Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the woman who played God
Finally, Alanis Morissette's best songs are available all together in one convenient place. This heavenly collection from the woman who played God in the movie "Dogma" covers the period 1995 to 2005, with nineteen of her "impossible to sing along to" songs that we've come to love.

From the incredible album "Jagged Little Pill" (1995):

Head Over...
Published on November 15, 2005 by Amanda Richards

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As one writer put it, "An Iffy Collection."
Even if you don't care much for Alanis Morissette's music, she is inarguably one of the most recognized singer/songwriters of our time. As a devoted fan for many years, I was pleased when I learned last year of a greatest hits package in the works. Instead, we have "The Collection," more of a retrospective, a reflection of sorts, an offering of half hits and...
Published on November 15, 2006 by Timothy T. Ward


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the woman who played God, November 15, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
Finally, Alanis Morissette's best songs are available all together in one convenient place. This heavenly collection from the woman who played God in the movie "Dogma" covers the period 1995 to 2005, with nineteen of her "impossible to sing along to" songs that we've come to love.

From the incredible album "Jagged Little Pill" (1995):

Head Over Feet; You Learn; You Oughta Know; Hand in My Pocket; Ironic

From "Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie" (1998):

Thank You; That I Would Be Good

From "Under Rug Swept" and "Feast On Scraps" (both 2002):

Hands Clean; So Unsexy; Simple Together; Sister Blister

From "So Called Chaos" (2004):

Eight Easy Steps; Everything

And those are not all - you also get "Princes Familiar" from her "MTV Unplugged" album; a cover of the Seal song "Crazy"; "Mercy" from "Prayer Circle"; "Still" from "Dogma; the haunting "Uninvited" from "City of Angels", and "Let's Do It" from "De-Lovely".

A must-have album for any fan of the often controversial, extremely talented, and sometimes foul-mouthed Canadian-American singer/songwriter/actress.

Amanda Richards, November 15, 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed But Ultimately Satisfying Retrospective, December 31, 2005
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
The career of Alanis Morissette has been long and winding, despite the fact that the average music fan cannot see past her 1995 breakthrough "Jagged Little Pill," the best-selling album ever by a female artist. Now, it is finally catalogued on "The Collection," a disc that spans the last decade of the Canadian singer/songwriter's music.

Those of the opinion that a hit package from Morissette would essentially be a repackaging of Jagged Little Pill have a point; she has released only a handful of hit singles since that juggernaut. Nevertheless, in paving the road that subsequently ensued she released records that were true to herself and did not cash in on her initial success as an "angry" young singer/songwriter. The result has yielded her a rabid fanbase and music that has affected many listeners in a positive way, which is hardly something to look down at.

Nevertheless, "The Collection" is a rather iffy collection that comes off sounding disjointed when it comes to summarizing the Morissette's last decade. Right off the bat, anyone who has even a minimal knowledge of her career will see that some notable singles are missing such as "All I Really Want," the swashbuckling "So Pure" from 1998's "Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie" and "Precious Illusions," a sharp radio-ready single that reached the Adult Top 40 in summer 2002 but ultimately went over everyone's heads. Also, two "personal favorites" she chose for the collection, 1999's unplugged performance of "Princes Familiar" and 2002's excruciatingly sad "Simple Together," sound completely out of their element on a retrospective. Perhaps a better idea would have been a "Hits" and "Misses" pair of releases a la fellow Canadian songstress Joni Mitchell. Still, her unforgettable staples such as "Thank U" and "Ironic" are dutifully included and have not lost their power with the passage of time.

Especially of interest are tracks making their debut on a proper Morissette record. One such is "Mercy," a selection from Jonathan Elias' 1999 project "The Prayer Cycle," an album of swirling, devotional vocals in multiple languages that featured recording artists such as James Taylor and Linda Ronstadt. Morissette sings in Hungarian (her mother's native tongue) on the track alongside the vocals of famed Qawwli artist Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, who passed away immediately before she was asked to join the project. The result is something as spine tingling as it as sophisticated. Included also is her zesty take on Cole Porter's "Let's Do It (Let's Fall In Love)" from the "De-Lovely" soundtrack. Morissette played a bit part in the 2004 film that told the life story of the late tunesmith.

There's also "Uninvited," a fan favorite that Morissette wrote for the soundtrack to 1998's "City of Angels" where she sings not only from the perspective of the main character but also her own in the face of overwhelming fame in "Jagged Little Pill"'s wake. An even stronger inclusion, however, is "Still," which Morissette wrote for 1999's "Dogma" soundtrack. In the film she played the small but crucial role of God, and thus chose to write the song from His perspective.

"I see you altering history/I see you abusing the land/I see you and your selective amnesia/And I love you still."

The biggest slice of ear candy on the disc, however, comes in the form of her take on "Crazy," Seal's classic 1991 hit. A song with a catchy groove and powerful lyrics, it is easy to see why it is one of Morissette's favorite songs.

"Crazy yellow people walking through my head/One of them's got a gun, shoots the other one/And yet together they were friends at school/But we're never gonna survive/Unless we get a little crazy."

The scarce but desirable limited edition of "The Collection" contains improved artwork and a loaded DVD with an hour-long documentary, photographs, overviews of past tour itineraries and three bonus performances including an unreleased track from the mid-90's entitled "King of Intimidation."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed But Ultimately Satisfying Retrospective, January 1, 2006
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
The career of Alanis Morissette has been long and winding, despite the fact that the average music fan cannot see past her 1995 breakthrough "Jagged Little Pill," the best-selling album ever by a female artist. Now, it is finally catalogued on "The Collection," a disc that spans the last decade of the Canadian singer/songwriter's music.

Those of the opinion that a hit package from Morissette would essentially be a repackaging of Jagged Little Pill have a point; she has released only a handful of hit singles since that juggernaut. Nevertheless, in paving the road that subsequently ensued she released records that were true to herself and did not cash in on her initial success as an "angry" young singer/songwriter. The result has yielded her a rabid fanbase and music that has affected many listeners in a positive way, which is hardly something to look down at.

Nevertheless, "The Collection" is a rather iffy collection that comes off sounding disjointed when it comes to summarizing the Morissette's last decade. Right off the bat, anyone who has even a minimal knowledge of her career will see that some notable singles are missing such as "All I Really Want," the swashbuckling "So Pure" from 1998's "Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie" and "Precious Illusions," a sharp radio-ready single that reached the Adult Top 40 in summer 2002 but ultimately went over everyone's heads. Also, two "personal favorites" she chose for the collection, 1999's unplugged performance of "Princes Familiar" and 2002's excruciatingly sad "Simple Together," sound completely out of their element on a retrospective. Perhaps a better idea would have been a "Hits" and "Misses" pair of releases a la fellow Canadian songstress Joni Mitchell. Still, her unforgettable staples such as "Thank U" and "Ironic" are dutifully included and have not lost their power with the passage of time.

Especially of interest are tracks making their debut on a proper Morissette record. One such is "Mercy," a selection from Jonathan Elias' 1999 project "The Prayer Cycle," an album of swirling, devotional vocals in multiple languages that featured recording artists such as James Taylor and Linda Ronstadt. Morissette sings in Hungarian (her mother's native tongue) on the track alongside the vocals of famed Qawwli artist Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, who passed away immediately before she was asked to join the project. The result is something as spine tingling as it as sophisticated. Included also is her zesty take on Cole Porter's "Let's Do It (Let's Fall In Love)" from the "De-Lovely" soundtrack. Morissette played a bit part in the 2004 film that told the life story of the late tunesmith.

There's also "Uninvited," a fan favorite that Morissette wrote for the soundtrack to 1998's "City of Angels" where she sings not only from the perspective of the main character but also her own in the face of overwhelming fame in "Jagged Little Pill"'s wake. An even stronger inclusion, however, is "Still," which Morissette wrote for 1999's "Dogma" soundtrack. In the film she played the small but crucial role of God, and thus chose to write the song from His perspective.

"I see you altering history/I see you abusing the land/I see you and your selective amnesia/And I love you still."

The biggest slice of ear candy on the disc, however, comes in the form of her take on "Crazy," Seal's classic 1991 hit. A song with a catchy groove and powerful lyrics, it is easy to see why it is one of Morissette's favorite songs.

"Crazy yellow people walking through my head/One of them's got a gun, shoots the other one/And yet together they were friends at school/But we're never gonna survive/Unless we get a little crazy."

The scarce but desirable limited edition of "The Collection" contains improved artwork and a loaded DVD with an hour-long documentary, photographs, overviews of past tour itineraries and three bonus performances including an unreleased track from the mid-90's entitled "King of Intimidation." A CD maxi single featuring 4 club mixes of "Crazy" is also available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Canadian Talent Compiled!, February 7, 2006
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
I've followed Alanis Morissette since her first 2 commercially released albums "Alanis" in '91 and "Now is the time" in '92. I've always loved her voice and expected a come-back since the "NITT" CD...but she took a 3-year break and came back with a new image, voice and talent with "Jagged Little Pill" in '95. Since then, she's pumped out song after song, singing & voicing her own opinions, musically. I'm proud to live in a Country where we can have fantastic talent such as Alanis Morissette. Some really talented artists come from Ottawa, Canada...and I'm mighty proud to play their music. Alanis Rocks!

"The Collection" brings out Alanis' best, although, there are some songs which could've been included. There will always be compilations which don't have all the goodies of an artist on it. Forget about what this CD doesn't have and think about its good points...which are countless. The photos are lovely and the tracklist is pleasing to the ears. For one reason, Alanis' selection of songs puts the listener on a musical roller-coaster of emotions, whether it's a dark song or something really fast & happy.

My all-time favorite track has to be "Uninvited". For one, because it wasn't released on an album. Two, I like it because of the drama & the way Alanis' voice goes so well with the arrangements...starting with the organ & piano. Really nice! "Crazy" is a fine song & excellent choice for Alanis. I didn't think she would choose this song for her compilation...perhaps because I never heard it until playing this CD. The only Alanis albums I've got are her first 3 + the unofficial biography & fully-illustrated book. "Crazy" is right up there with Seal's version...and I like Alanis' version better. More emotion is put into it.

The first time I've heard "Let's do it (let's fall in love)"...I heard it sung by Eartha Kitt. Strange mix (eartha kitt & alanis morissette...huh?) Well, a true music lover will try anything once. I can't say I hate Eartha Kitt, but her music isn't anything near Alanis'. Alanis has given new life to "Let's do it..." and it's refreshing to find such a track on "The Collection".

Thank you, for not removing the F word from "You Oughta Know". Without it, the song doesn't have much meaning...'cos everyone's left waiting for her to say it, right? All the other tracks are fine & fit the tracklist well.

Tracklist:

01- Thank You

02- Head over feet

03- 8 easy steps

04- Everything

05- Crazy

06- Ironic

07- Princess Familiar (MTV Unplugged)

08- You learn

09- Simple together

10- You Oughta know

11- That I would be good

12- Sister Blister

13- Hands clean

14- Mercy (from the prayer cycle)

15- Still (from the dogma soundtrack)

16- Uninvited (from the city of angels soundtrack)

17- Let's do it (let's fall in love ) - from the de-lovely soundtrack

18- Hand in my pocket

Album Info:

- FBI Anti-Piracy Warning

- alanis.com

- maverick.com/alanis

- Distributed by Warner Bros Records Inc.

- Maverick Recording Company

- Full Song Credits in booklet

- Full Lyrics for each of the 18 tracks in booklet

- Small personal note from Alanis on inner front of booklet

- Additional info (legal & production) inside booklet

- Disc is purple with song titles written in pale purple & black

- Standard Jewel case packaging

I love all the songs & the recording quality is amazing. Alanis didn't leave anything out when she released this fine collection of her personal best. Thanks Alanis! You rock!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, December 11, 2005
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
A perfect balance of song selection - glad to see some of her personal favorites and some of her biggest hits.

Her most underrated track has to be "Still" featuread on the soundtrack to the movie Dogma.

I wish we got a videography on the bonus disc and I'm anxious for new music. She's got a great voice, skill as a songwriter - she writes her truth and she hasn't sold out by trying to duplicate her staggering success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As one writer put it, "An Iffy Collection.", November 15, 2006
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
Even if you don't care much for Alanis Morissette's music, she is inarguably one of the most recognized singer/songwriters of our time. As a devoted fan for many years, I was pleased when I learned last year of a greatest hits package in the works. Instead, we have "The Collection," more of a retrospective, a reflection of sorts, an offering of half hits and half...whatever. One would automatically think that such a release would contain half of the songs from her milestone album Jagged Little Pill, and with good reason since the album produced six radio hits, so the omission of "All I Really Want" from this collection is almost unforgiveable. Morissette said in an interview that she hand-picked each song for this release, so I also question why she buried many of the included hits from JLP towards the end. Not that each song should be arranged in chronlogical order, but I think most fans would enjoy hearing many of the early hits first just for the sake of reminiscence. Also not included is "So Pure," another one of her best singles, while she only includes one other track from her second album after "Thank U," and then there's only ONE song from her third release, Under Rug Swept. So what happened to "Precious Illusions?" or "21 Things I Want in a Lover?" Other tracks that seem out of place are a cut she did for a "Prayer Circle" collaboration, in which Morissette sings in Hungarian, and an absolutely boring cover of a Cole Porter song she recorded a couple of years back titled "Let's Do It," but the majority of fans couldn't care less. If that isn't enough, included are "Sister Blister" and "Simple Together" from a 2002 release of B-sides and previously unreleased material, so why are they back in light of deleting more of her recognized material. So, again, maybe this "collection" wasn't meant to come across as a greatest hits compilation after all. This release does include two of Morissette's best tracks, "Uninvited,"(City of Angels)and "Still"(Dogma) but you can also own these songs by purchasing the soundtracks from which they originated. What you won't find elsewhere is the brilliant cover Alanis recorded of Seal's 1991 hit "Crazy," almost making it impossible on how to rate this CD with so many hits and misses all the way through, so I guess we'll go with not good, not bad, or perhaps fair to good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars she is the BEST, December 6, 2005
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
I love Alanis Morissette and I think all of her songs are great and this collection proves it. Although some of my favourites are not included such as Purgatorying and The couch, any fan or newcomer can enjoy this album. And limited edition has very rich extras.Documentary Tracing The Time Period From Jagged Little Pill through To The Present.

King Of Intimidation (Live Performance From 1996 Jagged Little Pill Tour)

Can't Not (Live Performance From 1996 Jagged Little Pill Tour)

Your House (Live Performance From 2005 Jagged Little Pill Acoustic Tour) Alanis Tour Book,

Alanis Tour Photo,

Alanis All Access Passes...Ironic (Video) enjoy :)))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jagged, graceful, celebratory music, May 13, 2006
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
A decade ago, Alanis went through an incredibly angry phase, and it shows up in her music to the extreme. I like to call it her bitch music phase. "The Collection" mixes her sorrowful, angry lyrics with more joyous, redemptive works such as my all-time favorite "Thank You" and "Simple Together". She explores the depths of human agony and haunts the listener with her brilliant phrasing. I've never heard a singer belt out the word "Dev-a-stat-ing..." with such conviction.

What makes her even more believable is her grasp of the female condition. "Would you love me if I wore ten more pounds" and life in "8 Easy Steps" thumb-noses mainstream media for its poor grasp on what women truly want: to love and be loved just as they are.

I'm grateful for Alanis' latest collection of inspiring musicality. To her I simply say, "Thank You".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tour of Morissette's Work: Greatest Hits, Movie Tunes, World Music & New Hit Single., April 7, 2006
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
"The Collection" is a greatest hits compilation for casual fans with a new single and several songs from movie soundtracks and other sources included to make this album indispensable to hard-core Alanis Morissette followers as well. Twelve songs from 5 studio albums, 1995-2004, make up the "greatest hits" aspect of the album. Not surprisingly, Morissette's hugely successful debut album "Jagged Little Pill" is heavily represented with 5 songs: "Head Over Feet", "Ironic", "You Learn", "You Oughta Know", and "Hand in My Pocket". "You Oughta Know" is, thankfully, the hard-hitting studio version, not the acoustic version that gets so much radio airplay.

The contributions from motion picture soundtracks are: From "Dogma", the longest track on the album, "Still", which is, well, droning. From "City of Angels", the intense "Uninvited". From the 2004 biopic of Cole Porter "De-Lovely" is Morissette's rendition of Porter's "Let's Do It (Let's Fall in Love)", perhaps the most interesting musical performance in that movie. Morissette really gives Porter's Jazz Age showtune new life. "Mercy" is included from among Alanis Morissette's contributions to the 1999 multi-lingual album "The Prayer Cycle", written by Jonathan Elias. Morissette sings in Hungarian, accompanied by Salif Keita in Mali and The English Chamber Chorus in Swahili. The new release on "The Collection" is, of course, the hit remake of "Crazy", previously popularized by Seal. Morissette has a stronger voice than Seal, and although I like both versions, I think this one surpasses the original. It's a great single. "Princes Familiar" is from 1999's "MTV Unplugged".

Eighteen tracks in all for 1 hour and 12 minutes of music. There's something here for everyone. Casual fans will be more than pleased with the selection. Lyrics are included in the CD cover insert (fold-out). Video commentaries for each song by Alanis Morissette are available on her web site, in the section dedicated to "The Collection".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good artists not very good track listing, November 15, 2005
This review is from: Collection (Audio CD)
I am a huge Alanis fan from Turkey and I ordered the limited edition so I will receive "the collection" on december. But as I know all of her songs I can write a goosd review. First I like to start with the cover. It is very well designed. There is a lack of new stuff (mercy and crazy are not enough. there should be at least 2 previously unreleased songs). And I think track listing is not well organised. The songs chosen from "Jagged Little Pill" are okay but choices from the other albums are just not good enough to be in ther collection. I would choos "a man" "fear of bliss" "excuses" and "no pressure over cappucino" instead of "simple together", "so unsexy" and "sister blister". I would give 5 stars to everything that Alanis made but I think buying the limited edition would be a better choice since you get a DVD and a 16-page-booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Collection (Standard Edition)
Buy MP3 Album$11.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.