Start reading The Collected Works of Billy the Kid (Vintage International) on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Add Audible Narration
The Collected Works of Billy the Kid Narrated by Stefan Rudnicki $13.96 $3.99
Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

The Collected Works of Billy the Kid (Vintage International) [Kindle Edition]

Michael Ondaatje
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (31 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $14.95
Kindle Price: $11.20
You Save: $3.75 (25%)
Sold by: Random House LLC

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Audible Narration

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.99 when you buy the Kindle book.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $11.20  
Hardcover --  
Paperback $11.79  
Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged $11.95 or Free with Audible 30-day free trial
MP3 CD, Audiobook, Unabridged $19.95  
Unknown Binding --  
Kindle Delivers
Kindle Delivers
Subscribe to the Kindle Delivers monthly e-mail to find out about each month's Kindle book deals, new releases, editors' picks and more. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

Drawing on contemporary accounts, period photographs, dime novels, and his own prodigious fund of empathy and imagination, Michael Ondaatje's visionary novel traces the legendary outlaw's passage across the blasted landscape of 1880 New Mexico and the collective unconscious of his country. The Collected Works of Billy the Kid is a virtuoso synthesis of storytelling, history, and myth by a writer who brings us back to our familiar legends with a renewed sense of wonder.


Editorial Reviews

Review

“Moving and tragic. . . . Ondaatje is a poet and even his prose moves with rhythmic circular precision.” —The New York Times Book ReviewThe Collected Works of Billy the Kid strains one’s powers of description.... Ondaatje’s eye for detail is wonderful and he uses it poetically, with superb restraint.”—Larry McMurtry, The Washington Post Book World“Wonderful.... Ondaatje’s language is clean and energetic, with the pop of bullets. This is literature, art.” —Annie Dillard


From the Trade Paperback edition.

From the Inside Flap

From the Booker Prize-winning author of The English Patient comes a visionary novel, a virtuoso synthesis of storytelling, history, and myth, about William Bonney, a.k.a. "Billy the Kid, " a bloodthirsty ogre and outlaw saint. "Ondaatje's language is clean and energetic, with the pop of bullets."--Annie Dillard.

Product Details

  • File Size: 503 KB
  • Print Length: 130 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 067976786X
  • Publisher: Vintage; Reprint edition (April 20, 2011)
  • Sold by: Random House LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004W0HS5O
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #227,370 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billy the Kid Speaks! April 24, 2003
Format:Paperback
Michael Ondaatje's sprawling sequence of verse interspersed with poetic prose exposes the persona poem as one of poetry's surest paths to honesty. Through unsettlingly precise detail and unsentimental empathy, the character of Billy the Kid is recreated-and revisited-in all its brutality and splendor. Ondaatje's unflinching commitment to honesty yields a persona that is as vibrant and realized as possible, resulting in a series of confessions that range from disturbing to revelatory.

The image, consistently startling, graphic and discomforting, carries the speaker through the entire sequence. Whereas most imagery depends on the eye for effect, Ondaatje utilizes all five senses throughout the book. We taste wine "so fine/it was like drinking ether," we feel Pat Garret's "oiled rifle" against Maxwell's cheek and hear it fire beside his ear, "leaving a powder scar on Maxwell's face that stayed with him all his life." We smell the smoke in Garret's shirt and taste the nicotine in his mouth. At times, the stunned silence of Ondaatje's unremitting narrative conjures a hush so palpable that we can "listen to deep buried veins in our palms." It doesn't take long for The Collected Works of Billy the Kid to immerse the reader in its own unique world, accessible now only through words and photographs.
Most memorable, though, are the intensely graphic images that sprout from the page throughout the book. The chicken digging for a vein in the dying Gregory's neck, the warts in Billy the Kid's throat "breaking through veins like pieces of long glass tubing," the blood caked in Tom O'Folliard's "hair, arms, shoulders, everywhere.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
Michael Ondaatje begins The Collected Works of Billy the Kid with a caption to a blank space; the picture of Billy the Kid described in the caption is not included. This notion of rewriting the Old West, one character at a time, is an important theme in the book. Billy is cast in a new revisionist light, as a poet, lover, and observer, while still maintaining the traditional exterior of a western gunslinger.
Perhaps the most telling piece of the "reinvented" Billy stems from his relationship with Angie, his prostitute-turned-girlfriend that adds a different dimension to the traditional story. Through their relationship, Billy shows a side of himself missing from the history books-a man once seen as the quintessential cowboy is dependent and vulnerable to Angie, in his words, "caught like a butterfly...in her Tuscon room."

It cannot be said, however, that the Billy the Kid in Ondaatje's work is immune to cold-blooded violence. Billy openly writes of graphic and grotesque images, but they are dealt with in such a delicate and poetic manner that Billy's detachment is forgiven. He sees a separation between business and pleasure, and killing is strictly a profession. At the same time, though, he finds a beauty in violence-even violence against himself or Angie-that reinforces his position as a true poet. Even as he removes bullets from Angie's hand after she has been shot-by bullets meant for him-Billy calls the shots "rolled pellet tongues of pigeons," a subtle metaphor for a grizzly situation. Billy is a true warrior, but he has a clear set of priorities and can put his violent world into prospective.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real tour de force--stunning in its effect. July 11, 2000
Format:Paperback
This early (1970) "novel" by Michael Ondaatje is a collage of poetry, narrative, memoir, photography, journalism, and fiction surrounding Billy the Kid. Ondaatje poeticizes Billy's thoughts, giving us "insight" into the inner man, while, at the same time, creating a kind of suspense about the inevitable outcome. By constantly shifting the narrative focus and point of view from Billy to some of his cohorts, the women who loved them, and the "lawmen" who sought them, Ondaatje avoids the need for transitions which would normally challenge the biographer of a legend. And by allowing time to be circuitous, rather than linear, Ondaatje is able to give flesh and bone to the impressions he creates by enlisting the reader's help in "organizing" his material. In short, this is an impressionistic word-painting which gives freshness and vibrancy to an old saga of the Wild West.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i liked it April 16, 2000
Format:Paperback
This book of poetry is really unlike any other I have ever read (I suppose with my limited experience, that might not be saying much, but bear with me). Rather than dealing with the stereotypical internal issues of the meaning of life and love that characterize many poetic endeavors, Ondaatje takes a character most of us know and then presents him, through various styles of poetry, in the gritty harshness that the subject, Billy the Kid, would require. There are no pulled punches for the sake of beauty, and the poems work all the more effectively because we understand the at-least-partly factual nature of their characters, which are strengthened through periodically injected novel-style passages.
Of course, for the narrative to come off successfully, Ondaatje must be open to take certain liberties with the tale, which he gladly owns up to with the book's opening blank photo of Billy. From that point on, the story is dirty, nasty, cruel, affecting, and powerful. If there's ever been a collection of poems that had the ability to get the "man's man" into the art, this is it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars More poetry than I expected.
Interesting read. I expected something more like the Cat's Cradle. This was full of poetry that I did not enjoy. However, I did enjoy the short stories.
Published 25 days ago by Shana
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
More amusing than enlightening!
Published 1 month ago by Leo Brigman
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
A work of genius!
Published 1 month ago by Jenni Wilson
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
great read
Published 4 months ago by poppa
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Fascinating.
Published 4 months ago by B.E. Kahn
4.0 out of 5 stars Confusing but beautiful
and I am finding as I read more of his books, is typical of this author. The Afterward ( which I ought to have read first) offers a generous and intimate view of this author's... Read more
Published 8 months ago by happylady
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book
This is a great experimental piece. It's one of the best books ever written. It is so creative and interesting.
Published 13 months ago by Riley James
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book this Interesting should be Outlawed!
With his book "The Collected Works of Billy the Kid" Michael Ondaatje (author of "The English Patient") brings us a unique hybrid of poetry and prose, mixed with... Read more
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer
4.0 out of 5 stars To each his own
The first time I read this book I had a difficult time paying attention and/or caring. After a class discussion I decided I wanted to re-read it, and it was much more enjoyable the... Read more
Published on May 2, 2012 by D. Gannon
3.0 out of 5 stars More for fans of Ondaatje and Poetry than fans of the Old West and...
The author of this book was born in Sri Lanka ( Ceylon) in 1943,Immigrated to England in 1952,and later to Canadain 1962.This book was first published in 1970. Read more
Published on April 24, 2012 by J. Guild
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category