Robin non-member


Includes FREE MP3
version
of this album.
or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
RYU'SHOP Add to Cart
$7.38  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Doremi Music USA Add to Cart
$7.38  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
College Dropout
 
See larger image and other views
 

College Dropout [Explicit Lyrics]

Kanye WestAudio CD
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (970 customer reviews)

Price: $7.39 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Provided by Amazon Digital Services, Inc. Terms and Conditions. Does not apply to gift orders.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, Aug. 21? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Complete your purchase to save the MP3 version to your music library.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 21 Songs, 2004 $5.00  
Audio CD, Explicit Lyrics, 2004 $7.39  
Vinyl, Explicit Lyrics, 2004 $12.99  

Amazon's Kanye West Store

Music

Image of album by Kanye West

Photos

Image of Kanye West
Visit Amazon's Kanye West Store
for 55 albums, 10 photos, discussions, and more.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Includes FREE MP3 version of this album Here's how (restrictions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

College Dropout + Late Registration [Vinyl] + Graduation
Price for all three: $27.77

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together



Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 10, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Explicit Lyrics
  • Label: Roc-a-Fella
  • ASIN: B0001AP12G
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (970 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,718 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Intro
2. We Don't Care
3. Graduation Day
4. All Falls Down
5. I'll Fly Away
6. Spaceship
7. Jesus Walks
8. Never Let Me Down
9. Get Em High
10. Workout Plan
11. The New Workout Plan
12. Slow Jamz
13. Breathe In Breathe Out
14. School Spirit Skit 1
15. School Spirit Skit 2
16. School Spirit Skit 2
17. Lil Jimmy Skit
18. Two Words
19. Through The Wire
20. Family Business

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

This debut from the most sought-after hip-hop producer not named Pharrell delivers the unthinkable: West magically sledgehammers home his opinions on taboo topics over beats that are equally daring. The envelope-ripping beats shouldn't come as a surprise given that he's supplied the soundscapes to monster singles by everyone from Alicia Keys ("You Don't Know My Name") to Talib Kweli ("Get By"). What is freakish is that in West's world, rhymes about strippers, God, college life, and guns can co-exist tidily and not undermine each other. On "Breathe In Breathe Out" he raps "I gotta apologize to Mos and Kweli/is it cool to rap about gold if I told the world I copped it from Ghana and Mali"--tongue firmly planted in cheek. On the catchy "Through the Wire," fuelled by a Chaka Khan hook, he spits some impeccable rhymes despite his jaw being wired shut after a near-fatal car accident. Maybe it was this brush with mortality that kicked his lyrics into high gear on "All Falls Down." The skits on here are just as potent, one poking fun at the overeducated underclass that makes a small fraction of the loot he does. With jaw-dropping cameos from Jay-Z, Common, Mos Def, and the Harlem Boys Choir plus the feel-good club tune of the year, "Slow Jamz" featuring Twista, College Dropout is as explosive, contradictory, and complex as rap music gets. --Dalton Higgins

Product Description


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
153 of 168 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Tragedy to Triumph" (4.5 Stars) March 1, 2004
Format:Audio CD
.
(Gasp!)
An artist with actual talent and substance... from Rocafella Records?!!
Yes, I find it hard to accept too, but after listening to Kanye West's long over-due debut album, "The College Dropout", my doubtful assumptions have been put to a halt... at least in this situation. Kanye West, producer turned rapper, is perhaps one of the "better" new artists out right now. Why? It's because he's different. As a matter of fact, "innovative" would be a better word to describe the fresh sounding material Kanye brings to the hip-hop scene. His perfected skill in "sampling" is beyond exceptional, ranging from modern contemporary sounding hip-hop to old school R&B soul. Unlike other artists, like his label mates, The Diplomats, who just speed up any random song that is catchy, Kanye, builds on the sampled track, emphasizing and strengthening them.
One of the many exceptional tracks on this album is "Slow Jamz". Although, if I were to be extremely picky, I would point out the fact that a collaboration between Kanye, Twista, and Jamie Foxx seems to be... abnormal & weird. Nonetheless, the song is addictive and samples Luther Vandross' "A House Is Not a Home". Another good track is "Spaceship" which samples the late Marvin Gaye's "Distant lover." It's a song about the hardships throughout life and the yearning of freedom. "Through The Wire" samples Chaka Khan's "Through the Fire", and is mainly about life after Kanye's near-fatal car accident. "Jesus Walks" & "Two Words" have addictive beats, while the warmth in "Family Business" will most likely put a smile on your face. "Last Call" provides a very introspective perspective on how Kanye West got signed to the label.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
140 of 162 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Words, Kanye West, Hot S*** March 22, 2004
Format:Audio CD
When I first saw the name Kanye West it was when I realized that he was the one that produced Beanie Sigel's "The Truth", which was a song from Beanie Sigel's solo CD. I would see Kanye West's name once again on Jay Z's "Dynasty: Roc La Familia" CD. Kanye produced a nice collaboration with Jay Z, Scarface and Beanie Sigel called "This Can't Be Life". He used an old Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes song and all three rappers had nice verses on the song. Other well known Kanye produced beats are also "Get By" by Talib Kweli, "Takeover" by Jay Z and "Guess Who's Back" which is another collaboration with Jay Z, Scarface and Beanie Sigel. The first time I heard Kanye West rap was on "Champions" featuring Young Chris, Beanie Sigel, Cam'ron & Twista from the Paid In Full soundtrack. I wasn't sure if Kanye would release a CD but by the sounds of his debut CD, we definitely have a classic on our hands.
His first single, "Through The Wire" sampled the old Chaka Khan slow jam, "Through The Fire". Kanye detailed the near fatal car accident that he was in and he basically did the whole rap, "through the wire". "Slow Jamz" is an interesting collaboration between Kanye, Twista and Jamie Foxx. Twista clearly steals the show but Kanye produces the track and he also has a nice verse on the song as well. His current single, "All Falls Down" samples a song from Lauryn Hill's MTV Unplugged CD. Lauryn wouldn't clear her vocals on the song so Kanye had Syleena Johnson sing the chorus. Kanye has a clever way of rapping. He likes to use metaphors, sometimes humorous, and you can tell that he is intelligent by the words that he says in some of his verses.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destined to become a True Classic February 25, 2004
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD
When I first listened to the album I didnt recognize the true talent that Kanye West had. Speakerboxxx/Love Below was a great vacation from normal hip hop but Kanye West has managed to help to bring Hip Hop back into the music scene. His gift with old tracks and samples helps him to create instant hits. With perhaps maybe too many skits (about 4) in the album, the flow is slowed down (as we can instantly see that Kanye West is not a lover of College.
Rating of Songs:
Intro- Little Scene with Cedric the Entertainer, FUNNY, great start
We Don't Dare- Addictive Beat, nice background vocals. Solid Start tothe album 4/5 stars
All Falls Down- Destined to be a radio hit, great background vocals 5/5
I'll Fly Away- Short song with gospel influences 3/5
Jesus Walks- Good track, thought provoking lyrics 4/5
Never Let me Down- Jay-Z comes out to help his superstar producer, result is solid hit also 5/5
Get em High - One of the less themed songs of the album; catchy though 4/5
Workout Plan- EXTREMELY FUNNY! Great intro to "The New Workout Plan" 5/5
School Spirit- An ok track. Not one of my favorites but still enjoyable 3.5/5
The New Workout Plan- I HOPE he makes this one a video. Destined to be remembered 5/5
Spaceship- The BEST SONG ON THE ALBUM. My favorite with smooth beats, interesting lyrics and just extremely done well 10/5!!!!
Family Business- A softer side of Kanye 4/5
Definitely cop this CD, never a waste of money
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The College Dropout February 12, 2004
Format:Audio CD
Kanye West's debut album is, in one word, refreshing. In a day and age where Nick Cannon and 50 Cent rule the radiowaves, Kanye West provides a smart, witty and touching album that enlightens the mind and soothes the soul.
Being a member of the Roc-a-fella camp, one would think that Kanye would be quick to jump aboard the bling band-wagon. While he devotes a song or two to his love of money, he also offers insight into other matters in his life (school, family, God, and his near-fatal car crash experience). On 'Last Call' (the album's twelve minute finale), Kanye talks to his audience, as opposed to MC'ing. Over a beautiful saxophone sample, Kanye describes his slow rise to fame, and the prices he paid to get there.
The album is intresting, with Kanye sampling Marvin Gaye, Aretha Franklin and Luther Vandross to name a few. His beats have an old-school feel to them, re-touched with a new school flavour. Kanye's MC'ing skills are not as dynamic as his production, but are strong nonetheless. His flow proves that he can ride a beat with words, and his lyrics show how introspective the man can be. On 'Jesus Walks', Kanye rhymes "I ain't here to argue about his facial features/or here to create atheists into believers/I'm just tryin' to say the way school needs teachers/the way Kathie-Lee needed Regis/that's the way I need Jesus".
Like all modern records, this album is not without a few flaws. There are an abundance of skits on the album, which leaves the listener craving for more Kanye. While they are thought-provoking and funny, they simply cannot compare to the quality of his music. The album starts out strong, but he stumbles on 'The New Workout Plan' and 'Breathe In, Breathe Out' featuring Ludacris. He recovers nicely.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
1.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for the music, 1 Star for the quality of the vinyl LP. DO NOT...
Please understand that I do love this album, I do love listening to Kanye West's music, I respect him as an artist, and I really wanted to enjoy listening to this particular record... Read more
Published 5 days ago by Spencer
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic.
Classic Kanye! College Dropout and Graduation are my favorite albums by Kanye!
Published 24 days ago by Ellen Todd
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Hell yea
Published 1 month ago by vietbudda27
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
An originial.
Published 1 month ago by Patrick
5.0 out of 5 stars Kanye kills it.
I love this record. It's a diverse rap album, showcasing Kanye's abilities as such, as well as his acclaimed beat craftsmanship. Mad skills. No fear.
Published 1 month ago by Robert W. Biberstine II
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
The album itself is great, the music is not the problem.

The pressing of this vinyl was not adequate. The record skips and does not play correctly. Read more
Published 2 months ago by Emily Hennessy
1.0 out of 5 stars CD Skips
The other 2 cds I bought were great, but this one skips constantly no matter where I try to play it. Totally disappointed.
Published 2 months ago by Jen
1.0 out of 5 stars Scratched
I received my vinyl in the mail after about two weeks...took so long it missed my boyfriend's graduation. Then he told me he played it and both records were scratched. Read more
Published 2 months ago by Kaitlin
5.0 out of 5 stars Love my Kanye
His first album and one of his best. I bought this in order to keep a collection of his music and I'm glad I did. CDs came very quickly and are in perfect shape
Published 2 months ago by TatMan15
4.0 out of 5 stars Great lyricist
Timing on recieving the disc could have been more eariler than it was but thank you though extactly appriciated for the album
Published 4 months ago by Casey
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

Topic From this Discussion
THis guy Be the first to reply
Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category


Want to discover more products? You may find many from best college for business shopping list.