Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Satisfied.
Have you ever noticed the variety of available toothpastes? It's overwhelming! There are numerous different brands. Some contain peroxide, others baking soda, others abrasives and other exotic potions. It's a wonder some don't come with Sani-Flush as an ingredient. Then all brands seem to have small, medium, large and extra-large sizes. Did I mention travel size and trial...
Published on February 29, 2008 by Gary Peterson

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Canker sores galore!
I have been an avid Crest user for most of my life, for no particular reason except for the fact that Crest was what we had in the house. I went to the dentist about a month ago and they recommended Crest Total because it contains Triclosan which helps with gum health. I went right to the store and started using it, after 2 days I had 5 canker sores! My fiance also used...
Published on January 16, 2012 by K. Omtvedt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Satisfied., February 29, 2008
By 
Gary Peterson (San Diego, California USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Have you ever noticed the variety of available toothpastes? It's overwhelming! There are numerous different brands. Some contain peroxide, others baking soda, others abrasives and other exotic potions. It's a wonder some don't come with Sani-Flush as an ingredient. Then all brands seem to have small, medium, large and extra-large sizes. Did I mention travel size and trial size? What's a guy to do?

For years, I just bought one of the half-dozen brands on sale at the local food or drug store. Then, as the toothpaste wars escalated, I bought with freely-dispensed coupons and some supermarkets doubled the value of the coupons. It became such a good deal that some toothpaste was actually free. Well, my coupon days are over and I now shop at a warehouse club store where they have a limited selection but outstanding values. I asked my dentist for advice on the best toothpaste since I was totally confused by all the claims. He suggested that "Colgate Total Whitening Gel" was the best for my particular circumstances (which, by the way, wasn't the brand in the free packet of things I received with cleaning). I also noted that this particular brand/variety was highly rated by Consumer's Reports. It supposedly helped to prevent cavities with fluoride and resisted plaque and tartar buildup, which could lead to gingivitis, all while whitening the teeth. What more could I ask for? I bought a four-pack of tubes (7.8 ounces each). I've been very pleased with the toothpaste and the price was right. Only long-term usage will tell but I'm totally satisfied at this point.

Gary Peterson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Toothpaste, May 17, 2008
Colgate Total Plus Whitening Toothpaste, 7.8-Ounce Tubes (Pack of 6). This Toothpaste is my favorite.

The first feature is the price, and it is right.

Next, I consider whether it will be neat to use. It is. Sometimes when I buy those new hard plastic containers, they actually get messy. Also I cannot get all the toothpaste out. It is easy to get the paste out of Colgate Total Whitening Paste without spraying it all over the cabinet.

If it does not taste good, I won't use it. Some toothpaste burns my mouth so bad that brushing my teeth is a painful experience. This one doesn't burn. It tastes simply the way toothpaste is supposed to taste.

Whitening is important. This one is supposed ot whiten. After spending money to whiten my teeth, I need a product to help ward off the bad effects of coffee and tea.

Avoiding all kinds of oral pathology is a major consideration. This toothpaste claims that it can help fight cavities, gingivitis, plaque, tartar, and bad breath.

I hope this product stays on the market a long time and does not change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Toothpaste, February 19, 2012
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Gel Toothpaste, 7.8 oz (Pack of 6) (Health and Beauty)
I like to whiten my teeth. This is the perfect toothpaste for whitening. It also cleans my teeth very nicely and makes my mouth feel clean, and fresh. Overall I really like this toothpaste. My morning brushing routine includes Flossing, Brushing, and Mouthwashing. This toothpaste fits in perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best I've ever used, November 26, 2011
By 
Junco (Portland, OR) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Gel Toothpaste, 7.8 oz (Pack of 6) (Health and Beauty)
I've been using different formulations of Colagte Total for years now. I recently bought Colgate Total Whitening Gel. I really like this one. Unlike some of the other whitening formulations which contain a grit (hard on the gums after awhile), this one has no grit and yet after just a few uses I was sincerely amazed at how white my teeth became. And the same 12-hour gingivitis-fighter Triclosan is still one of the ingredients. I also use a Sonicare toothbrush which only enhances the whitening/plaque destroying results! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long time colgate user...., June 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Gel Toothpaste, 7.8 oz (Pack of 6) (Health and Beauty)
6 Pack of the Maga Size! Had to buy it, shouldn't need any for a long time. I like the taste as well. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colgate Total Whitening Gel Toothpaste, April 21, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Gel Toothpaste, 7.8 oz (Pack of 6) (Health and Beauty)
I have used Colgate Total for years. The taste is great, the freshness in your mouth when finished brushing is wonderful.
Great product! Try it, you'll like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST toothpaste on the market, February 14, 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (San Jose, Costa Rica) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Gel Toothpaste, 7.8 oz (Pack of 6) (Health and Beauty)
I bought the 6-pack of 7.8oz, just for me, over 8 months ago, and 2 tubes still remaining at rate of 3 brushes daily. Really worth it if you buy small tubes frequently. I say this is the best toothpaste because is gel, I can feel it cleans better than the regular paste, then is of the Total 12 hour protection line, its flavor is amazing, really cool and with its whitening ingredients help to keep your teeth on its natural color, THIS IS NOT A WHITENING TREATMENT, so don't expect an outstanding change. And of course, I'll buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Canker sores galore!, January 16, 2012
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Gel Toothpaste, 7.8 oz (Pack of 6) (Health and Beauty)
I have been an avid Crest user for most of my life, for no particular reason except for the fact that Crest was what we had in the house. I went to the dentist about a month ago and they recommended Crest Total because it contains Triclosan which helps with gum health. I went right to the store and started using it, after 2 days I had 5 canker sores! My fiance also used it and the same thing happened to him, multiple canker sores within a couple days of use. I stopped using Colgate and switched back to Crest. The canker sores went away almost immediately with no other treatment.

I now know why that is what we always had in my house! I did some research and it turns out that one of the ingredients in Colgate Total is Sodium Lauryl Sulfate which has been shown to cause canker sores. So if you are having trouble with canker sores look at the ingredient label of your standard toothpaste and if it contains SLS, switch for a few days and see what happens!

Learned my lesson and will never buy Colgate again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YAY!! WHITE TEETH!!, January 4, 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Gel Toothpaste, 7.8 oz (Pack of 6) (Health and Beauty)
My teeth were kinda yellow and icky looking, but then i begged my mom to get me this. YAY!! After about 2 weeks my teeth are shiny and pearly white! As long as I keep using it,(which i have) my teeth are pretty and they stay that way! YAY!! I LOVE THIS TOOTHPASTE PLEASE BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Cancer Sores, February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Gel Toothpaste, 7.8 oz (Pack of 6) (Health and Beauty)
This toothpaste cleans your teeth good but it is way too strong and causes me to get cancer sores in my mouth. Throwing this out and looking for another brand that is not so harsh and causes painful mouth sores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.