Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ginsy's Collected Poems
I just finished reading Ginsberg's collected poems, 1947-1997 -- fifty years and over a thousand pages of poetry. My overall impression is that he was probably the kindest, most moral member of the beat generation. When the other beats were penniless & borrowing money, Ginsberg was the one they borrowed money from. Corso would steal Ginsberg's manuscripts and sell them to...
Published on November 18, 2006 by taogoat

versus
18 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent
Ginsberg has always been an enigma to me. He certainly has sparks of genius; the justly famous "Howl" and the in some ways even better "Footnote to Howl" are excellent poems, and he has quite a few other poems of near-equal calibre (I find they tend to centre around "Howl").

Nonetheless, he falls short of being a first-rate poet. He is well worth reading,...
Published on March 8, 2008 by Mickey Callaghan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ginsy's Collected Poems, November 18, 2006
By 
taogoat (the mothership) - See all my reviews
I just finished reading Ginsberg's collected poems, 1947-1997 -- fifty years and over a thousand pages of poetry. My overall impression is that he was probably the kindest, most moral member of the beat generation. When the other beats were penniless & borrowing money, Ginsberg was the one they borrowed money from. Corso would steal Ginsberg's manuscripts and sell them to used book dealers to score heroin, and each time Ginsberg would walk down to the book dealer and buy back his priceless words. Where Kerouac preached his own version of buddhism and gave it up a few years later for alcoholic catholicism, Ginsberg remained a dedicated student of buddhist compassion to the end of his days.

And that's what shines thru in many of these poems -- compassion, attention to the present, and the courage to be so honest about his life and his feelings. Many of these poems are raw, experimental, informal, and spontaneous, almost like journal entries. He wrote numerous classics -- Pull My Daisy (written with Kerouac & Cassady in 1949), Howl, America, Kaddish, Mescaline, Lysergic Acid, Wichita Vortex Sutra, Wales Visitation, Elegy for Neal Cassady, and Memory Gardens (elegy for Jack Kerouac), among others.

Some of the most common themes are world travel, nature, daily events, progressive politics, the US invasion of Vietnam, the peace movement, road trips, drug use, the beats, gay sex, hinduism, buddhism, death, and love. In other words, Ginsberg wrote about his life. He talks about his friends dying, his father dying, his mother's insanity and death, his loves, his joys, and whatever is pressing and interesting to him at the moment. Some of the poems are better than others, but I can't imagine there's a more honest poet out there.

Casual readers of the beats will likely want to skip around and read a poem here, a poem there, just checking out the highlights. But even for casual readers, there's no sense in just buying a smaller collection -- just buy this big book so you can have it all.

If you want a smaller collection, you can't go wrong with Howl, Kaddish, and/or Selected Poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry Five Stars, of Course but..., November 21, 2006
By 
John A. Gregorio (Castalian Springs, TN) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Americans who can't name five poets will name Allen Ginsberg. In this case, that is good since he was one of America's Greatest Poets. This book attest to this.

I write this review to show disappointment in the publisher who continues to publish the collected works on the cheapest paper next to newsprint.

For the next edition, I would like to see, at least in limited edition, a volume printed on quality paper which could last more than a few years before turning yellow.

Ginsbergs deserves better treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Allen Ginsberg was a genius..., November 17, 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Collected Poems 1947-1997 (Paperback)
This book contains almost all of Ginsberg's poetry. If you are one of those people that must have all of his poems, a great purchase would be The Book of Martyrdom and Artifice. It is his journals and early poems from 1937-1952. You will have every poem that he wrote and his journal. Also, you can buy his book of letters too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect, March 11, 2013
This review is from: Collected Poems 1947-1997 (Paperback)
This is the only volume to bring together all of Allen Ginsberg's published verse in its entirety, celebrating half a century of brilliant work from one of America's greatest poets. Presented chronologically, it sets Ginsberg's verse against the story of his extraordinary life: from his most famous landmark works 'Howl' and 'Kaddish' to the poems of White Shroud and Cosmopolitan Greetings, and on to his later writings such as the caustically funny 'Death and Fame', the provocative 'New Democracy Wish List' and the elegiac 'Things I'll Not Do (Nostalgia)'.

Ginsberg, as chief figure among the Beats, fomented a social and political revolution, yet his groundbreaking verse also changed the course of American poetry with its freewheeling spontaneity, rawness, honesty and energy. Also containing illustrations by Ginsberg's artist friends, illuminating notes to the poems, original prefaces and photographs, this is the essential record of one of the most influential voices in twentieth century poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happiness in words, December 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Its an amazing book and huge too. Most of Allens work is here. I have the kindle edition as well because I loved my paperback one so much I wanted to carry it around and read Allens poems whenever I felt like it.
I fell in love with Allens poetry about a year ago and have been listening to his poems in audio like crazy, but this book is so delightful I have been reading it rather than listening to more audios, as my time is a bit short these days. I cant say how much I love it. I would marry this book if it asked me! I dont think any poetry loving person with a sense of fun would ever regret buying this book. Get it! And bring more wonder into your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the best!, August 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm so glad to finally have this edition. I love Ginberg's poems and all in one book are just great. Here in Mexico is kind of hard to find his books. I believe this is a very good step for whom love this beard poet.

Five stars. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry Goesn't Get Much Better, August 10, 2013
By 
All of Ginsberg's poems in one volume. If you are interested in the Beats or America then this is essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesome, and the kindle is good too, November 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like ginsburg it's awesome, really really really awesome it's put together by Ginsburg.

As to the kindle, The formatting is well done so it keeps all of his original indents and whatnot. Lots of links in the book so its easy to skip around and find what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another success story for Amazon, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Collected Poems 1947-1997 (Paperback)
Ordered this for Christmas for my son; easy with lots of choices for price or new or used; received in great condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book smart, December 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Collected Poems 1947-1997 (Paperback)
y daughter shops on amazon a lot and most times orders books that interest her. This was one of them, and even though she doesn't like reading much, this captured her attention. Great delivery, and great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Collected Poems 1947-1997
Collected Poems 1947-1997 by Allen Ginsberg (Paperback - October 9, 2007)
$25.99 $19.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.