Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dentist Recommends this Product to Keep Tartar Off Teeth
I am a dentist who recommends Colgate Tartar-Control toothpaste to my patients. I like it for several reasons:

1. The anti-tartar chemical works. Used regularly, tartar formation on one's teeth will be inhibited. If tartar does form, it will be softer and easier for your dental hygienist to remove.

2. All Colgate toothpastes have the ADA seal of...
Published on August 3, 2005 by kone

versus
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Contains Triclosan
I bought this toothpaste and was shocked when I got home and read the ingredient list. The active ingredient is triclosan. Triclosan is currently being investigated by the FDA. It is also under review by the EPA who is considereing banning it. It is already banned in Europe and Canada. In short, it's an endocrine system disruptor. It alters hormone regulation. It...
Published on November 15, 2011 by Cirroc


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dentist Recommends this Product to Keep Tartar Off Teeth, August 3, 2005
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Paste, Anticavity Fluoride and Antigingivitis Toothpaste Paste, 6 Ounce (170 g) (Health and Beauty)
I am a dentist who recommends Colgate Tartar-Control toothpaste to my patients. I like it for several reasons:

1. The anti-tartar chemical works. Used regularly, tartar formation on one's teeth will be inhibited. If tartar does form, it will be softer and easier for your dental hygienist to remove.

2. All Colgate toothpastes have the ADA seal of approval. This means the paste has flouride to strengthen your enamel and protect your teeth against cavities, and it is low in abrasivity so it will not scratch your enamel.

It is a good product and I recommend it for those who have a tendency to form dental tartar. Brush your teeth at least three times per day for maximum effectiveness and floss daily - the flossing is just as inportant as brushing to help prevent tartar from forming on your teeth!

The "Whitening" term is a common gimmick used by toothpaste manufacturers. "Whitening" can apply to any toothpaste on the market, as they all "whiten" the teeth. There is not a "whitening" toothpaste on the market that truly "Whitens" teeth in the context of bleaching teeth. If you want an over-the-counter product that whitens teeth effectively, purchase Crest White Strips - they actually whiten teeth. Still, buy this Colgate product for the other features (fluoride and anti-tartar), just don't be fooled by the "whitening" term!

Jim 'Konedog" Koenig, DDS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Contains Triclosan, November 15, 2011
By 
Cirroc (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Paste, Anticavity Fluoride and Antigingivitis Toothpaste Paste, 6 Ounce (170 g) (Health and Beauty)
I bought this toothpaste and was shocked when I got home and read the ingredient list. The active ingredient is triclosan. Triclosan is currently being investigated by the FDA. It is also under review by the EPA who is considereing banning it. It is already banned in Europe and Canada. In short, it's an endocrine system disruptor. It alters hormone regulation. It also contributes to making bacteria resistant to antibiotics. Not only is it bad for people, but you spit it down the sink and it gets into the water supply and harms the ecosystem. Google it. This is not stuff you want to put in your mouth.

Most toothpastes don't have triclosan, but this one does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teeth look much whiter, November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Paste, Anticavity Fluoride and Antigingivitis Toothpaste Paste, 6 Ounce (170 g) (Health and Beauty)
This paste has really brightened my smile, I drink 3 big coffees a day and the haze from that been lifted. So cheap for these great results, I thought I'd need Rembrandt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning!! Contains the toxic chemical Triclosan!, March 18, 2013
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Paste, Anticavity Fluoride and Antigingivitis Toothpaste Paste, 6 Ounce (170 g) (Health and Beauty)
Please educate yourselves on the chemical "Triclosan" found in this product and many others. Triclosan is a known endocrine disruptor and is considered toxic. This chemical is currently being considered for ban in the U.S. and is banned in several other countries. It may work, but you have no idea what it is doing to your body and it is harmful to the environment. Some healthier alternatives would be Australian tea tree oil, grapefruit seed extract, and pine oil. For more information on triclosan, refer to the EPA website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD PRODUCT, June 23, 2014
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Paste, Anticavity Fluoride and Antigingivitis Toothpaste Paste, 6 Ounce (170 g) (Health and Beauty)
CLEANS TEETH VERY WELL AND HELPS TO PROTECT THEM IN THE LONG RUN. ALSO HAS CAVITY PROTECTION AND PROTECTS THE ENAMEL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tooth paste, January 23, 2014
By 
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Paste, Anticavity Fluoride and Antigingivitis Toothpaste Paste, 6 Ounce (170 g) (Health and Beauty)
Good toothpaste it does what it says and brightens and freshens in all. I would prefer it if it was in a gel form instead of paste. The paste is thick and clogs the tube at the opening. While brushing teeth be careful to rinse mouth out really well or you will find yourself with dry paste marks in the corners of your mouth. Ugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Toothpaste? More like AWESOMEpaste!, December 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Paste, Anticavity Fluoride and Antigingivitis Toothpaste Paste, 6 Ounce (170 g) (Health and Beauty)
This stuff cleaned the HECK out of my teeth! My teeth look and feel at least 37% cleaner after using this toothpaste over every other toothpaste out there, which I have definitely used. Since using it, I have also noticed that more people are willing to come in close to hear me tell secrets and between you and me I have a lot of secrets to tell! I just cant be trusted!!

No but seriously, its good toothpaste. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Colgate ROCKS!, November 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Paste, Anticavity Fluoride and Antigingivitis Toothpaste Paste, 6 Ounce (170 g) (Health and Beauty)
Toothpaste is awesome, colgate is the top tier brand of all tooth paste in the world
I just frikkn love toothpaste :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good toothpaste, October 30, 2013
By 
Evan Johnson (Tallahassee, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Paste, Anticavity Fluoride and Antigingivitis Toothpaste Paste, 6 Ounce (170 g) (Health and Beauty)
We really like this stuff as far as toothpaste goes. I guess the important thing (for the normal consumer) is taste and cost; this fits the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, August 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colgate Total Whitening Paste, Anticavity Fluoride and Antigingivitis Toothpaste Paste, 6 Ounce (170 g) (Health and Beauty)
Colgate leaves my breath feeling refreshed the longest, and leaves my teeth feeling the cleanest after a good, long brushing. I've tried them all, and Colgate just seems to work the longest and best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.