Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
35
Price:$5.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 6, 2012
I haven't watched Playing God, but I did watch, The Color of Night. I owned the previous Directors Cut, and it appears to have the same content. This is the extended version. A previous reviewer stated that on cable showings, there is more to be seen. Since, I've never seen it on cable, I cannot comment on that, but if you are looking for the previously released Director's Cut, it's here. The video content is improved over the DVD. It's a pretty clean print and I did not find anything wrong with the video. It's not as pristine as a newer release, it looks more like an upconverted DVD, but I'm sure it's the best it's ever looked. Audio was average...nothing to write home about.

For the price you really can't go wrong. If you are on the fence, I'd say go ahead and buy.
22 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
Color of Night: A very intriguing tale involving multiple personalities, a stressed out therapist, an interesting group of patients, murder and great sexual scenes. This was one of my favorite movies when it came out, and now, in blu ray, it is even better.

Playing God: A twisted tale of arrogance gone wrong. A doctor, hooked on himself and drugs, falls low enough to get involved with some real bad characters. A good movie all in all.

This double feature rocks!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2015
After reading the positive reviews by others, my initial reaction was are they watching the same movie? Color of Night has its pluses but cannot recommend it unless you are seeking gratuitous graphic sex and violence. The only reason I give it two stars is because the cast and production are quite good. Even with that going for it, I will never view this movie again. A very predictable script and storyline that lacks any plausibility makes this a waste of time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2014
It's not quite in the category "It's so bad It's good" but it's close. But I happen to enjoy those movies. I also like Scott Bakula and Bruce Willis, so this was a no-brainer. As for Playing God, I haven't seen it since 1999?!? when it came out on VHS, but I remember liking it. Color of night is the US Directors Cut and stars Bruce Willis and Jane March in a Psychological thriller. If you are squeamish about nudity, then you should probably look for something else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2012
Video quality of Color of Night is poor. It is very grainy, which is very odd, and probably is the result of misoperation of the equipment used to convert from film to digital format. Additionally, the scene with Jane March and Bruce Willis in the pool is tamer than either of the two different versions that I've seen on cable. Although, it is the same as the Director's Cut that was released on regular DVD, and the quality is much, much better, owing mainly to the fact that that DVD release was so poorly done as to be barely watchable.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
Hey, for $6.99 or less, what can you lose? Well, $6.99 to start with and four hours of your time, but honestly it is worth $6.99 or less, nothing more. Both movies are loaded on one side of one disc.

The Color of Night is a sexy and twist-filled noir-like who-done-it that will keep you watching. The acting is fair at best, with the exception of Jane March who steps it up a notch. The video transfer varies noticeably during the film but never gets unwatchable, just grainy at times like you see in the first scenes. For most of the film though the transfer is sharp digital that never quite rises to Blu-ray perfection. I enjoy the movie though and will probably watch it once a year or so.

Playing God? Wow, what can I say. On the positive side the transfer is significantly better than Color of Night. Unfortunately the movie is so bad it is actually fun to watch......once. The plot kind of works, but the acting, action, scene detail, and soundtrack are.....well.... laughable. After your first viewing it is an ideal candidate for a "Bad Flick" party night with friends, booze, and lots of popcorn snacks you can throw at the screen. That's when it will next appear on my big screen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2014
I bought this Blu-Ray for Color of Night and thus, will only speak of the quality of this film. I remember the buzz about the film's nudity and can assure anyone who is looking for this movie to catch a glimpse of Bruce Willis' penis that the scene is intact as I remember it from theatrical and home video releases in the early-to-mid 1990s. Now that I have that out of my system, I can honestly say that the film still holds up as an enjoyable (although predictable) thriller. I had no desire to watch Playing God but for less than $5.00 I was able to get an enjoyable movie that brought back some old memories in only two days, thanks to this title's availability through Prime. :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2013
Old plot with an attempt at a new twist on the end. What I did like was the chemistry between the Jane March character and Bruce Willis character. The freedom they exhibited sexually would be something I wish I could duplicate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2012
Color of Night
An "erotic thriller" that lives up to the adjective but not the noun. After his colleague is murdered, psychologist Bill Capa (played by Bruce Willis) helms his deceased colleague's therapy group in order to help the police find the culprit. However, when Rose (Jane March) mysteriously enters the picture, things get more convoluted. Though not as suspenseful as one would hope, the movie moves along briskly despite its long run time (139 min), thanks to good acting, some good car chases, and Jane March, who's red-hot sexy here, both in and out of her clothes.

The Blu-ray picture is on the soft side: colors are a bit muted and grain is present throughout (the latter is not necessarily a drawback: many viewers appreciate the look of natural film grain). There are also streaks and specks, inherent in the film source, but the image is generally clear and there are no distracting artifacts. Audio is English DTS-HD MA 2.0, which is clean but unexceptional.

Playing God
Entertaining action flick involving a pill-popping former surgeon (played by David Duchovny) who gets entangled in organized crime by performing rough-and-ready surgery on wounded mobsters and who gets involved with the ringleader's girlfriend (Angelina Jolie). There are well-choreographed car chases, violence in abundance, and Angelina Jolie, who looks sublime.

The Blu-ray picture is excellent. Contrast is high, colors are vivid and natural, and detail is razor-sharp. The English DTS-HD MA 2.0 is clear but unremarkable.

Conclusion
This title is a great bargain. Although there are no extras (only trailers of the films in question), you're getting two decent movies on one disc in high def, definite upgrades from the DVDs, at a price of $5 or $6. It's nice to see that Mill Creek Entertainment is releasing more double features at this price point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
I consider Color of Night a very interesting drama mystery with a considerable amount of sexual situations. I remember when it was released that Bruce Willis strongly fought to keep male frontal nudity from being cut from the movie. He won.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse