low. If given the option, I would rate this Coleman cooler with a 1/2 star and that is only because of its fine looking appearance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor design, poor insulation., August 28, 2007
By 
TSG (Franklin, TN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coleman Coleman 54 qt. Stainless Steel Belted Cooler (Sports)
When Coleman designed this cooler, they left off a way to stop the lid from opening past 90-ish degrees. This results in the lid opening about 180 degrees, which stresses the hinges, and breaks the outer stainless layer away from the inner insulation. I have been through two lids, and now the body of the cooler is breaking away the same way. Yes, it does have a 100 year warranty, but I bought expecting the same build quality as my grandfather's that is 60 years old. There is just no comparison.

Coleman also says it will keep ice for 3 days at 100 degrees. This couldn't be further from the truth. It will not hold ice for 24 hours at 85 degrees.

Bottom line: Buy a good Igloo marine cooler, and use the extra $70 to fill it with your beverage of choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No household should be without!, January 11, 2007
By 
This review is from: Coleman Coleman 54 qt. Stainless Steel Belted Cooler (Sports)
This cooler will last a lifetime! It is so well made, sealed tight. It held ice for days and days! Whether you are a diehard camper or even just a party on your back deck this cooler is worth every penny.... Trust me!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If only it had casters, July 21, 2007
By 
D. Hodgson (Cupertino, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coleman Coleman 54 qt. Stainless Steel Belted Cooler (Sports)
This product works like a charm and looks great. It will indeed keep ice for three days, and it's good company on any road trip. However, lugging the thing back and forth between car and hotel is a chore that could have been solved with a pair of small luggage casters. Also, the rubberized draing plugs are merely a pressure-fit; I fear that these may leak one day and then it's bam, ice water all over the back seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, May 12, 2009
By 
CO Camper (Westcliffe, CO USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman Coleman 54 qt. Stainless Steel Belted Cooler (Sports)
I just purchased the 54 quart stainless steel belted chest cooler. The lid latch does not hold the lid down tight and there is no tray in the cooler like the old ones. I am quite disappointed with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good cooler, May 23, 2007
This review is from: Coleman Coleman 54 qt. Stainless Steel Belted Cooler (Sports)
These arent quite as good as the 50's-70's steel coleman models which were built sturdier using more and thicker metal. if you have a vintage coleman hang onto it i have a few that have been handed down a few generations and made it to me threw the family line they work great and are very durable. i just bought the new steel belted cooler which is a modern version of the vintage colemans it is not compareable. not built as well, not as sturdy and a little pricey. however in comparison to any all plastic cooler made there isnt any. by the way the stainless steel one is only $89.00 at walmart if your looking to save some money, my personal reccomendation is go yardsaling and pick up a vintage steel belted cooler for 5 bucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Cooler and Recommended, February 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman Coleman 54 qt. Stainless Steel Belted Cooler (Sports)
We bought this on Amazon about a year ago and have been very happy. We like it so much we are going to buy a second one. We have a tear drop camp trailer. The stainless matches to tear drop stainless and keeps with the retro look.

LOOKS? This is one of those coolers that people comment on and we get questions about on occasion because it is cool looking.

We go on short and sometimes extended camping trips. Last year this cooler consistently out performed our other plastic cooler. The SS Coleman with a single bag of ice keeps everything (milk, eggs, veggies, etc) cold for over a week easily. We do take precautions to keep it in the shade, but you should do that anyway.

We have found it durable, the lid closes tight, and have had no problems with the hinges, handles or anything else.

We are very satisfied with it and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks good, bad parts, November 11, 2009
By 
R. Williamson (Louisville, KY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman Coleman 54 qt. Stainless Steel Belted Cooler (Sports)
I purchased this item as a gift. It was well recieved, however the clasp on the front did not work properly so now I have been trying to get it replaced and it has been almost 3 months now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coleman Stainless Cooler, January 15, 2007
This review is from: Coleman Coleman 54 qt. Stainless Steel Belted Cooler (Sports)
Very pleased with this quality product. It appears to be very durable--in fact, it is replacing one that we bought 38 years ago! Coleman is quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.