Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elegant vocalist
With her beautiful voice that varied from breezy to husky, Rita Coolidge was one of the unique voices of the seventies and eighties. This excellent compilation includes all of her greatest hits and some superb album tracks like her exquisite version of Leonard Cohen's Bird On A Wire.
Her biggest songs are all here: the romantic We're All Alone, the inspirational...
Published on February 12, 2004 by Pieter Uys

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a different cover
The cd I have of this is the same cd listed but has a different cover. The cover listed here she looks like Cher. This is a pretty good cd. It has We're All Alone,Higher And Higher,Words,And You. Which are all very good songs. She had a style where she could do things like Wishin' And Hopin', and an entirely different version of Seven Bridges Road. This is one of...
Published 27 days ago by john thomas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elegant vocalist, February 12, 2004
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
With her beautiful voice that varied from breezy to husky, Rita Coolidge was one of the unique voices of the seventies and eighties. This excellent compilation includes all of her greatest hits and some superb album tracks like her exquisite version of Leonard Cohen's Bird On A Wire.
Her biggest songs are all here: the romantic We're All Alone, the inspirational (Your Love Has Lifted Me) Higher And Higher, plus I'll Be Your Baby Tonight, I Don't Want To Talk About It, All Time High and her moving version of The Bee Gees' classic song Words. As a ballad singer, she added a depth of feeling to sometimes mundane lyrics, lifting the songs above the ordinary.
Her covers of songs like Wishin' and Hopin' and Sweet Inspiration are elegant and accomplished. It's a pity that some great album tracks, for example Whisky Whisky from a now deleted album, have not been included. Nevertheless, this is a satisfying showcase of a splendid singer that is sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth southern lady, October 12, 2004
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
Rita's style was a mix of several styles of music with elements of pop, rock, folk, country and soul. The end result was generally mellow pop-rock music of the highest quality. The strongest collection of Rita's music is the double CD, Delta lady, though it must be noted that Words, a cover of an early Bee Gees songs, is omitted from that set. I understand that Rita selected the songs for Delta lady based on feedback from fans but I can't believe too many British fans provided feedback because Words was a UK top thirty hit. With only four UK hits altogether (the others are We're all alone, Higher and higher and All time high) it is an automatic choice for UK compilations.

This UK compilation includes those four UK hits plus covers of Bird on the wire (Leonard Cohen), I'll be your baby tonight (Bob Dylan), One fine day (Chiffons), Wishing and hoping (an American hit for Dusty Springfield but a British hit for the Merseybeats) among others. One notable omission is The way you do the things you do (a cover of the Temptations classic), which was a top twenty American hit for Rita. Still, this is a British compilation.

As an introduction to Rita's music, this is wonderful. If you only want a single CD of Rita's music, this is a good one to choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's My Crew?, December 3, 2011
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
No doubt this collection of Rita Coolidge hits is well worth the price. BUT why is it that MY CREW does not appear on any other CD than Lady's Not For Sale? MY CREW is the first song I heard by Rita and remains my most favorite. It was the 'B' side of FEVER and considered a 2-sided hit per Billboard data. The song speaks of committment, comradry, teamwork, etc., and perhaps a touch of constructive dependency in all walks of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a different cover, January 3, 2015
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
The cd I have of this is the same cd listed but has a different cover. The cover listed here she looks like Cher. This is a pretty good cd. It has We're All Alone,Higher And Higher,Words,And You. Which are all very good songs. She had a style where she could do things like Wishin' And Hopin', and an entirely different version of Seven Bridges Road. This is one of those cds that all the songs are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love this cd by Rita Coolidge, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
I have always loved the two LP's back in the 70 and 80's. Was nice to find it on cd. Rita Coolidge is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars my husband likes her, July 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
I feally don't like Rita Coolidge, but my husband loves her. We saw her at the Sandy amphitheater and she does a great preformance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hearing rita coolidge sing again is a real treat, June 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
her voice is a musical instriment wow so good to hear my old favorites with new life cd transfer was amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, December 13, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
Fun to hear these old tunes. Rita is a very talented vocalist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed to hear again., October 7, 2014
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
Very happy with purchase. It's good to hear her music again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 18, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
Super transaction. As promised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Collection
Collection by Rita Coolidge (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.