Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game...
This game is challenging and fast paced. The co-driver calling out continuous verbal directions adds a whole new element compared to other visual type racing games. This game has rallies in 9 different countries with a total of 76 stages and over 30 different cars, so you can play for hours and never see the same stage. The reasons I didn't give Colin Mcrae Rally 2005 a...
Published on February 22, 2005 by Snowbound

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bait and Switch
The game gave me about $5.00 worth of irritation which I will vent here. After buying the game which advertises 30 something cars and 100 or more race courses, you will find that you will either have to "earn" access to the majority of these or pay another $5.00 or so to Codemasters to unlock them. My only other complaint to this otherwise terrific game is that the wheel...
Published on March 8, 2005 by dellyjoe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game..., February 22, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (CD-ROM)
This game is challenging and fast paced. The co-driver calling out continuous verbal directions adds a whole new element compared to other visual type racing games. This game has rallies in 9 different countries with a total of 76 stages and over 30 different cars, so you can play for hours and never see the same stage. The reasons I didn't give Colin Mcrae Rally 2005 a five-star rating are: The game will not allow me to navigate the menu with anything other than the steering wheel/pedals, which didn't occur until after I configured my "wheel" for this game. This is very frustrating, since the instruction booklet only gives reference to the menu functions being controlled by the keyboard that ceases to function after configuring the "wheel", creating a trial and error button pushing malfunction-fest. This is probably a leftover of the console (game pad) to PC (no game pad) conversion. The other problem I encountered is the fact that this game has many obstacles that are deliberately placed specifically to crash you. For example, immoveable posts alongside of many roadways and also bushes that although wispy and transparent, stops the car dead while others have no effect and can be driven through. Although some may argue that this adds to the challenge, I feel that it just adds frustration. Overall, this game is very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, But The Path Getting To Play It Is Not Great, April 25, 2005
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (CD-ROM)
The good news is this is a great game. There are a great number of races and cars available. The physics relative to the tracks and cars are excellent. Although I have spent only about 10 hours playing this game, I can see many hours of enjoyment from the challenges and graphics it provides.

The bad news is it may take you a while to figure out how to get it to work with the computer hardware you have. It took me several hours. This is the reason I gave it a 4 rather than a 5 star rating. Before purchasing this game you can go to [...] and download a demo. As I have not done this I am not certain how it compares to the retail game.

If you purchase this game and run into technical problems, the web site Codemasters provides does not have a menu item for technical support. You can get to a web forum with people going crazy over trying to figure out the problems they are having though. If you have problems typing the word "support" in the search box they have will get you to a form for technical support. I have no experience with what kind of response that would provide.

A summary of some of the problems I encountered are given in the text below. If you are going to be using a keyboard to play this game I would suggest skipping the rest of this message. If you are going to be using a wheel, the length of the following comments might seem to be discouraging.

On this I would say if you were to put in to words the steps it took to get into a car, start it, back it out of your driveway and point it in the direction you wanted to go, you would be surprised at the length of the description. Although there are a lot of details about getting the game to work they are not any more complicated than that.

The computer hardware I am using: 2.4ghz Intel; 1.5 gig Ram; ATI 9600XT (128 Meg), and the old (Red) Logitech Momo Racing Wheel.

For some reason the default brake/accelerator setting was set to digital rather than analog.

The default dead zone for steering is set with some play. This must be set to zero. The default zero line was slightly off center on my setup, but could be moved by turning the wheel one way or the other. Doing this would not get it centered exactly, but getting it close and hitting the down arrow worked.

A steering sensitivity set about 60 percent off the center line provided the best response for my hardware/preference.

Changes made to the wheel setting do not go into effect until you exit the game and come back. If you would like to race with the old settings before exiting to get the new ones, the program will let you do that.

Before starting a race you have to go through several menus using the left and right arrows followed by the "Enter" on the keyboard to make menu selections. During this process you might find the keyboard stops working. For me it was after selecting something other than the default car. Moving the highlight on menu selections after that point must be done by rotating the wheel left or right and back to center for each move. The handbrake rather than the enter key is used to make the selected menu item.

After going though all that you might find difficulty in steering the car. I suspect this is a problem many people have attempting to steer the car with experience from the physics used by other games or what is expected from the experience of the real thing.

The natural thing to do with a game like this is to attempt to drive very fast sliding sideways around the curves the first time you are out the gate. The first time you attempt to do this you will find the software does not adjust to the crazy stuff you are attempting to do, and it should not. While it might be very hard to do, driving very very slow for two or maybe three stages and keeping the car on the road will give you the knowledge about the software physics aiding in developing faster sideway skills you will be proud of.

Rich

Since the review above was written the following comment follow.

Having played every racing game on the planet I would give this one the highest rating. That said there are a few items of importance relative to this topic worth considering. To fully enjoy a PC racing game you have to have a wheel.

Demand drives both the quality of software and hardware related to any product. As such the demand for racing games relative to the FPS (First Person Shooter), or RTS(Real Time Strategy) has been quite low. As the efforts of people to create something new in this environment with version 3, 4 and 5 might fail a return to racing might occur.

Until that happens if you are into racing games and want to buy a wheel for racing you would be well advised to buy one that was developed during the time the demand for racing games was anticipated to be high.

The Microsoft Sidewinder wheel with force feedback, no longer being produced, is an excellent product. Logitech while it thought there was going to be a demand for racing games produced the Momo Force Racing Wheel.

Logitech replaced the Momo Force with the MOMO Racing Force Feedback Wheel. I have not used this product, but just looking at it on the show room floor it looks like a big step backward in quality. Just the idea of going from paddle shift to cheap handle shifter on the side is an indication of the lack of reality the designers and marketing people have about how the software with this type of product works.

As demand and sometimes the perception of what demand is going to be, improvements to hardware and software appear. Hopefully the demand for racing software will increase and provide a market for better products for people interested in racing products and software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bait and Switch, March 8, 2005
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (CD-ROM)
The game gave me about $5.00 worth of irritation which I will vent here. After buying the game which advertises 30 something cars and 100 or more race courses, you will find that you will either have to "earn" access to the majority of these or pay another $5.00 or so to Codemasters to unlock them. My only other complaint to this otherwise terrific game is that the wheel setup is hard to figure out, but eventually by trial and error it works properly. Good software should be common sense to implement instead of guesswork. I bought a Thrustmaster FF Enzo Wheel and had to get a new driver from Thrustmaster (FFB_DRV_1_0_3) so Colin Mcrae Rally 2005 would work with the wheel. Bottom line, I wasn't too happy having to spend a few hours to get things working and have to pay extra for what is advertised in the game description. One more thing, Codemasters warns you that if you uninstall the game you will lose the extras. That would mean going online again, getting the 8 codes, paying another $5.00, and then reentering them again to unlock the game features. The work-around is to save the entire game folder AND the registry settings, and swap them back in after reinstall. You shouldn't have to go through all this to make software function properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best graphics, 8 countries to race in, and smooth play., September 17, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (CD-ROM)
I've tried several rally style games. There aren't enough of them out there, but this is the best I've tried. I bought 2 of them and set up a steering wheel on each of 2 computers so I can race my boys. I'm very pleased and am hoping beyond hope that Codemasters releases another version to keep up with the developments in computing power.

The scenery is superb, the replays are vivid and look more like watching ESPN than a computer game. There are 8 stages in each of 8 countries and quite a myriad of cars. Of course, you've got to prove yourself to unlock all the cars and stages. If you race a full rally though (8 stages) then you can see even the unlocked stages. Personally, I've only unlocked a few, but it's been thrill all the way.

I highly recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best rally sim on planet, February 11, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (CD-ROM)
Colin McRae 2005 is without as doubt the very best rally sim ever crafted by humans.

The system specs for the PC version are printed on the box. Read them.

The XBox and PC versions are virtually identical save for the flexibility and extra resolutions on PC.

The physics model is less exacting than Richard Burns Rally but far more so than Rallisport Challenge 2, very meaty and real for the sim purist yet fast, fun and accessible for the gamer.

I simply can't reccomend this masterwork highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colin McRae Rally 2005, April 20, 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (CD-ROM)
This is the most amazing game! If only I had received the information that should have come with it. My general impression is this is a bootleg copy, while a well done one. The DVD case came shrinkwrapped. However, when I opened it, there was no booklet of information at how to set-up/play this very elaborate game. The DVD has also had some issues, and the game does not run properly. When I tried to download updates for the game, it was shut down entirely(sensing a bootleg?) and I had to uninstall and reinstall the game to get it working. The result? I highly reccomend this game, but make sure you are buying from a source that is selling a true new copy, with all of the information that should accompany it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality game, December 21, 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (CD-ROM)
Personally i think this is the best of the CM series. Would not require much of your PC's overall strength and would deliver amazing quality and smoothness. What is really interesting is the improved physics that would respond to your car choice, setup, and environment.

On the other hand, did not like the overall sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Rally Sim Ever Made, September 24, 2005
By 
Kerwin A Holder (Furlong, PA United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (CD-ROM)
Clin Mcrae rally 2005 is the greatest rally game ever developed. I am a CMR fan and have all from 1 to 5. I am a rally fan at heart and thus have bought and tried many other rally sims on the market but none come close CMR especially the latest one 2005. I have read other reviews by some people encountering difficulties, thus I will begin in my defense of the game.

Geting codes and unlocking all the options is not fun. If you are a hard core racing sim person like I am you want to to unlock new stages and upgrades etc with kick ass fast times not cheat codes plus it gives you a greater feeling of achievement and thus if you were getting sleepy at 3:00am and was deciding to go to bed after posting a blistering fast time the sleep is gone and another stage follows.

The game play and the scenery is fantastic. The car handles more or less like a real rally car would not that I know how a real rally car handles but after street racing you get to know how a car should handle going through a corner at 90mph. Some time must be spent in setting up the steering wheel not in terms of getting it to work or to drive the car but to find a handling seting that suits your driving style thus the dead zone and steering sensitivity are entirely up to you to match your style of driving. I use a mocrosoft sindwinder with force feedback. I have used the force feed back logitech as my friend has one and so did I and in my opinion it does not compare to my sindwinder but that is only a personal opinion. When buying a steering wheel only buy logitech or microsoft as I have found other steering wheels require you to get drivers to work with certain games, these two do not thus the headache is saved.

In order to race even if you want a quick race it will take a few clicks to get there but hey you have to select car, and a stage therefore a few clicks is nothing. My only thing with the game is that after you select pass career and championship in the main menu screen then most of the navigation control will default to the steering wheel if you are using one but in my opinion after you learn the button corresponding settings (select, back etc) that is just the same as using the navigation keys on the keyboard.

All in all I must say Codemasters have done an exellent job on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! What a fantastic game!!, December 27, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (CD-ROM)
This is a great game. The graphics are spectacular and the sound is great. The only things that should be improved upon:

1) The crowds of people are a joke. They should have just eliminated them. They ruin the graphics when you see them.

2) The in-car view is the most realistic way to drive, but the cockpit is poorly rendered. Why? Look at a flight sim like IL2 Sturmovik and that's how a cockpit should be done - it looks real..

3) Changing the view angle and taking screenshots in replay should be easier.

4) When you hit a tree at 60 MPH...the car should stop working not just show damage.

Overall, a great game and my #1 played game now...and I have a lot of games...

Other than these 2 quibbles, the game is a blast. I'm playing with a gamepad but will get a wheel to enjoy it better. The best part is watching the almost real replays after you race
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for laptops!, February 7, 2005
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (CD-ROM)
I have a Dell Inspiron 8500 with a 64m GeFx4200 Go card and this game is unplayable, even at the lowest settings. The keyboard and mouse controls become unresponsive, as do some of the wheel buttons. This is the response I got from the manufacturer:

>Thank you for submitting your recent request to Codemasters Customer

>Services concerning Colin McRae Rally 2005. Your query was dealt with by

>Paul.

>

>Colin McRae Rally 2005 has not been developed for, nor tested on, laptop

>computers. The reason for this is that most video and sound card companies

>sacrifice DirectX compliance for compactness and portability. Due to this,

>these manufacturers do not offer drivers that are optimized for Direct3D

>games, which means that you may have limited success in running Colin McRae

>Rally 2005 properly.

>

>The only thing we can suggest that you try is to make sure that you have the

>latest drivers for all of the laptop's hardware from the manufacturers

>website. We are, unfortunately, unable to offer any more support than this.

>

>If you need further assistance, please reply to this email and INCLUDE THIS

>LINE IN YOUR REPLY:-

>

>{|CALLID|}=00767473

>

>Or include the entire text of this email.

>

>Regards

>Codemasters Customer Services

Gamestop is not responding to my request for a return, so now I am out $20. Beware
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Colin McRae Rally 2005
Colin McRae Rally 2005 by Codemasters (Windows)
$42.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.