Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for flying spuds
OK, admit it, you are looking at this lantern igniter for your potato cannon, not your lantern. Unless of course, you are camping with your father's old gear. Coleman has not produced a lantern that would use this igniter in over 20 years(1985)!!

In any case, this is about the best deal you are going to get on the internet, and from a reliable dealer, not...
Published on August 28, 2006 by DocSab

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars it sparks
With a mite more attention to detail this product could rival the original. The goofy little wire used in the groove and very poor machining there make it rough to slide in and out. Had to take it apart and file the groove to get it functional. While I can understand going offshore to save labor costs but then to suffer a reduction in quality, it's a net loss. Oh yes,...
Published 2 months ago by cj


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for flying spuds, August 28, 2006
By 
DocSab (Philadelphia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
OK, admit it, you are looking at this lantern igniter for your potato cannon, not your lantern. Unless of course, you are camping with your father's old gear. Coleman has not produced a lantern that would use this igniter in over 20 years(1985)!!

In any case, this is about the best deal you are going to get on the internet, and from a reliable dealer, not some hole in the wall camping supply company. Have fun. Don't blow your hand off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coleman gas lantern igniter, October 13, 2009
By 
FS (Annapolis, MD USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman 2000003429 Lantern Spark Igniter (Sports)
I have been using a Colemen lantern spark igniter for 30 years. The original igniter finally looked like it was reaching the end of its years, although the lantern is still going strong, so I replaced it. The product hasn't changed in all of these years nor is there a reason for change. It is perfect! It simply bolts through an existing hole on your lantern and never has to be removed. I have never had a problem igniting the lantern. For me, the igniter has become a standard part of my lantern experience. And the price is so reasonable that there is no reason to be without it. Flint is the only consumable so have an extra piece handy when you are camping away from civilization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DocSab Has It Right, May 22, 2007
By 
Can't beat the Coleman lantern sparker for ignition in a potato cannon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have in any lantern, April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman 2000003429 Lantern Spark Igniter (Sports)
These are great and a must have in any lantern. No more need for "where did I put the lighter" and searching frantically when you need campsite illumination. This mounts inside the hole you normally light the lantern from. If you have a newer style lantern like a Coleman Powerhouse then you will need to go to the hardware store and pick up two large washers (I think I paid 12 cents a piece for them) to put on either side of the ignition hole. On older style lanterns like a 220 etc the washers are not needed. It puts out a great spark and fires the lantern right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works really good., October 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman 2000003429 Lantern Spark Igniter (Sports)
I have two dual fuel Coleman 295A700's and had installed one of these in one of them a few years ago. This one seems to be of the same quality as my older one except that this one doesn't slide up and down as easy. That is the reason for the four stars.

This one is made exactly the same as the old one except for the screw in the knurl knob isn't brass. Just so you know, there is a spare flint stored inside the knurl knob. I found it by accident.

I drilled a hole in the base towards the outside lip where the bottom of the globe rests instead of using one of the existing slots to install the igniter. This angles the igniter end towards the bottom of the mantels. I also remove the angled bracket from the igniter shown in the picture. It is not needed on the 295A700 and is used on a different lantern. Defiantly worth the price and installing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works for a modern lantern, with some extra work., February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman 2000003429 Lantern Spark Igniter (Sports)
The igniter is supposed to work on older lanterns with the attached bracket and new lanterns without using the bracket.

On older lanterns, the slotted hole end of the bracket reaches out to the base of the generator tube/fitting and I guess the brass igniter stem extends down through a match hole.

I used this on a modern 295 dual fuel lantern. The instructions say to discard the bracket and use a couple washers (not included) to bridge the huge match hole so you can mount the igniter in the match hole, sticking straight up along the inside of the globe. That didn't seem to me to be a good idea.

Instead, I cut the slotted leg of the bracket off to shorten it and drilled a 1/4-inch hole in the remaining leg. I drilled a 1/4-inch hole under the match hole in the lantern globe base. I put a #12 screw, a lockwasher and a nut in the new globe base hole, with the threaded end of the screw pointing to the inside. Then, the bracket slips over the machine screw and seats down on the nut. Next, another nut goes on to fasten it all together. You have to use two nuts that way to move the igniter more to the center of the lantern globe area so you can drop the globe back on. Otherwise, you can't seat the globe as the igniter nuts are in the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well, but can be a little hard on your fingers, April 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman 2000003429 Lantern Spark Igniter (Sports)
We have these installed on 4 lanterns. If your hands are cold and/or damp, it can be a little tricky to twist the knob quickly enough to get a good spark, and it doesn't always spark enough. It takes a bit of a snap your fingers motion, which after a few attempts can hurt your fingers briefly. Ideally the knurled knob should be a slightly larger diameter. Nevertheless, it is small, unobtrusive and ultimately works fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works!, November 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman 2000003429 Lantern Spark Igniter (Sports)
I have two gas lanterns that have this installed on them. One is from the 60's, other from 70's and they both work like a charm after purchasing rebuild kits for them. This spark igniter will work, but for my application it does not simply "bolt on" It comes with an extra flint and makes starting these lanterns very quick and easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the Price., December 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman 2000003429 Lantern Spark Igniter (Sports)
These are hard to find by me sadly. Bass pro shops sells the coughlan version and they are so cheesy. The coleman ones are worth the money and are designed to last. Great for your potato guns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, December 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coleman 2000003429 Lantern Spark Igniter (Sports)
Been camping for decades and I wish I had this in some windier locales I have been! Nothing worse then matches, even with the slightest of breezes blowing out when reaching up through the match hole in the lantern below the mantles. Ever since I got one of these, it's usually one or two snaps and away it goes. Has never let me down in windy or cold conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.