Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't know Spike Lee by now, this is a fabulous introduction
This would be a steal at twice the price. I don't know what possessed Spike Lee to offer five of his best movies at such a low price. Do the Right Thing is a brilliant movie, capturing both the rhythms and tensions of Lee's beloved Brooklyn, which he would return to time and again. Lee is at his best when avoiding the polemics and sticking to character-driven movies...
Published on July 20, 2006 by James Ferguson

versus
20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars READ FIRST BEFORE BUYING
In reality, I wouldn't give this product a one star rating. I'd probably give it a three or a four. However, I know that I (and I assume other people) tend to read the one-star ratings before buying something, rather than the better reviews, and I may have an issue with my collection that other people may want to consider before purchasing. My main problem is that of the...
Published on February 13, 2008 by W. Waters


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't know Spike Lee by now, this is a fabulous introduction, July 20, 2006
By 
James Ferguson (Vilnius, Lithuania) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spike Lee Joint Collection (Clockers/ Jungle Fever/ Do the Right Thing/ Mo` Better Blues/ Crooklyn) (DVD)
This would be a steal at twice the price. I don't know what possessed Spike Lee to offer five of his best movies at such a low price. Do the Right Thing is a brilliant movie, capturing both the rhythms and tensions of Lee's beloved Brooklyn, which he would return to time and again. Lee is at his best when avoiding the polemics and sticking to character-driven movies. Jungle Fever and Mo' Better Blues stand out in this regard, because they are first and foremost about people. Jungle Fever introduced the great Samuel L. Jackson, as well as launched Wesley Snipes in an intense social drama which revolves around an inter-racial love affair. Jackson stole most of the scenes however as the drug-addled brother who simply couldn't get his act straight no matter how hard he tried. Mo' Better Blues exposed Lee's love for jazz. Moody and atmospheric, with Denzel Washington delivering a solid performance, the film tries to recapture the spirit of the Harlem Renaissance. Clockers was his crime drama with plenty of tension. Crooklyn revolved mostly around amusing family disputes, with Alfre Woodard as a strong mother figure. It was probably the least satisfying of the five, but fun to watch just the same. Lee embelishes his movies with such rich cinematic color, and offers numerous fascinating camera angles such as his now famous walking scenes in Jungle Fever. Not since Gordon Parks, had someone done so much for black cinema, rescuing it from the blaxploitation films of the 70's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spike Lee Joint Collection, June 26, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spike Lee Joint Collection (Clockers/ Jungle Fever/ Do the Right Thing/ Mo` Better Blues/ Crooklyn) (DVD)
This is a must have DVD set for anyone that has seen or not seen these Spike Lee movies.

There is so much energy and rawness to "Do the Right Thing". Issues such as bigotry, racism, sexism and cultural differences as a whole are brought front and center and seen through the eyes of the people in the Brooklyn Bedford-Stuyvesant 'hood.

"Jungle Fever" is there a better movie that tackles inter-racial dating? A resounding,"I don't think so!"

"Clockers" is such a riveting film regarding the drug dealers and drugs that have engulfed so many people, particularly young adults and children. This is another must see film.

Purchase the collection and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Collection That Is Very Affordable, March 11, 2007
This review is from: Spike Lee Joint Collection (Clockers/ Jungle Fever/ Do the Right Thing/ Mo` Better Blues/ Crooklyn) (DVD)
There are a few artists who come to mind - Peter Max, for example - who strongly believe that their craft should be accessible to fans at any income level. Simply, art is solely not defined by its high price tag.

With the release of the Spike Lee Joint Collection (Clockers/ Jungle Fever/ Do the Right Thing/ Mo` Better Blues/ Crooklyn), the legendary film maker is making a very strong statement in the movie industry on producing an extraordinary product at an affordable price.

This is Economics 101 at its simplest, five movies for the cost of a couple of movie tickets at most theaters. It is as much a collection for fans of Lee's career as it an outstanding sampler for those just getting into his style.

And it begs a very important question; if Lee and Max - along with others - can do it, why isn't this practical approach done industry-wide within the arts?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars READ FIRST BEFORE BUYING, February 13, 2008
By 
W. Waters (Columbus, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spike Lee Joint Collection (Clockers/ Jungle Fever/ Do the Right Thing/ Mo` Better Blues/ Crooklyn) (DVD)
In reality, I wouldn't give this product a one star rating. I'd probably give it a three or a four. However, I know that I (and I assume other people) tend to read the one-star ratings before buying something, rather than the better reviews, and I may have an issue with my collection that other people may want to consider before purchasing. My main problem is that of the five movies, two (Clockers and Jungle Fever) contained many 'digital glitches'. Clockers is actually on the verge of being unwatchable because the DVD is of such a low quality. That being said, the remaining movies work perfectly, and I'm sure I'll enjoy them many more times down the road. Yes, it is pretty disappointing that only 3/5ths of the product works, but, in the end, three great movies for $20 is still a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What?, March 13, 2006
This review is from: Spike Lee Joint Collection (Clockers/ Jungle Fever/ Do the Right Thing/ Mo` Better Blues/ Crooklyn) (DVD)
What the hell is the guy above me talking about? Buy this because the films are great!

However, the packaging is medicore at best. But if you are just looking for the films, this is the CHEAPEST and BEST way to get all of them in one package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU CAN'T BE SERIOUS!, March 15, 2007
This review is from: Spike Lee Joint Collection (Clockers/ Jungle Fever/ Do the Right Thing/ Mo` Better Blues/ Crooklyn) (DVD)
5 CLASSIC FILMS BY ONE OF THE BEST AFRICAN AMERICAN DIRECTORS OF ALL TIME FOR $20.00! IF YOU THINK THIS ISN'T A GREAT DEAL THAN OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A PROBLEM! MO BETTA BLUES IS ONE OF THE MOST WELL PUT TOGETHER PIECES AND IF YOU ENJOY THE FILMS I SUGGEST LISTENING TO THE ACTUAL SOUNDTRACKS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Steal, March 27, 2006
This review is from: Spike Lee Joint Collection (Clockers/ Jungle Fever/ Do the Right Thing/ Mo` Better Blues/ Crooklyn) (DVD)
How exciting to find all of these movies together. This was too easy. Can't wait for the day my kids and I can sit and watch these together and discuss thier views on each film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Happy Joy Joy, September 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spike Lee Joint Collection (Clockers/ Jungle Fever/ Do the Right Thing/ Mo` Better Blues/ Crooklyn) (DVD)
I lost my original collections as a result of Hurricane Sandy. Thanks for having this available and for such a reasonable price. I received it in good time and the packaging was very pristine. Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for all movie buffs.., June 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spike Lee Joint Collection (Clockers/ Jungle Fever/ Do the Right Thing/ Mo` Better Blues/ Crooklyn) (DVD)
For under $20 I don't see why any one could pass up a great deal. This is defiantly a myth buster when it comes to the thee " to good to be true."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Purchase, May 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spike Lee Joint Collection (Clockers/ Jungle Fever/ Do the Right Thing/ Mo` Better Blues/ Crooklyn) (DVD)
The best quantity for the price! You just can't beat 5 classic movies for only ten (10) dollars. Worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.