Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


280 of 287 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There Will ALWAYS be One More Question!!
He's back! Everyone's favorite rumpled detective, Lt. Columbo (portrayed with iconic perfection by Peter Falk), returns in this boxed set of some of his more recent mystery investigations.

Universal has been releasing the Columbo - Mystery Movie Collection on DVD. This DVD boxed set continues where the last one left off with installments that were produced in...
Published on October 31, 2008 by E. Hornaday

versus
71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Columbo is Great - Discs are NOT
Love Columbo. Because I'm obsessed with having every Columbo movie possible, I am willing to overlook the terrible flaws in these DVDs.

There is no way to get back to the main menu after watching an episode. You can not navigate to watch the other episode on the disc. With my DVD player, I must remove the disc, play another disc, remove that one, then put...
Published on April 16, 2009 by Karen E. Rice


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

280 of 287 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There Will ALWAYS be One More Question!!, October 31, 2008
By 
E. Hornaday (Lawrenceville, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1990 (DVD)
He's back! Everyone's favorite rumpled detective, Lt. Columbo (portrayed with iconic perfection by Peter Falk), returns in this boxed set of some of his more recent mystery investigations.

Universal has been releasing the Columbo - Mystery Movie Collection on DVD. This DVD boxed set continues where the last one left off with installments that were produced in the 1990s. When I initially posted this review, I made an error and listed the episodes expected in the NEXT DVD boxed set, not this one. Thanks to Mike, Tom and Michael Todd for correcting this information.

For some viewers, these latter installments of the dirty-trench-coat-wearing, cigar-smoking sleuth are less satisfying and well-crafted than the original series, but for me, ANY Columbo is better than 99 percent of the current TV roster.

The six mysteries in this boxed set were the last to be produced in the miniseries format, meaning the episodes each run about two hours, while the remaining Columbo mysteries produced were originally shown as one-shot 90-minute movie length specials and are yet to be released on DVD.

Collected here are:

Columbo Cries Wolf (which originally aired Jan. 20, 1990): Two true iconic soap opera actors, Ian Buchanan and Deidra Hall, star in this episode as feuding business partners. Hall ends up dead and Columbo has to use all of his skills to "uncover" the crime.

Agenda for Murder (which aired Feb. 10, 1990): Fabulous actor Patrick McGoohan who has wowed fans since the 1960s Danger Man, is also a close friend of Falk's. That's very lucky for Columbo fans, because he has graced the series with some of the most memorable episodes of the series. This time out, he directs AND stars as a powerful attorney who has political aspirations - and a big secret. Soon, a longtime blackmailer is dead and Columbo is matching wits with an attorney who has never lost - until now.

Rest in Peace, Mrs. Columbo (which aired March 31, 1990): In an unusual episode, Columbo is the target in this episode. A vengeful woman wants him to pay for the death of her husband, whom Columbo arrested for murder and whom has recently died in prison. Look out for a classic Columbo twist at the end.

Uneasy Lies the Crown (which aired April 28, 1990): Iconic TV writer-producer Steven Bochco (famed creator of Hill Street Blues) wrote this story about a dentist who does away with a patient - who just happens to be his wife's lover - in a creative way. Look for a couple of fun cameos by Nancy Walker and Dick Sargent who play themselves.

Murder in Malibu (which aired May 14, 1990): A famed romance writer whose engaged to a much younger man (Andrew Stevens) learns that he is only after her money, so she calls off the wedding. Exit the author during an apparent burglary. Brenda Vaccaro guest stars.

Columbo Goes to College (which originally aired 12/09/1990): Columbo is on campus as a guest lecturer on criminology. His visit coincides with the machinations of two rich and arrogant frat boys (portrayed by Justin Rowe and Cooper Redman) who utilize "remote control" to kill the professor who's threatened to expel them. The obnoxious killers flaunt their intellectual superiority before the seemingly dull Columbo, who they are stunned to learn is a lot smarter than he looks. Look for the brilliant actor Robert Culp (I Spy), who himself has portrayed a murder in three prior Columbos.

Some of the mysteries yet to be released on DVD include: Caution: Murder Can be Hazardous to Your Health (which originally aired 02/20/1991); The Murder of a Rock Star (which originally aired 04/29/1991); It's All in the Game (which originally aired 10/31/1993); Butterfly in Shades of Grey (which originally aired 01/10/1994); and Undercover (which originally aired 05/02/1994).

Let's hope that Universal continues to release these wonderful episodes, because there ALWAYS will be one more question!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Columbo is Great - Discs are NOT, April 16, 2009
By 
Karen E. Rice (Northeast PA in the Poconos) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1990 (DVD)
Love Columbo. Because I'm obsessed with having every Columbo movie possible, I am willing to overlook the terrible flaws in these DVDs.

There is no way to get back to the main menu after watching an episode. You can not navigate to watch the other episode on the disc. With my DVD player, I must remove the disc, play another disc, remove that one, then put the first disc back to get to the main menu to choose the unseen episode. We thought that there was something wrong with our disc or with the player, until I saw other reviews here.

This is a very poorly presented set - but because I adore Columbo I endure it. Since there are only six movies for 1990, one would think that they could have combined the movies from 1991 to make this a meatier set - but they wouldn't do that, because this way they can milk us fans for all our dollars as much as possible.

It's obvious that the producers have no respect for the buyers, but we love Peter Falk so we suffer gladly, to hear "Just one more thing...."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Class of 1990!, November 4, 2008
By 
David Drake (Santa Cruz, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1990 (DVD)
Looking forward to the 'class of 1990' group. A couple of real classics!

Columbo Cries Wolf
Agenda For Murder
Rest In Peace, Mrs Columbo
Uneasy Lies The Crown
Murder In Malibu
Columbo Goes To College
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Columbo Holds His Own, January 15, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1990 (DVD)
I'm one of those people who plans to own every "Columbo" ever filmed, including even the worst ones. This collection has some of the best and the worst. "Uneasy Lies the Crown" could have been one of the best in any season. It seems to be the perfect crime, with a young dentist finding a way to get even with his wife's lover. "Agenda for Murder" is excellent, and reminescent of the earlier series' "Candidate for a Crime," though we get a late introduction of "clinching" evidence that makes it not quite the iron-clad case we are used to. However, re-watching the episode shows us clues that were there all the time, had we noticed them.

"Columbo Goes to College" gives us a chance to laugh at two smart-alec kids who, throughout the episode, we know will finally get theirs, and who give us a mocking impression of Columbo that even offends him. "Rest in Peace, Mrs. Columbo," though designed as a gimmick to get more people to watch, actually has some crime-solving expertise that is worthy of "Columbo."

The set, as usual, is poorly and disrespectfully distributed to die-hard fans of Columbo. It is hard to navigate, lacks special features and interviews, and is pretty plain vanilla, though we are, at least, spared the pathetic two-sided DVD's of earlier seasons. I guess they know we will buy these for the sheer joy of watching Columbo, but really wish they had added some special feature to please the fans.

Anyone who loves Columbo will be pleased, at least, with the episodes, which are well-reproduced from a good source, with good sound and picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You call that a lining!?", February 12, 2009
By 
William Smith (Fontana, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1990 (DVD)
I really went out of way to defend the '89 set and the five stars I gave it.. sadly, that amazing record of every season at 5 stars comes to a close here. The problem is many of the 'bit players' from this set, normally the series' strong suit, often give cringe-worthy performances.. bordering on soap-opera territory. Understand, Falk is always awesome, always, but so many of the hired help here just falter. The cases were generally good but the perps were not always up to the task.

Another problem, not so much with the show but the 'purchase' is the fact I burned through this in 2 days. So, now I'm expected to wait another year or 2 for another set? I think the price point is fair, but with only 6 episodes it all ends far too quickly. They really need to combine these seasons into '89-'90, '91-'92, etc, or release them faster.

Also, there is no way to get from the episode menu screen back to the main menu without ejecting the disc, no 'return to main menu', if you selected the wrong episode or want to watch both back to back, forget it! The artwork is nice, the disc art is bland ('color discs' is all) and there are exactly ZERO extras which is a shame.. there must be a mountain of interviews out there, and in this case I'd settle for a mole-hill.

Still, having said all this, it's a must own. Columbo's main problem is always having the bar so high we expect it to stay there. Who would have thought the best 'cop show' on TV would never feature the star breaking down a door, having a shoot out, or even handling a gun? No matter what he does, it's gold, whether the perps keep up or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anachronistic Columbo, February 4, 2009
By 
Justin Playfair (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1990 (DVD)
The Old Peugeot, Raincoat, Cigars, even the formula for solving the murders in modern 90s style settings leave you with the impression that Columbo has become a walking anachronism for the genre of golden age of detective fiction.
There are many fans of course (including myself) who don't wish to see any great series come to an end. The proposal of four movies per year of course has worked well. The stories are excellent and generally better than anythng on television anyway.
However, I still believe along with the founder of the original series that Columbo belonged in the 70s and should have stayed there. Columbo is out of place in the modern world of the 90s. Many fans will disagree but I believe that they are not being honest with themselves due to their desire to see Columbo solve more murders. No matter how you slice these shows, they are really just re-hashes of plots already developed and played out in the original series. Now I don't want to boo-hoo this current set. It is wonderful to see Columbo in action again. After all, the smiling face of Ian Buchanan as a "Hefneresque" character is fascinating to watch. I love seeing a couple of smart aleck College students get caught, and I am always fascinated by Patrick McGoohan's ability to adapt to various roles while still playing the same personality as "The Prisoner".
I know that this series of movies went on for many years and I as a fan, no doubt, will continue to buy every set that comes down the road. ...and speaking of roads, who is the mechanic that has kept that old peugeot running? ...and the big question..Why won't Columbo apply for antique tags for that car to save some money?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real Columbo is back!, August 31, 2009
By 
Carolyn Paetow (Proctorville, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1990 (DVD)
Age has imparted a merry glint to his shrewd, once severe squint, but this Columbo is just as relentless and ruthless as his younger personae. Unlike the 1989 collection, in which the character had taken on a bumbling, semi-comedic demeanor, this series plays it as straight as the original. The over-the-top theatricality is also gone, and the emphasis of each episode is back on Columbo and his solving of the murders at hand. Though some of the plots have more twists and turns than the 70's series, the stories are basically traditional Columbo and should please all but the pickiest purist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memory Lanes and Rumples Raincoats, September 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1990 (DVD)
What fun! Don't you just love reliving all the fantastic sets and dialog of the earlier eras of television? This collection will bring back all the warm fuzzy feelings when you hear "Just one more thing, Sir . . . " and see the rumpled raincoat and cigar. I love the quality of the cd's, much better than the television I remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this collection...waiting for more, February 4, 2010
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1990 (DVD)
For those who have been wondering when the next Columbo Mystery Movie collection will be released: I contacted Universal Studios and asked if there are any plans for future releases of Columbo. The answer was no:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's Columbo, July 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1990 (DVD)
This is Peter Falk at his best. No one could pull off Columbo like he did. He always made the criminal think he was too dumb to solve the crime. Columbo as always puts them off guard. Even the other people that he questions think he is a bit excentric. He always was able to find the hard to find clues to solve the crime. I really think he was made for this roll. I liked him very much as the Grandpa in Princess Bride and everything he did, even a gangster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1990
Columbo: Mystery Movie Collection 1990 by Peter Falk (DVD - 2009)
$19.98 $13.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.