Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly beautiful book!
This is a book for your coffee table! It of course covers the history of Colt firearms, and was written by (who else?) the historical consultant to the Colt Firearms Division.

Wilson is also a well-known collector, free-lance consultant and well-known author in the firearms field. This is his twentieth book, and perhaps his best.

The book is...
Published on June 7, 2000 by Joseph H Pierre

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprised at the profusive praise
I bought this book sight unseen based on my interest in the subject matter and from seeing other offerings of RL Wilson and liking them. First off, this book hasn't been updated since it was produced in the late 80s. Lots has changed since that time. First off, I need to claim my biases. When it comes to Colt I am primarily interested in Single Action Armies, 1911s,...
Published on June 30, 2006 by Richard Emery


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly beautiful book!, June 7, 2000
This review is from: Colt : An American Legend (Hardcover)
This is a book for your coffee table! It of course covers the history of Colt firearms, and was written by (who else?) the historical consultant to the Colt Firearms Division.

Wilson is also a well-known collector, free-lance consultant and well-known author in the firearms field. This is his twentieth book, and perhaps his best.

The book is well-written, of course, and the epitome of accuracy--deriving its facts and figures directly from the horse's mouth, so to speak--but its greatest value is the exquisite color photography with which it is filled.

There are 406 gorgeous eight and a half inch by eleven inch (landscape) pages, almost all of them containing color photographs of great beauty, depicting historical firearms directly from Colt's own collection, as well as from other sources.

If you are a firearm aficionado, or a Colt collector, or just a history buff who appreciates the role Colt firearms have played in American history, this is the book for you.

It is one of my most prized books.

Joseph Pierre,
Author of THE ROAD TO DAMASCUS: Our Journey Through Eternity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars View the mountaintop of gun collecting..., September 21, 2004
By 
Terry Seale "old_fox" (alexandria, va United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Colt : An American Legend (Hardcover)
Look, you can't get Wilson's seminal, collectible The Book of Colt Firearms because it is out of print, costs $1000 if you can find one, and your wife would kill you.

Get this book. This is as close as you can get and is widely available. I use it all the time to look up the date of manufacture of any Colt's I might want to buy. The illustrations are quite outstanding.

If you don't know, Mr. Wilson is the most famous Colt expert, who must be incredibly rich to have built his collection. Most of the items shown are from Wilson's own collection, worth millions. He doesn't need the money from this book. It is a labor of love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still available in new condition elsewhere, December 5, 2003
By 
Mark Guzowski (Idaho Falls, Idaho USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Colt : An American Legend (Hardcover)
before buying used, consider the author's own web site & other major bookstores - the book is available new for a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprised at the profusive praise, June 30, 2006
By 
Richard Emery (Tulsa OK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Colt : An American Legend (Hardcover)
I bought this book sight unseen based on my interest in the subject matter and from seeing other offerings of RL Wilson and liking them. First off, this book hasn't been updated since it was produced in the late 80s. Lots has changed since that time. First off, I need to claim my biases. When it comes to Colt I am primarily interested in Single Action Armies, 1911s, and the Python/Diamonbacks. That said I couldn't believe how little photography was devoted to the 1911. By far the most numerous of Colts ever made due to WWI and II production. There were very few photos of standard production 1911s and those that were there were of well used and weatherbeaten ones. There were more of the decorative/unique 1911s. I am fortunate enough to live near a collection of Frank Phillip's (Petroleum) Colt's in the museum in Bartlesville, OK. I couldn't believe Wilson would not photograph their Colts. They're pristine, covering every major variant. The Peacemaker was given fair coverage. The Python and Diamondback were given very little coverage. At the time the Diamondback was current production and more blah in his opinion, I am sure. Looking back on it, it was a classic since it was the last affordable, working man's revolver made by Colt. Now, to me, it marks the end of an epoch. Yes, Colt still makes Pythons but they are so expensive, hard to find and production is so limited they are not hardly worth talking about anymore. If you are into the early guns primarily this is probably a great book. Based on my interests this book was a bit of a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable and pleasurable, July 8, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Colt : An American Legend (Hardcover)
This is an invaluable tome for appreciators of the Colt lineage and for appreciators of the history of the Colt enterprise. In this volume R.L. Wilson chronicles as accurately as possible the real story of how Sam Colt perservered to finally deliver a quantum leap in weapons technology after being rebuffed at first. The marvellous high quality photographs of arms are a treat in themselves and this is a book you'll find yourself pickup up over and over again to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colt : An American Legend, January 22, 2008
This review is from: Colt : An American Legend (Hardcover)
This book is chuck full of great high quality color and some black and white photographs, showing the detailed craftmanship of old Colt firearms, from the quality engraving and inlaying to metal and wood working. It gives a complete history of every gun Colt created.
Great for collectors and gun enthusiasts alike! I am not a gun collector but I do appreciate great craftsmanship, and this book is full of examples to demonstrate both Arts and History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, January 27, 1999
This review is from: Colt : An American Legend (Hardcover)
IF YOU ARE AN ENTHUSIAST OF FIREARMS OR AS I AM, AN ENTHUSIAST OF THE AMERICAN WEST, THEN THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU. I HAVE SPENT MANY AN HOUR JUST SITTING WITH A GLASS OF FINE AUSTRALIAN RED WINE IN ONE HAND AND THIS BOOK IN THE OTHER, JUST SUCKING IN THE HISTORY OF THIS FINE AMERICAN WESTERN FIREARM. AS I AM ALSO CONNECTED TO THE PRINTING INDUSTRY, I ALSO APPRECIATE VERY MUCH, THE FINE QUALITY OF THIS FANTASTIC PUBLICATION. COME ON ABBEVILLE, PULL YOUR FINGER OUT AND GET THIS BOOK REPRINTED. MY CUSTOMERS AT AMERICAN WILD WEST IMPORTS IN SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA, ARE ASKING FOR THIS BOOK EVERY MONTH, AS I AM SURE OTHER ENTHUSIASTS ARE IN OTHER COUNTRIES OF THE WORLD. IT TOOK RANDOM HOUSE 12-15 MONTHS TO HAVE LARRY'S BOOK, "WINCHESTER: AN AMERICAN LEGEND" REPRINTED, DON'T FALL INTO THE SAME TRAP. IF YOU WISH TO TAKE ME TO TASK OVER THIS COMMENT, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO E-MAIL ME ON wildwest@tpgi.com.au BRUCE McINTOSH - SHERIFF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular photography, lots of good information, November 6, 1998
This review is from: Colt : An American Legend (Hardcover)
An excellent book for Colt fanciers. It is lavishly illustrated with some of the best color photos I've seen. The text is filled with good information on all Colt firearms. The book also includes the dates of manufacture on all Colt firearms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book for all gun lovers., November 24, 2010
This review is from: Colt : An American Legend (Hardcover)
I just received this book as a gift from a friend and I could not put it down until I read the entire 446 page giant book. This 11 by 9 inch hardcover edition is the most well researched book I have ever seen on the Colt guns. There are more than 300 photographs of just about every Colt gun ever made. Guns from 1836 to the present are shown along with detailed explanations about each weapon. This text goes in detail on the history of the first Colts made in the United States. Some of the Chapter include Captain Walker's Dragoon Revolvers, Pocket and Navy Five and Six-Shooters, The Side hammers of 1855, The new models, The Handgun that won the west, One Hundred Years of Double-Action Revolvers, and many other interesting chapters on Colt guns. This is a coffee table size book that every gun lover would enjoy having in full view so friends can also enjoy viewing this book.

In conclusion, this is a book for anyone who has a passion for guns.

Rating: 5 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Use of the Monadnock Straight Baton)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars legendcolt/an american, May 8, 2007
This review is from: Colt : An American Legend (Hardcover)
The next best thing to buying a colt revolver itself.

Excellent in every respect and well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Colt : An American Legend
Colt : An American Legend by R. L. Wilson (Hardcover - December 1, 1985)
$45.00 $28.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.