Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only 5 reviews?
COME ON!...this is a CLASSIC, it saw them slowing down the tempo a BIT, not too much, this is their last "classic" album to me, I like some of the others after, but none touch this, the first track "When The Sun Burns Red" will remind you of "Extreme Aggression" the album, not the track, "Coma of Souls" is probably my favorite off the album, just listen to the riffs, they...
Published on September 19, 2005 by Obiturized

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kreator sound, what you would expect
I had this one on tape back in the old days. Decided to download it for nostalgia and give it a listen. Still feel the same about these guys, average group and a sound from the days when thrash was the 'in' sound. A couple of decent songs, but nothing to really write home about. I was going to pick up Extreme Aggression too, but glad I held off. This will do for my...
Published 10 months ago by J. Sink


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only 5 reviews?, September 19, 2005
This review is from: Coma of Souls (Audio CD)
COME ON!...this is a CLASSIC, it saw them slowing down the tempo a BIT, not too much, this is their last "classic" album to me, I like some of the others after, but none touch this, the first track "When The Sun Burns Red" will remind you of "Extreme Aggression" the album, not the track, "Coma of Souls" is probably my favorite off the album, just listen to the riffs, they rule huh?, "People of the Lie" is more of a mid-paced number, but it's catchy as hell, sure to be a pleaser, another killer song is "Terror Zone" that song just kills all, the rest on the album are good, but I think I've mentioned the best of it, the vocals are piped down a bit, but they're still nasty as hell, just not as nasty as on "Extreme Aggression", any Metal fan shouldn't be dissappointed with this release, it's a great CD, last album for the "classic" Kreator, do yourself a favor, and buy it, THRASH!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrash with skill!, December 9, 2005
This review is from: Coma of Souls (Audio CD)
This is a great CD. I purchased the cassette tape back in 1990 and loved every song on it. Great era for thrash metal too! I even have the People of the Lie music video taped from The Headbangers Ball on MTV as well as an interview with Mille by Ricky Rackman. Classic stuff for sure. One of the better Kreator albums of their career. Highly recommended. Also pick up Violent Revolution and Enemy of God. All great music to work out to, it breathes energy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Thrash Album!, August 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coma of Souls (Audio CD)
First of all, let me say that Kreator is a spectacular band that ought to be considered one of the best thrash bands ever. They bury alot of the early American thrash. I have come to favor Kreator even over Slayer. In fact only Canada's own Sacrifice can top Kreator's best efforts in my honest opinion. With that being said, this album is one of those efforts. Some people complain that there might be less speed on this album than previous ones. This is just barely true, but one would be hard pressed to complain against the vast harmonies that now intermittenly mingle with Kreator's staple of speed. To put it plainly, when they aren't playing a million miles an hour they are producing brilliant melodic harmonies. Sometimes, if you listen closely, they are doing both. This album, in retrospect, was a template for the most recent stuff that they have released. Which to me, is probably the best stuff. It's still fast as hell, but now there's a little more going on. If you are a fan of early Metallica, Megadeth, Slayer, Testament or the like and you haven't heard Kreator before... do yourself a favor and pick this up or one of their latest albums. Not to discount the early stuff which is mind blowing, it's just that these albums are a little more immediately accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the Terror Zone., October 4, 2004
This review is from: Coma of Souls (Audio CD)
Although Kreator released some excellent albums, Coma Of Souls is still my favourite album. Coma Of Souls was released in 1990, when Thrash Metal was still popular. Kreator was and still is the most influential European Thrash Metal band. Real Thrash Metal, not Nu Metal or Hardcore bands who use some Thrash Metal riffs and are therefore labelled Thrash Metal. 14 years after the release of the album, it is still exciting to listen to the album. The sound quality is still strong enough and the songs are extremely strong. Therefore Kreator still play a lot of songs like the title-track, "People Of The Lie" and "Terror Zone." Especially "Terror Zone" is an impressive song that starts with a melodic harmony, and then continues with a heavy mid-tempo part. After that the songs explodes with fast riffs and solos. Finally the song ends in the way that it started. The guitar solos are very impressive. Every solo is very recognizable and makes the song better. I recommend this album to everyone who likes diverse, fast, and aggressive but still melodic Thrash Metal with superb solos and well-thought-about lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Kreator Thrash, November 15, 2004
By 
Big Dom "mikthemik" (Staten Island, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coma of Souls (Audio CD)
now this is what thrash metal is supposed to sound like. most of the songs on here are the standard fast thrash songs. the best parts of the album lie in the mid tempo songs and or the midtempo sections of the fast songs. these parts show the maturity and complexity of Mille Petrozza's song writing. he truly is one of the most underrated and unappreciated thrash metal pioneers int he world. this is as good a place as any to get your Kreator collection started it has all the elements that makes their other albums so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Thrash Metal, February 24, 2009
By 
This review is from: Coma of Souls (Audio CD)
Coma of Souls is simply an awesome, classic thrash metal albums from German thrashers Kreator. This is definately one of the best albums that Kreator have ever done, and it's also my second favorite Kreator album next to Pleasure to Kill. I'm such a huge fan of thrash/speed metal, and Kreator have really become one of my favorite bands not just in thrash, but in heavy metal in general. I also have Pleasure to Kill, Extreme Aggression, Enemy of God, Violent Revolution, and of course their newest offering Hordes of Chaos (which I got a couple weeks ago) which are all fantastic albums as well. Now I'll get right to the album, Coma of Souls is a heavy, savage, violent, brutal, ferociously aggressive thrash metal onslaught that will rip right through your ears and pummel your senses. It's also very diverse and melodic at times as well. The sound quality of this album is very strong. The lyrics are well written and very well thought-out. Mille Petrozza's vocals are just aggressive, intense and awesome throughout, he really sounds like he's going on a rampage or something like that. You can just feel the hate and attitude in Mille's voice. The guitar riffing by both Petrozza and Frank "Blackfire" Gosdzik is just thrashy, frantic, blistering and yet melodic as well, and the solos are very impressive and very memorable especially on "Agents of Brutality", the title track, "Material World Paranoia", "Terror Zone" and "Hidden Dictator". Bassist Rob Fioretti and drummer Ventor provide an outstanding rhythm section especially with Ventor's drumming, he does such a fantastic job behind those drums. He is seriously one of thrash's most underrated drummers.

Every song on Coma of Souls is awesome and very memorable. First we have the brilliant opening track "When the Sun Burns Red" with it's frightening, yet well thought-out lyrics about global warming. The song starts off with a nice ominous yet melodic acoustic intro, and the moments later the song lashes out with heavier, fiercer guitars and when you hear Mille's intimidating scream, the thrashing onslaught lets loose with savage, frantic riffing, hammering out of control drum blasts, and Mille's airy and aggressive vocals. The chorus is addicting, and the solos are great as well. This song definately smokes, and that's just only the beginning. The title track is another storming thrasher that features more maniacal thrash riffing, and fast pummeling drums (including some killer double bass kicking), and there's another pair of shredding solos to boot, while track three "People of the Lie" is a more mid-tempoish song that is very catchy especially during the chrous, and there's also an awesome solo by Frank at 1:38. The fourth track "World Beyond" is an awesome 2 minute shorty that gets the album back in the throttle once again, and blazes and blitzes the listener with it's wiley thrashing riffs and headbanging drumwork. My favorite song on here would no doubt definately be track five "Terror Zone". I swear, this song truly owns, it's just incredible. It starts off with a slow, but sweet melodic harmony, and it then continues on with a great heavy mid-tempo part, and then around 3:55, it thrusts into an awesomely savage thrashing onslaught of wild dualing solos and riffs over merciless and punishing drum beats, and the song ends with the opening melodic riff from the beginning.

Another one of my favorite songs "Agents of Brutality" is highlighted by more of Mille's intense vocals, as well as more aggressive thrashy riffage and angry, frantic drumwork, and there's also two very memorable guitar solos especially the solo by Mille around 3:12, and the solo by Frank over some great double bass drumming around 4:01 is awesome as well. Track seven "Material World Paranoia" is another awesome, bruising thrasher that features another awesome solo section as well as more bruising skin pounding, and fast muscular riffing, and "Twisted Urges" is another short thrasher that continues the thrashing onslaught with more violent and frantic riffs and leads, and there's a crushingly heavy mid-tempo section in the middle as well. Track nine "Hidden Dictator" starts off with some cool thumping basslines from Rob Fioretti, which is followed by a great, heavy riff that comes over it, and then suddenly the song turns into a deadly serious moshing assault on your senses. And last of all, we have "Mental Slavery" which is an addicting album closer that has a catchy, headbanging worthy mid-tempo drum beat, and awesome fist pumping riffs that are downright crushing, as well as another fantastic solo section to boot. This song might not be as thrashy as most of the songs on here, but it's still catchy and effective, it will hit you like a ton of bricks.

Jeremy's song ratings:
1. When the Sun Burns Red (5:31) - 5/5
2. Coma of Souls (4:18) - 5/5
3. People of the Lie (3:15) - 5/5
4. World Beyond (2:03) - 5/5
5. Terror Zone (5:57) - 5/5
6. Agents of Brutality (5:17) - 5/5
7. Material World Paranoia (5:01) - 5/5
8. Twisted Urges (2:46) - 5/5
9. Hidden Dictator (4:50) - 5/5
10. Mental Slavery (5:43) - 5/5

The bottom line is if you're looking for an awesomely heavy, brutal, ferociously aggressive, in your face, yet diverse and melodic thrash metal album that will immediately blow your mind away, then Coma of Souls is definately your album. I also recommend this to fans of early Metallica, Slayer, Destruction, Sodom, early Sepultura, Exodus, Megadeth, and Testament as well. If you've never heard of this album, or if you've never even heard of Kreator, then you are seriously missing out on some awesome, top notch thrash metal. Highly Recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Early 90's Thrash, October 15, 2004
This review is from: Coma of Souls (Audio CD)
In a lot of ways this album isn't exactly spectacular. The rhythm section is definitely adequate, but not too exciting either. The leads are a bit more open and genuinely melodic (at times) than is typical of thrash metal, and just have a different feel, to put it vaguely. than most thrash solos. But, in the end, they aren't terribly exciting either. And the vox are pretty good, a bit on the golbinish side for my tastes at first, but still above average for thrash, but, of course, vox don't matter a whole helluva a lot in thrash metal anyway. However, this album has got solid and varied riff-writing and songwriting on its side, which matter more than all those things combined. Coma of Souls is about as consistent of a thrash album as you'll ever here. It doesn't quite reach the heights of some of the older thrash classics, but there really isn't anything you can hold against this album, if you like thrash. That may not sound lack the strongest recommendation in the world, but it ain't too bad, I don't think. I guess I'll put it a bit more intensely: this is a damn good thrash album. Not quite a classic, but definitely worth your time.

The riffing on this album is a bit more frantic than what you'll typically here, but actually a bit more melodic as well. Kinda like Slayer with a hint of Iron Maiden. The songs aren't terribly long, but they still change the tempo and mood frequently, and Kreator know how to write a compelling and compact thrash song better than most others.(People of the Lie and World Beyond come to mind) I'm not gonna go into standout tracks too much, but a few demand attention. Agents of Brutality is by far the best song here. It's got perhaps the only truly great solo here, and has 2 excellent choruses, and a riffset that is beyond reproach. Very well constructed too, with a nice long intro, and a good bridge leading into the melodic, trem-picked chorus, which is followed immediately by the aforementioned solo. It's just very nicely paced, which is one of the most important aspects of a thrash song. The title track is another great song. It's hard to say anything in particular about, other than that it provides a more than adequate thrashing. Probably the best all-around set of riffs on the album. People of the Lie is a fairly short one, but both its main riffs and its chorus are very catchy. About as good as a 3 minute thrash song can get. When the Sun Burns Red is another great one, with a nice acoustic intro, which doesn't seem nearly as perfunctory as such things tend to. Again, it's hard to say what's good about it, beyond saying that it just has a bunch of cool riffs. I guess you'll just have to trust me on that one.

yeah, that's it. Great album here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars another near masterpiece!, July 4, 1999
By A Customer
Kreator's string of devastating thrash releases continued here with "Coma Of Souls". Much in the same vein as "Extreme Aggressions", the band still have plenty of tricks up their sleves as "When the Sun Burns Red", tricks with their soft acoustic intro. "When..." is arguably Kreator's best written song ever, with lots of dynamics and insane, typical (for them that is!) Kreator riffing. A true classic thrash track. while the rest of the disc doesn't quite match up to the opening tracks devastating power, the other songs here are worthy of near classic status. "Terror Zone", features pace and ferocious thrash, "Coma of Souls" is a very good number with a groove filled chorus and excellent double bass fills and the solid "People of the Lie", a straight forward metal track. Some of the tracks are unmemeorable, but on the majority, this is a solid, no frills thrash disc created by the maters of German thrash. NOTE: It seems that most of Kreator's titles are being deleted by their record company, if Amamzon's stock or lack thereof is of any indication.. Better start looking around for them now if you want them, or you might wind up paying steep import prices for them in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Thrash Band ever!!, May 5, 1999
By 
A little known band among the hundreds of popular thrash metal bands, Kreator is THE BEST thrash band I've heard. They redefine the word speed in speed metal, while keeping an incredibly tight sound. Perhaps the best track on "Coma of Souls" is "When the Sun Burns Red." This track demonstrates Kreator's ability for 'painting' musical pictures. It lends itself nicely to imaginations of storms and chaos. Another great thing about Kreator, (Coma of Souls in particular), is thier originality. The music stays away from the typical "E" string plugging and contains more complex and interesting phrases. Highly recommended by a long time musician and thrash metal fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kreator Continues the Destruction!, April 23, 1999
By A Customer
A long time folower of Kreator, this release saw the band further progressing through the evolution of their aggressive style of thrash-metal. "Coma Of Souls" immediately grabs you from the gonads and never lets go. The opening track is one of the band's finest ever and the overall production is superb. The band play the tightest and heaviest metal to date on this release. Excellent riffing and powerful drumming will leave you breathless. One of the bands best ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Coma of Souls
Coma of Souls by Kreator (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.