Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Just what I wanted and expected
Published 1 month ago by Robert J. Miller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars You could do better
This book is okay...I've seen better physics notes written by my professors. The book does a satisfactory job bringing out basic concepts, but I wouldn't take those words beyond basic college physics courses.
Published 17 months ago by Arthur Lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, July 4, 2014
By 
Robert J. Miller (new smyrna beach, florida United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: College Physics Vol. 2 (Hardcover)
Just what I wanted and expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice for the price..., June 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Considering it is over 140 dollars used at the BYU bookstore, saving over 110 dollars on this purchase was nice. It had marking on it and such but it was in really good condition in terms of the cover and pages. It is worth paying 27 dollars for a book in comparison to paying 140+ for the same book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I have no idea why my university chose this book., May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This textbook was completely useless and I am a student who does actually read the textbook. I use it quite extensively for studying. (I graduated summa cum laude and I'm not saying that to brag. I'm just saying it so you know I wasn't a lazy student who just got mad about studying a textbook.) This book was the required book for my Physics 2 class. I have never read a textbook that did such a poor job of explaining things and having awful examples. In fact, I'd say it was the worst textbook I have ever had for any class. Out of all the questions on homework or exams, it, maybe,helped with 2 of them. It doesn't go into anything advanced at all. I utilized google and youtube videos for physics studying. They provided much better examples and explanations of concepts for understanding. I suggest you do the same, if this is the book you are required to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very poorly demonstrated example problems., May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Throughout this book, the chapter examples that are supposed to check comprehension and solidify concepts merely result in increased confusion. Often the authors utilize equations not previously mentioned to solve these problems, and skip several steps in that solution, forcing any students seeking comprehension to spend excess time trying to determine how the authors found the equations necessary for simple solutions. I have rarely been so frustrated with a text, and if I did not have access to lectures and examples on youtube, I am sure my grade would make it appear as if I am at fault for not grasping the convoluted presentations of equations in this book. Simply put, there are far betters texts out there with chapter examples that are actually relevant to the content presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not much help, March 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a weak text, limited worked examples to demonstrate the material being taught. Had to get another text to supplement this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a physics book....woohoo, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a physics book...decent explanations of concepts and better than most of the others I've used.

I purchased mine used and as always Amazon maintains the highest standards for their vendors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to learn basic Physics and beyond., August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Do not need to have a background in calculus to read the book. You need some basic trigonometric functions and some geometry.
It is an excellent source for the serious student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You could do better, March 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is okay...I've seen better physics notes written by my professors. The book does a satisfactory job bringing out basic concepts, but I wouldn't take those words beyond basic college physics courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I needed, February 25, 2013
By 
elliot ledbetter (BAKERSFIELD, CALIFORNIA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Shipped quick. Just what I needed. I find these books helpful and the solutions can be found on chegg which is even more helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Crappy book, March 5, 2012
This review is from: College Physics Vol. 2 (Hardcover)
Trying to read this book to understand the physics concepts was mite frustrating and confusing then any other text books I've used in my 150+ credits of college classes. I would not suggest this book for anyone who wants to understand physics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

College Physics Vol. 2
College Physics Vol. 2 by Raymond A. Serway (Hardcover - February 20, 2008)
Used & New from: $19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.