& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Collector's Choice has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by happycustomers
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Listed as 'very good' because of holepunch on barcode. CD looks and plays like new. Overall, a great item! Eligible for FREE Super Saving Shipping! Fast Amazon shipping plus a hassle free return policy mean your satisfaction is guaranteed!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Collector's Choice
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Collector's Choice Import

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, August 10, 1998
"Please retry"
$14.64 $1.47
CD-R Note: This product is manufactured on demand when ordered from Amazon.com. [Learn more]


$16.39 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Amazon's Professor Longhair Store


Image of album by Professor Longhair


Image of Professor Longhair


New Orleans is said to be a city where having a party has been elevated from a casual pastime to a way of life. Nobody understood this better than Professor Longhair, one of the pioneers of New Orleans rhythm & blues. His influence can be heard in Fats Domino, Allen Toussaint and Dr. John, among many others. Known for his unique mix of blues, jazz, calypso, ragtime, and zydeco, ... Read more in Amazon's Professor Longhair Store

Visit Amazon's Professor Longhair Store
for 69 albums, photos, and 2 full streaming songs.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (August 10, 1998)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Rounder / Umgd
  • ASIN: B0000002XZ
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #247,846 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Go To The Mardi Gras
2. Every Day, Every NIght
3. If I Only Knew
4. Cuttin' Out
5. Big Chief
6. Big Chief (Alternate Take)
7. Everyone's Blowing
8. Everyone's Blowing (Alternate Take)
9. I Believe I'm Gonna Leave
10. A Whole Lot Of Twisting
11. Carnival Time - Al Johnson
12. Don't Mess With My Man - Irma Thomas
13. You Talk Too Much - Joe Jones
14. I Don't Talk Too Much - Martha Carter
15. Double-Eyed Whammy - Tommy Ridgely
16. Check Mr. Popeye - Eddie Bo
17. Mama Don't Allow - Bobby Mitchell
18. Genevieve - Lenny Capello
19. Feelin' Right On A Saturday Night - The Velvetiers

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Gil Kedem (gil@yoga.com) on September 8, 1998
Format: Audio CD
This CD is great for the student of piano blues because it includes two versions of several of the songs (like Big Chief), so you can see some of Longhair's stylistic variations. It also has songs of other bands from that time, so you can see how they influenced one another. 'Fes is the king of New Orleans piano blues, with his own unique calypso style, as shown in this CD.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?