Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


573 of 592 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Selection for a Great Price
I'm already seeing some criticism for this set not containing some of Tim Burton's best films.

To that I say, take a breath and think before you type.

This set is being released by Warner Brothers. All of the films in this collection were productions made with Warner Brothers Studios. The Tim Burton films that are missing from this set were made at...
Published on March 19, 2012 by Justin Johnson

versus
0 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This was a... MISS
The box set arrived dented in the corners, which was a big disappointment since this was a brand new, factory sealed item. The collection itself left a lot to be desired. The only plus was that I purchased this on sale at least 60% off the suggested retail price.
Published 13 months ago by Nyle Cavazos Garcia


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

573 of 592 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Selection for a Great Price, March 19, 2012
By 
Justin Johnson (Long Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm already seeing some criticism for this set not containing some of Tim Burton's best films.

To that I say, take a breath and think before you type.

This set is being released by Warner Brothers. All of the films in this collection were productions made with Warner Brothers Studios. The Tim Burton films that are missing from this set were made at other studios.

For example...

Edward Scissorhands? 20th Century Fox
The Nightmare Before Christmas? Disney (Orginally a Touchstone production)
Sleepy Hollow? Paramount
Big Fish? Dreamworks
Ed Wood? Touchstone (aka Disney)
Sweeney Todd? Dreamworks
Alice in Wonderland? Disney

So...before you go spitting venom, do some homework. You're getting seven films at a great price from arguably one of the most visionary directors of our time. I call that a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST have for any Burton Fan!! PS Batman IS widescreen, May 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just got my Tim Burton set in the mail today, so pull up a chair, and let me tell you what you get.
First of all, I will freely admit that I am a HUGE Tim Burton fan, and was very excited when I saw this listed on Amazon. I sold my copies of the movies I already owned on Blu-ray to pay for it. Of course, with the price being so low on this set, I actually ended up making a profit.

THE PACKAGING: When you open your copy, you will find a very sturdy box with the artwork shown on the website on the front, and the same border design on the back with a listing of all the movies included in the set. The discs themselves are housed in a foldout digi-pak, with the discs secured in a two-disc stack pattern. Since there are only seven discs, Batman is attached with a single hub. This is the type packaging where you have to remove the top disc in order to get the bottom disc out. I didn't have any problems, and I feel the discs are all very secure and safe. In addition to the discs being in the foldout package, there is also a list of all the supplemental material available for each title. I thought that was a nice touch. Each discs also has new artwork that is in keeping with the design that is present in the border around the front and back of the box. I liked the fact that new artwork was created for the discs, instead of just throwing discs in with the current artwork on them. Nice touch!! The movies all have the same special features as was present on previous Blu-ray releases.

THE BOOKLET: The booklet is a great treat. Each movie gets anywhere from 6 to 12 pages each in the book. The book is a hardcover, and the pages are all thick with a shiny sheen to them.
* Pee Wee - 8 pages
* Beetlejuice - 6 pages
* Batman - 8 pages
* Batman Returns - 8 pages
* Mars Attacks - 8 pages
* Corpse Bride - 12 pages
* Charlie - 12 pages
Each film gets an introduction, poster page, behind the scenes shots, some sketch art, movie info, and trivia. This is very nice, and should count as a blu-ray exclusive feature since this set is not available on DVD. I was just expecting to see a few pictures stuck in a book, with little thought put into it. What you get is a very well thought out little book, that adds to the enjoyment of each film.

BOTTOM LINE: If you don't have any of these on Blu-ray, then I would strongly suggest you get this set. It's a great price for what you get. If you do already own them, you may want to consider doing what I did. Sell all your current copies on Amazon, and then turn around and order this set. I ended up making a nice little profit, plus now I have all of these Burton films in a very nice collection which will proudly be displayed on my shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it! about 95$ value for 41$, September 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tim Burton Collection + Book (Pee Wee's Big Adventure/Beetlejuice/Batman/Batman Returns/Mars Attacks!/Corpse Bride/Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This collection is awesome sure it doesn't have "The nightmare before Christmas" and
"Edward scissor hands" but non the less its a great collection

9/13/12 - $41.99

Please don't let the guy that rated this product 1 star make you think this a bad product because its not. he/she just cant look around...don't expect everything to be in your face people do some looking around

the collectors hard cover book is wonderful! each page has this photo finish to it very good quality has about 60 pages all great pictures and tons of information about 6-8 pages for each movie and some cool stuff like trivia its one of the best quality collectors books I've seen

(according to the special features on the case)
1. Batman - tons of extras
2. Batman Returns - tons as well
3. Bettlejuice - few
4. Mars Attacks - none
5. Pee-wees big adventure - pretty good amount of extras
6. Charlie and the chocolate factory - TON! of extras
7. Tim burtons corpse bride - good amount

all the movie discs have a unique-ish cover to them

over all if you like these movies get them its a great collection it has some great movies and its just worth it. hope this helped!

Tim Burton: Collection [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Collection, September 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tim Burton Collection + Book (Pee Wee's Big Adventure/Beetlejuice/Batman/Batman Returns/Mars Attacks!/Corpse Bride/Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Stop reading this and get this now. Trust me, if you love these movies, then this beautifully designed box set is for you. The blu-rays themselves make these movies look better than they ever have and I've owned most of these on VHS and first generation DVDs. Plus, this is a great way to get Batman and Batman Returns, which for some reason are insanely expensive when bought individually on BD at the time of this writing. The book is lovingly designed with nice pictures and tidbits about each of the movies. While I would've loved to have seen some special features added to Mars Attacks! and some movie-specific features to Beetlejuice besides the cartoons, this is just a small qualm that does not take away from the special quality of this package. Also makes an awesome gift for the Tim Burton fan in your life. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movies Bad Case, July 11, 2013
By 
Nick (Petaluma, CA - North Bay) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tim Burton Collection + Book (Pee Wee's Big Adventure/Beetlejuice/Batman/Batman Returns/Mars Attacks!/Corpse Bride/Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I enjoyed this set very much, but the case the films are packed in leave something to be desired. If you're looking at this review you probably don't need a review on the movies themselves. For them I give this a 5 star review for a great selection of Tim Burton Films distributed by Warner. The films that aren't included were not released by Warner and are not included in this set for those wondering why.

Anyway, the mark on this set is that the Blu Ray trays don't properly hold the films. When I go to open this fold out style case there is always one movie that is off of the tray floating. This is weird since I never move the box until I am going to watch a movie and just from that slight movement it dislodges the disc. Very disappointed in that. I checked and the clips on the center of the plastic tray are still intact, so this is just a sloppy design.

But aside from that, this is a worthy buy for a great selection of films. Just don't move the box around to much once you have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great set at a great price., May 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First off, as other people have noted, this set is from Warner Bros., and therefore legally can't contain any films Burton did for other studios.

With that out of the way, what we do get here is rather nice and at a great price. The current price is about $45, which is a deal for seven movies, especially considering that individually they would total around $110. That's just insane. The downside is that you don't get individual cases and artwork, which really messed with my "movies in alphabetical order OCD", but at this price I couldn't pass it up. On top of that, the discs are kept in a nice fold out digipack, which is inside a hardcover slipcase, and the set also comes with a nice quality hardcover book filled with glossy photos, movie posters, info on the films, and trivia. Overall a great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection!!!, September 22, 2012
This review is from: The Tim Burton Collection + Book (Pee Wee's Big Adventure/Beetlejuice/Batman/Batman Returns/Mars Attacks!/Corpse Bride/Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This collection is a fun assortment of Tim Burton films. I was initially attracted to this collection due to its wonderful packaging. The case is sturdy and has a wonderful montage of the characters from the films on the front. Located inside is the Digipak-style case, which holds all seven films. I was thrilled to have a chance to own many of my childhood favorites (especially both Batman films, Beetlejuice, and Pee-Wee's Big Adventure).
The Batman films alone are hard to find, and are a great pair of films. The accompanying book is very nice, and provides some wonderful behind the scenes photos of the director and some of his cast. If you are a Tim Burton fan, buy this collection! You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how you do it!, October 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tim Burton Collection + Book (Pee Wee's Big Adventure/Beetlejuice/Batman/Batman Returns/Mars Attacks!/Corpse Bride/Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I;m not going to review the movies. If you can browse the internet and are old enough to buy things on Amazon you should have at least seen a few of these. No, this review is purely on the packaging.

Most multi-movie packs have more then one movie per disc..and that's just DVD. Go to any store and you can find four pack movies on double sides discs. It's a mess, and a bad idea. Using blu-ray they could have very easily put multiple movies on each disc and called it a day. But they don't, each movie has it's own disc. The discs themselves are not loose and wobbly inside the package. the packaging folds out like "fat pack" tv seasons (Early releases of Buffy, Angel, and bablyon 5 have the same style packaging).

The book that comes with the set fits nicely into the outer case. It's a nice hardcover that won't get easily damaged by "shelf wear" like most books. It has fun little trivia and behind the scenes images form all the movies in this set.

The discs are clearly labeled for what movie they are, and have a white and black label. In fact the entire set keeps a simple color scheme of black, white, and purple with spirals that make it easy to tell they are a set and ment to go together.

Whiel this is by no means a "complete" collection, and jsut his movies form one studio, it is a nice glimpse into the work history of a director who has a very uniquie and distinct style that is easily spotted...be it animation, super heros, and anything inbetween.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 7-Disc Tim Burton Blu-ray Collection, October 22, 2013
This review is from: The Tim Burton Collection + Book (Pee Wee's Big Adventure/Beetlejuice/Batman/Batman Returns/Mars Attacks!/Corpse Bride/Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Tim Burton fans will like this collection. The picture and audio quality for all the films are good except Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Corpse Bride which look and sound even better. There is over 7 hours of total bonus content but much of it is for Batman and only 4 of the films have audio commentaries. The longest featurette is "Shadows of the Bat: The Cinematic Saga of the Dark Knight" which runs for 73 minutes. Mars Attacks! is the only film devoid of bonus content. You do get a collectible hardcover book containing 64 pages of rare, never-before-seen photos and illustrations. This collection is priced right so it works as a value pack. Burton fans who own the stand-alone Blu-ray releases may not want to upgrade because little exclusive material is provided. This collection repackages the stand-alone Blu-ray releases except Charlie and the Chocolate Factory where you get the "In-Movie Experience" and "Audio Commentary with Tim Burton" that is exclusive to this set. These are Warner films so some other great movies from Burton such as Edward Scissorhands, Sleepy Hollow, Ed Wood and Big Fish are sold separately. My only real complaint is that a 3-hour documentary about Tim Burton and his filmography could have made this set more deluxe.

7 Films: Pee Wee's Big Adventure (1985), Beetlejuice (1988), Batman (1989), Batman Returns (1992), Mars Attacks! (1996), Corpse Bride (2005), and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (2005).

Buy this Blu-ray collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Collection value when on sale, December 10, 2013
By 
Michelle L. Bourgeois (Boulder, Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tim Burton Collection + Book (Pee Wee's Big Adventure/Beetlejuice/Batman/Batman Returns/Mars Attacks!/Corpse Bride/Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good collection of older movies, all on Blu-ray. I found this to be an excellent purchase on sale for $26 but would not pay much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Tim Burton Collection + Book (Pee Wee's Big Adventure/Beetlejuice/Batman/Batman Returns/Mars Attacks!/Corpse Bride/Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) [Blu-ray]
$59.99 $42.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.