Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great technical advice
If you are looking for a technical guide on how to mix skin colours for all the different races of people (well most anyway) then this is the book for you. It gives you all the information you need (which paint and how much)to mix just about every shade of flesh, covering both cool and warm versions, it covers the full tonal range for each mix and shadow effects. In...
Published on September 20, 2007 by abesmith

versus
29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SKIN TONE RECIPES
RECIPES FOR SKIN TONES - Comprehensive guide to skin tones,
A book that needs to be studied, so time needs to be taken in using the suggestions offered.
It offers possibilities for experiments,with skin tones.
It can be confusing in applying the colours because of all the choices.
Time needs to be taken in sitting down
and applying the...
Published on November 23, 2009 by Denise Tracey


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great technical advice, September 20, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Color Mixing Recipes for Portraits: More than 500 Color Combinations for Skin, Eyes, Lips & Hair (Spiral-bound)
If you are looking for a technical guide on how to mix skin colours for all the different races of people (well most anyway) then this is the book for you. It gives you all the information you need (which paint and how much)to mix just about every shade of flesh, covering both cool and warm versions, it covers the full tonal range for each mix and shadow effects. In summery it is the most comprehensive flesh colour mixing book I have come across yet and I have got most of the more popular books on this subject. At this price it is a bargin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Handy book" go for it!, March 28, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Color Mixing Recipes for Portraits: More than 500 Color Combinations for Skin, Eyes, Lips & Hair (Spiral-bound)
This book is cool. Flip the hard pages (wipeable), and you have all ethnic colors at your fingertips. Of course you will need to adjust, but it is full of basic eye, nose, lips etc. colors and carts. Im glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mixing Colour, May 2, 2008
This review is from: Color Mixing Recipes for Portraits: More than 500 Color Combinations for Skin, Eyes, Lips & Hair (Spiral-bound)
This is great value for a novice that needs help to mix skin colours. The text is kept to a minimum and the charts clear to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you paint people, buy this book!, December 12, 2008
This review is from: Color Mixing Recipes for Portraits: More than 500 Color Combinations for Skin, Eyes, Lips & Hair (Spiral-bound)
This book has saved me over and over. I have collected many color books for my painting. The simplicity and accuracy of this book make in "Number One" in my book! If you need help with skin tone, eye color, hair color, mixing ratios, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portrait painter? - than this is the book for you!, May 12, 2009
By 
This review is from: Color Mixing Recipes for Portraits: More than 500 Color Combinations for Skin, Eyes, Lips & Hair (Spiral-bound)
Ever had trouble with getting the right colours for that portrait? Than this is the book for you. Explains clearly the basis of each recipe, and how to alter it to provide highlights and shadows. Also contains a section on eye-colour and hair colouring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good guide to colour mixing, November 2, 2008
This review is from: Color Mixing Recipes for Portraits: More than 500 Color Combinations for Skin, Eyes, Lips & Hair (Spiral-bound)
This is a neat little book which will help any portrait painter. I found the recipes particularly easy to follow and I think the book is good value for money. [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book, October 5, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Color Mixing Recipes for Portraits: More than 500 Color Combinations for Skin, Eyes, Lips & Hair (Spiral-bound)
I love this book. It has become my figure painting bible. It gives you the recipes (like a cook book) of the proper amounts of each color to achieve all different skin tones and hair! It's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SKIN TONE RECIPES, November 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Color Mixing Recipes for Portraits: More than 500 Color Combinations for Skin, Eyes, Lips & Hair (Spiral-bound)
RECIPES FOR SKIN TONES - Comprehensive guide to skin tones,
A book that needs to be studied, so time needs to be taken in using the suggestions offered.
It offers possibilities for experiments,with skin tones.
It can be confusing in applying the colours because of all the choices.
Time needs to be taken in sitting down
and applying the techniques of skin tone.
It is not a beginners book for quick results.
The possibilities are so numerous that it can be confusing in the long run
therefore one has to have some experience before hand in doing portraits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Color Clues for Portrait Painting, December 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Color Mixing Recipes for Portraits: More than 500 Color Combinations for Skin, Eyes, Lips & Hair (Spiral-bound)
I am an art instructor and I use this book extensively to assist my students in mixing skin colors. I especially like the additional explainations of warm and cool shadow colors which occur on the face. It also has a nicely organized collection of various ethnic color catagories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for Scale Modelling, December 23, 2010
By 
Dr. Ken "PixPixPix" (Nashville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Color Mixing Recipes for Portraits: More than 500 Color Combinations for Skin, Eyes, Lips & Hair (Spiral-bound)
I bought this book to paint new skin tones on scale model figures, 1/8 to 1/87 scale. I found the book very useful in reproducing skin colors and hair colors in all human races. I had to purchase a few new oil colors, but as very little is used for each figure they will last many years. The book recommends squeezing oil paints along a graph (provided) to measure the amount of each, but for my purposes spooning up small amounts using a flat toothpick is less wasteful. The resulting skin tones are much more realistic then I could have created "by eye". The book also offers mixing formulas for acrylic paints but I have not tried these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Color Mixing Recipes for Portraits: More than 500 Color Combinations for Skin, Eyes, Lips & Hair
$9.95 $8.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.