Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon July 20, 2006
This would be a steal at twice the price. I don't know what possessed Spike Lee to offer five of his best movies at such a low price. Do the Right Thing is a brilliant movie, capturing both the rhythms and tensions of Lee's beloved Brooklyn, which he would return to time and again. Lee is at his best when avoiding the polemics and sticking to character-driven movies. Jungle Fever and Mo' Better Blues stand out in this regard, because they are first and foremost about people. Jungle Fever introduced the great Samuel L. Jackson, as well as launched Wesley Snipes in an intense social drama which revolves around an inter-racial love affair. Jackson stole most of the scenes however as the drug-addled brother who simply couldn't get his act straight no matter how hard he tried. Mo' Better Blues exposed Lee's love for jazz. Moody and atmospheric, with Denzel Washington delivering a solid performance, the film tries to recapture the spirit of the Harlem Renaissance. Clockers was his crime drama with plenty of tension. Crooklyn revolved mostly around amusing family disputes, with Alfre Woodard as a strong mother figure. It was probably the least satisfying of the five, but fun to watch just the same. Lee embelishes his movies with such rich cinematic color, and offers numerous fascinating camera angles such as his now famous walking scenes in Jungle Fever. Not since Gordon Parks, had someone done so much for black cinema, rescuing it from the blaxploitation films of the 70's.
22 comments29 of 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2007
There are a few artists who come to mind - Peter Max, for example - who strongly believe that their craft should be accessible to fans at any income level. Simply, art is solely not defined by its high price tag.

With the release of the Spike Lee Joint Collection (Clockers/ Jungle Fever/ Do the Right Thing/ Mo` Better Blues/ Crooklyn), the legendary film maker is making a very strong statement in the movie industry on producing an extraordinary product at an affordable price.

This is Economics 101 at its simplest, five movies for the cost of a couple of movie tickets at most theaters. It is as much a collection for fans of Lee's career as it an outstanding sampler for those just getting into his style.

And it begs a very important question; if Lee and Max - along with others - can do it, why isn't this practical approach done industry-wide within the arts?
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2006
This is a must have DVD set for anyone that has seen or not seen these Spike Lee movies.

There is so much energy and rawness to "Do the Right Thing". Issues such as bigotry, racism, sexism and cultural differences as a whole are brought front and center and seen through the eyes of the people in the Brooklyn Bedford-Stuyvesant 'hood.

"Jungle Fever" is there a better movie that tackles inter-racial dating? A resounding,"I don't think so!"

"Clockers" is such a riveting film regarding the drug dealers and drugs that have engulfed so many people, particularly young adults and children. This is another must see film.

Purchase the collection and you will not be disappointed.
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2008
In reality, I wouldn't give this product a one star rating. I'd probably give it a three or a four. However, I know that I (and I assume other people) tend to read the one-star ratings before buying something, rather than the better reviews, and I may have an issue with my collection that other people may want to consider before purchasing. My main problem is that of the five movies, two (Clockers and Jungle Fever) contained many 'digital glitches'. Clockers is actually on the verge of being unwatchable because the DVD is of such a low quality. That being said, the remaining movies work perfectly, and I'm sure I'll enjoy them many more times down the road. Yes, it is pretty disappointing that only 3/5ths of the product works, but, in the end, three great movies for $20 is still a great deal.
11 comment29 of 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2006
What the hell is the guy above me talking about? Buy this because the films are great!

However, the packaging is medicore at best. But if you are just looking for the films, this is the CHEAPEST and BEST way to get all of them in one package.
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2007
5 CLASSIC FILMS BY ONE OF THE BEST AFRICAN AMERICAN DIRECTORS OF ALL TIME FOR $20.00! IF YOU THINK THIS ISN'T A GREAT DEAL THAN OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A PROBLEM! MO BETTA BLUES IS ONE OF THE MOST WELL PUT TOGETHER PIECES AND IF YOU ENJOY THE FILMS I SUGGEST LISTENING TO THE ACTUAL SOUNDTRACKS.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
These five films make a fine introduction to the early work of Spike Lee, one of the most exciting directors working today, a man who has remained true to his cinematic vision. In the 80s and 90s, Lee was working with top talent, including such icons as Halle Berry, Wesley Snipes, and Samuel L. Jackson. This compact box set really captures the cream of black motion pictures during that period.

The quality of the DVDs matches that of the films, but please be advised that this set includes no extras. Also, the collection contains two double-sided discs (Clockers and Jungle Fever are on opposite sides of Disc 1; Do the Right Thing and Mo' Better Blues are on opposite sides of Disc 2; Crooklyn is on Disc 3). Still, you can't beat the value!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2006
How exciting to find all of these movies together. This was too easy. Can't wait for the day my kids and I can sit and watch these together and discuss thier views on each film.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2006
This movie collection may not be all of the best of Spike's films but definitely a GREAT collection and seperate from that a GREAT price...but those two in combination makes it an instant classic!! A must-have for any collector. As a fan of Spike I find it helpful to purchase a collection that upgrades my own with just one purchase. Its too great to be true, 5 movies, on three discs for one low price. Screening quality is great and the memories countless...

Highly recommended!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2014
These are the films that introduced Mr.Spike Lee to the world..........and the world hasn't been the same since. Every one of these 5 films should have the word "classic" attached to it .......whether you like Spike or not. His talent for GREAT film-making is completely undebatable.......and this "collection" cements his place amongst the very best directors in cinematic history. If only "Malcolm X" had been included............
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$5.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.