Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise and Fairly Comprehensive, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colored Pencil Explorations: How to mix media for creative results (Paperback)
This is a well written book on Colored pencils combined with almost any medium know to man. It gives interesting information on several different subjects, from how colored pencils are made to a gallery of artists' works. This book covers the basics about colored pencils and their applications and techniques. It then moves on to the various other mediums including watercolor, pastel, acrylic, ink, airbrush, and various surfaces to use with colored pencils. I like the mini demonstrations, as they show the techniques in an easy to understand fashion, with such a wide range of effects from surrealistic to photo-realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expand your colored pencil repetoire, September 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colored Pencil Explorations: How to mix media for creative results (Paperback)
Push your colored pencil creativity to include other mediums PLUS colored pencil. Janie offers clear instructions and a series of line drawings to get you practicing your new techniques. Written as if you were sitting in one of her classrooms and getting that individual assist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD IDEAS FOR COLORED PENCIL ARTISTS, July 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colored Pencil Explorations: How to mix media for creative results (Paperback)
This book has many sections in it that would be interesting and useful for colored pencil artists. It gives you line drawings with which you can practice, demonstration on how to use your colored pencil with polymer clay, clayboard, plastic vellum, velour paper, textured paper, graphite, Brulage and those are just the Creative Techniques and Surfaces. There's a Gallery, Creative Effects and How To; also Colored Pencil with Watermedia and Acrylics, Colored Pencil and Pastels and an Introduction to Colored Pencil. I can't wait to sit down and see all I can do with my colored pencil art. It looks like a "must-have book" and has a lot of information. It's not just a pencil-thin book with a little information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for any artist lever, May 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colored Pencil Explorations: How to mix media for creative results (Paperback)
I originally got this book from the library and checked it out several times. I finally checked with Amazon and ordered it. It is very informative. I especially like the section on the different brands of pencils because I have bought some that had poor quality. Thanks Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, March 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colored Pencil Explorations: How to mix media for creative results (Paperback)
Excellent book! I go to it constantly for inspiration and instruction. Again, Janie Gildow does a great job. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, February 1, 2014
By 
This review is from: Colored Pencil Explorations: How to mix media for creative results (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book. It offers very well thought out helpful hints for artists at every stage of development.

I especially liked the guest artists who gave tutorials for their unique style.

I read this book very very slowly... and I think this is the way to do it. Then you won't be overwhelmed by all
the possibilities that are illustrated in this book. I plan to start from the beginning AGAIN... in another month.
(I read Sueellen Ross' book ,Radiant Realism, 3 times that way.) The content should percolate in your mind for the future.
Don't rush it .... these things take some time. I am a very experienced artist, and I found a slow, methodical
approach to be the most useful.

This book is full of wonderful possibilities... savor it and go back to it more than once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great technical info!, October 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colored Pencil Explorations: How to mix media for creative results (Paperback)
It's chock full of inspirational art by different artists. I was hoping to find a good bit of technical information which the book delivers. Combining colored pencil with other media is a real spark to creativity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Color Pencil Books, February 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colored Pencil Explorations: How to mix media for creative results (Paperback)
The books are very helpful and have a lot of instruction in them that has helped with my color pencil drawings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colored Pencil Explorations: How to mix media for creative results (Paperback)
Janie Gildow's book is the must have IF you want to add other media to your colored pencils, this is the book for you. It is totally informative and fun. Janie's instructions are clear, definitive with lots of photographic examples for reference. I'm using this book as a tutorial to try everything and see which media I enjoy the most to add to my colored pencils drawings. A great addition to my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for colored pencil technique for the intermeddiate artist, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colored Pencil Explorations: How to mix media for creative results (Paperback)
This is a great book as it covers techniques from different artists and I found every page had something for me to learn. I really liked the variety within the techniques and helped me a lot with coloured pencil work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Colored Pencil Explorations: How to mix media for creative results
Colored Pencil Explorations: How to mix media for creative results by Janie Gildow (Paperback - July 29, 2012)
$26.99 $20.02
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.