Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts for Her Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals BestoftheYear Outdoor Deals on HTL
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Collage has been added to your Cart
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by make your mark
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Eligible for FREE Super Saving Shipping! Fast Amazon shipping plus a hassle free return policy mean your satisfaction is guaranteed! Tracking number provided in your Amazon account with every order. Crisp, clean pages; like new.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Collage Single

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Single, November 25, 1997
"Please retry"
$15.98 $2.74

$25,000 Prime Sweepstakes: This Week Only
Listen to Prime Music for a chance to win $25,000 in Gift Cards. Play any song, station, or playlist to be automatically entered. No purchase necessary. See Official Rules for details and alternate method of entry. Ends December 5, 2015.
$18.80 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Trios for flute, cello and piano by Carl Czerny, Eugene Goossens and Katherine Hoover; a trio for flute, oboe and viola (with cello here) by Gustav Holst; piano pieces by Arthur Foote arranged for flute, oboe and cello by Rheta Smith; and a duo for flute and oboe by Thea Musgrave. Duration 68:18.

The Philadelphia-based Huntingdon Trio is a group of three extraordinarily talented individuals with a wide range of musical interests. In addition to performing standard literature for their modern instruments, they commission new works, transcribe and arrange others, and perform Baroque music on original instruments. More than 20 composers have written for the Trio, which has toured in the United States and Europe, performed on WQXR (New York) and National Public Radio, and recorded for Leonarda and CRI. The Trio is affiliated with Bucknell and Drexel Universities..

Musical Producer: Marnie Hall. Sound Recordist: George Blood. Recorded in Philadelphia at the Settlement Music School, September, 1986. DDD. Cover Painting: Claude Monet "Water Lilies" (c. 1920). Oil on canvas, right section of triptych, 6'6" x 14'. Collection, The Museum of Modern Art, New York. Mrs. Simon Guggenheim Fund. Photograph © 1987 The Museum of Modern Art, New York Graphic Design: Marnie Hall. Support: This recording is made possible with public funds from The New York State Council on the Arts, a state agency. Additional funding for this recording was provided by Mobil Foundation, Inc. Copyright Leonarda Productions, Inc., 1988.

This is an interesting collection of unusual chamber music. Eugene Goossens was best known as a conductor, but his Impressions show a real talent. Holst's Terzetto has none of the bombast of The Planets, but it's recognizably the same composer's work in its color and imagination. My favorite piece on the disc is Katherine Hoover's Lyric Trio, yet another fascinating work by this underrated American master. Hoover's lyricism is genuine but definitely of our time. The Huntingdon Trio, in which Rheta Smith doubles on oboe and piano (!), plays everything well. Definitely a worthwhile disc for those who venture off the beaten path. --Leslie Gerber

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Fantasia Concertante for piano, flute & cello, Op. 256 (Czerny)
  2. In the Hills from "Five Impressions of a Holiday" (Goossens)
  3. By the Rivers "Five Impressions of a Holiday" (Goossens)
  4. The Water Wheel "Five Impressions of a Holiday" (Goossens)
  5. The Village Church "Five Impressions of a Holiday" (Goossens)
  6. At the Fair "Five Impressions of a Holiday" (Goossens)
  7. Poem, Op. 41 No. 1 (Foote; arr. for flute, oboe, cello)
  8. Oriental Dance, Op. 73 No, 5 (Foote; arr. for flute, oboe, cello)
  9. Flying Cloud, Op. 73, No. 4 (Foote; arr. for flute, oboe, cello)
  10. Lyric Trio: Allegro (Hoover)
  11. Lyric Trio: Serenade (Hoover)
  12. Lyric Trio: Allegro molto (Hoover)
  13. Terzetto: Allegretto (Holst)
  14. Terzetto: Un poco vivace (Holst)
  15. Impromptu No. 1 for flute and oboe (Musgrave)

Product Details

  • Composer: Carl Czerny, Arthur Foote, Eugene Goossens, Gustav Holst, Katherine Hoover, et al.
  • Audio CD (November 25, 1997)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Single
  • Label: Leonarda Productions
  • Run Time: 69.00 minutes
  • ASIN: B000004AEP
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #474,313 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Leonarda Records Store

Visit Amazon's Leonarda Records Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Dr. Mom on April 21, 2014
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This CD contains some very fine performances of several lesser-known works for small chamber ensembles using flute, oboe, cello and piano. I was less enamored of one or two of the pieces, the only reason this is not 5-stars; it is no reflection on the performers! I feel this would make a lovely addition to your chamber music collection!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
This item: Collage
Price: $18.80
Ships from and sold by

Look for Similar Items by Category

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: arthur foote, makes hoover