Customer Reviews


426 Reviews
5 star:
 (237)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little kit
Handy little kit to have for camping. The stakes are quite nice and really saved us when our cheap stakes couldn't hold down the tent. The tent puller also is a time saver. My only complaint is that the bag is simply too small. I couldn't get the brush/pan out without tearing up the small bag. Otherwise it is a handy addition. I'll use the bag for more stakes that...
Published on June 10, 2007 by Kent Vaughn

versus
181 of 184 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, Not Great
Let's face it - when camping, there are two categories of gear: necessities and other stuff that may be helpful. This package from Coleman, consisting of (1) a small broom and dustpan, (2) four aluminum stakes, (3) a rubber-headed mallet and (4) a stake remover, definitely falls in the second category.

(1) Broom and dustpan -- small, plastic and green, this...
Published on May 27, 2008 by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

181 of 184 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, Not Great, May 27, 2008
By 
Mike (Bound Brook, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman Tent Kit (Sports)
Let's face it - when camping, there are two categories of gear: necessities and other stuff that may be helpful. This package from Coleman, consisting of (1) a small broom and dustpan, (2) four aluminum stakes, (3) a rubber-headed mallet and (4) a stake remover, definitely falls in the second category.

(1) Broom and dustpan -- small, plastic and green, this just might get the most use out of anything in the package. Not much to say here -- it does its job. Save the plastic wrapper this comes in, because its hard to get the broom back into the mesh bag without it.

(2) Four aluminum stakes -- these are actually pretty good. The stakes are much longer and sturdier than the ones that came with my tent. They are essentially giant nails with a green plastic head attached for the line to tie onto. I would worry about cracking the heads if they got too cold.

(3) Rubber-headed mallet -- much more substantial than you might think. good heft to this and it will do it's job and any others that might call for a similar tool. A bit heavy, if anything.

(4) Stake remover -- Cheap, bends out of shape.

All of this comes packed in a little mesh bag. The bag is not really big enough for all of this stuff, nor is it really sturdy enough to put up with any amount of abuse, and the stakes punch right through the bottom.

Bottom line -- you can camp a thousand times without having this set and you would never miss it, but it's always nice to have extra stakes and a way to clean your tent floor. For the price, it's not a bad set to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little kit, June 10, 2007
By 
Kent Vaughn (El Paso, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coleman Tent Kit (Sports)
Handy little kit to have for camping. The stakes are quite nice and really saved us when our cheap stakes couldn't hold down the tent. The tent puller also is a time saver. My only complaint is that the bag is simply too small. I couldn't get the brush/pan out without tearing up the small bag. Otherwise it is a handy addition. I'll use the bag for more stakes that I'll be buying.

Edit: June 23,2007. I'm starting to question the rubber hammer. We tented in a very rocky area and the rubber hammer worked, but a heavy duty steel hammer is really the best choice. I won't tent again without a high quality hammer. Still, the stakes are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy to have!!, July 10, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman Tent Kit (Sports)
This is really handy to have on hand when camping! The extra stakes are a nice plus, and actually nicer than the ones that came with our tent. And the mallet and clean-up items are great, because you don't have to think of packing the items seperately, just grab the pack and go. Excellent time saver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tent kit, July 17, 2008
By 
R. Reilsono (Espyville, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman Tent Kit (Sports)
The little wisk broom came in very handy for the tent. The mallet was also very useful for getting the stakes in easily. Happy with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy Set, May 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman Tent Kit (Sports)
This set is pretty good. The stakes are nice and sturdy, the hammer isn't bad, the stake puller works for my tent stakes, and the broom/pan do what they are supposed to. I don't regret my purchase.

UPDATE: 9/9/2013
I still use this kit every time I go camping. I really love the metal stakes as I've used them several times in rocky areas where plastic stakes die and they've held up great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good hammer and stakes, but . . . . . . ., October 19, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman Tent Kit (Sports)
The rubber mallet and stakes are good. They both worked more than adequately even in the rocky ground where first used. Remainder of the items are really not worth the price. Broom/pan are really small and cheap plastic. Stake puller may be OK in softer ground, but easily bent the first time it was used pulling stakes. Should say, though, that stakes were driven in pretty rocky ground and rather hard to pull, so puller may work OK in softer ground. Overall, item is probably overpriced for what you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has everything you need, June 8, 2007
By 
K. Cassada "kitka1002" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman Tent Kit (Sports)
We used everything on our camping trip...would buy again in a second!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not really worth it, July 9, 2009
This review is from: Coleman Tent Kit (Sports)
buy yourself a mallot and a small dust broom/pan, the stakes work, but if you get in something deep, you're gonna break the plastic and the stake puller bent. I'm keeping the mallot and the dust pan, trashing everything else. And the mesh bag gets caught on the brisiles of the broom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cheep, October 13, 2007
This review is from: Coleman Tent Kit (Sports)
Nice kit but we needed more spikes and the plastic tops to the spikes broke while I was trying to remove them from the ground. The claw to help remove them did not work well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So So, July 7, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman Tent Kit (Sports)
The rubber mallet is worth it, but you can get them for $2 at wally world. The stakes really aren't that great...... try these if you are really looking for good stakesMSR Ground Hog Stake Kit.
The stake puller is a joke, a simple eye hook on the bottom of the mallet works better (again part of the $2 wally world special).
The dust pan is also a joke, it would take you an hour to dust a 6 person tent.

For $10 its worth it. but if you are after good stakes, buy the ones above, if you want a good mallet, go to wally world, and if you want a good dustpan, go to the grocery store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Coleman Tent Kit
Coleman Tent Kit by Coleman
$15.79 $14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.