Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best COMBAT Episode has Arrived!! Part 1
We are now at the apex of the COMBAT series when the show reached its' peak as this season has the best episode ever produced. There are a few episodes that seem variations on previous Combat themes, but overall the fourth season holds up well...Of the cast members, Jack Hogan as Kirby does his best work in three pivotal episodes, especially in Hills are for Heroes which...
Published on April 6, 2005 by J P Falcon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars review for combat
i gave it to a friend for his birthday and watched with him,would reccomed it to anyone likes military movies
Published 22 months ago by Sarah T. Waters


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best COMBAT Episode has Arrived!! Part 1, April 6, 2005
By 
J P Falcon (Fords, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Combat - Season 4, Conflict 1 (DVD)
We are now at the apex of the COMBAT series when the show reached its' peak as this season has the best episode ever produced. There are a few episodes that seem variations on previous Combat themes, but overall the fourth season holds up well...Of the cast members, Jack Hogan as Kirby does his best work in three pivotal episodes, especially in Hills are for Heroes which I consider one of the greatest war movies ever made. I will discuss this episode in the COMBAT SEASON 4 CONFLICT 2 review. For now, here are some of the hits and misses of season 4...

1. The Leader - Kirby must lead a group of disgruntled soldiers as they prepare for a German counterattack....one of the shows where Jack Hogan shines...

2. Retribution - Jack Hogan is 2 for 2 as Kirby, when he discovers that his future Brother-in-law was beaten to death by a sadistic German Officer. Hogan's acting is top notch as he seeks revenge.

3. The Raider - a tense drama as Saunders needs to discover which of the German prisoners is actually the Officer who knows the whereabouts of a captured Hanley.

4. Finest Hour - It is a treat to see the fine French actress Luise Rainer in a morality play regarding honor and sacrifice.

5. Main Event - Jack Carter plays the manager of contending boxer and tries to protect his "investment" from the dangers of war. Jack Carter is at his conniving and sleazy best.

6. The Old Men - Simon Oakland portrays an replacement with bad knees, as he and other older replacements join Saunders squad.

7.The First Day - Four "Green" soldiers are put in Saunders squad. If this seems familiar to THE OLD MEN, well, I guess it is, but it is still well done.

Those are a few of the fine episodes which are included in this season 4 compilation of COMBAT. There are however some, not so stellar episodes.

1. The Linesman - Jack Lord is a know it all radioman who accompanies Saunders squad on a mission. It is the overdone "Arrogant Officer Humbled" theme.

2. Hear No Evil - There are actually good portions of this episode where Saunders loses his hearing. The scene which illustrates how he became deaf is well done. There is a silly section involving a dog however which brings the episode down, and if you are a dog lover, you may become unsettled.

3. The Farmer - Dennis Weaver loves animals more than Humans. Just plain dumb.

So, should you buy this set? Yes, most certainly, for there is much to enjoy in this collection. If you are planning to buy both volumes of this season 4 DVD set, but are only planning to buy one at this time, then I advise you save buying SEASON 4 CONFLICT 1 for now and quickly purchase SEASON 4 CONFLICT 2 because, as I mentioned previously, one of the finest war movies was produced when HILLS ARE FOR HEROES hit the small screen. I will comment on this fantastic episode in the CONFLICT 2 review.

Recommended without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOLD ON A MINUTE, JP!, May 20, 2005
By 
Lawrence Rapchak (Whiting, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Combat - Season 4, Conflict 1 (DVD)
I must reply to JP Falcon's posted review of "Combat"(4/7/05) which lists the episode "The Farmer" as one of the worst. FOLKS, TAKE THE WORD OF A GUY WHO REGARDS "THE FARMER" as his PERSONAL FAVORITE of them ALL----IT"S TERRIFIC!

Amazingly sensitive and perceptive in its portrayal of the soldier whose main concerns are seeing that the tranquility and spiritual qualities associated with farming are not destroyed by the ravages of war. The peaceful, idyllic scene where the entire squad (except for Saunders) gradually join Weaver in planting the crops for an aging French couple who were chased off of their land is, in my opinion, the SINGLE MOST BEAUTIFUL scene that the series has to offer. And then, things start to go desparately wrong, as Weaver endeavors to save a baby calf from starving. Much excellently wrought conflict with Kirby and Littlejohn, as Weaver continually puts the squad in danger because of his convictions. And the final moments show a man who out of desperation and rage allows himself to be destroyed---all because of his fanatical devotion to preserving the sanctity of the earth and its creatures. Great closing speech by Conlan Carter.

FIRST-RATE! Get it and see for yourself.

****ALSO FABULOUS---- "S.I.W." with phenomenal direction (John Peyser) and performance from John Cassavetes. An epsisode wherein ALMOST NOTHING happens in terms of action---but the INTENSITY between characters is unbelievable. And the final resolution of the show is almost cathartic, as if all of the hatred and mistrust between Cassavetes and William Stevens has been purged--or cleansed. Brilliant.

******THE REAL SLEEPER EPISODE: "RUN, SHEEP, RUN". Even though this show, late in the season, is essentially a rehash of the first season's "The Medal", it ultimately stands on its own as a truly fine episode. The closing scene, as Dwayne Hickman admits his own cowardice to the squad, never fails to bring a tear to the eye (mine, that is).

FINEST HOUR is very good (even though it, too, is essentially a re-write [of the 1st season's "The Chateau"). Great to see a (rare) performance by Louise Rainer.

And of course, "HILLS ARE FOR HEROES" is pretty amazing stuff.

THE END!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Combat, Season 4, July 27, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Combat - Season 4, Conflict 1 (DVD)
I have only recently become a fan of Combat, but since discovering the show on cable, I can't get enough. Season 4 has several of my favorite episodes including "The First Day," "S.I.W.," "The Good Samaritan," "Hills Are For Heroes," "Ask Me No Questions," and "The Leader." It also has a few clinkers such as "Nine Place Vendee," "Breakout," and "Luck With Rainbows," but that is to be expected in any television series -- they can't all be terrific. I'll admit a certain bias to those episodes featuring Vic Morrow as Saunders over those featuring Rick Jason as Hanley. Hanley's okay when Saunders is with him, but I rarely find that Jason can carry an entire episode on his own. I was impressed with the reality of the dialogue and the interaction between the characters when I first saw the show. In many ways the drama is far more gripping than the shows on television today. After getting to know these characters (not necessarily through exposition, but through their actions and interactions), I really got to care about what happens to them. Admittedly, by Season 4, there isn't really the same tension about these characters that existed in the first season -- the viewer knows which characters will be back next week and which ones likely have a target on their chests (they killed off semi-regulars in Season 1!), but by Season 4 you're just happy to spend some time with Saunders and his squad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nearly perfect, May 23, 2005
By 
Mark Gunter (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Combat - Season 4, Conflict 1 (DVD)
Image did a fine job on the Combat! dvds. However, it`s unfortunate they were unable to find prints that were not "time-compressed". Surely there had to be some available somewhere. It`s so irritating watching them in their slightly sped-up form. The dvds would have been perfect if not for this. They LOOK superb. I understand they will be releasing season 5 in "non-time compressed" prints. At least we will get one season at the correct speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Each Season Gets Better, August 17, 2005
By 
Sonicboy (Greenwood, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Combat - Season 4, Conflict 1 (DVD)
Having now purchased all four seasons, I must say the 4th is outstanding. Although familiar themes recur, our favorite characters continue to add depth and nuance. Of particular note are the camera angles which got so experimental in the middle 60's. For the most part, they add entertainment value to each episode. Forget Robert Altman and Burt Kennedy, the newer directors are better. On a related subject, it seems Altman had an affair with Vic Morrow's wife during the initial season which started Vic on a slow downward spiral until his death. I have never seen better work onscreen than what was displayed by the great Vic in all his wonderful range of emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COMBAT! The Fourth Season . . ., February 28, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Combat - Season 4, Conflict 1 (DVD)
One of the best seasons with episodes like "The First Day", "S.I.W." (Self Inflicted Wound)"Retribution" and possibly the greatest episode of the entire series, "Hills Are For Heroes", directed by Vic Morrow. Season Four offers some of the best of the COMBAT! series. As I have said, buy the entire series and Jo Davidsmeyer's companion book,"COMBAT! A viewer's Companion to the WW-II TV Series". You won't be sorry.

Take the Point!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Excellent, Excellent, October 29, 2005
This review is from: Combat - Season 4, Conflict 1 (DVD)
Excellent acting, excellent directing, excellent writers, excellent photography. Every single show on this DVD is excellent. Some are more exciting then others but they are all excellent. I have ordered and received the second half of this season as well and plan to get all 5 seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 4 Solid, April 7, 2006
By 
This review is from: Combat - Season 4, Conflict 1 (DVD)
Advanced cinematic techniques gave these eps a different look
than especially Season I. While I don't see this as the best
Combat season (thought Season 2 was), this was a solid year with
very few throwaway eps. From section I, Hear No Evil, The Raider,
The First Day, and SIW made my top 50 for the entire series.
From section II, Retribution, Hills Are For Heroes, Nothing to
Lose, The Ringer, One at a Time, and the Leader made my top 50.

This season saw Vic Morrow's further perfection of the Saunders role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best military/war show on TV.... ever., August 12, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Combat - Season 4, Conflict 1 (DVD)
COMBAT! was the absolute best TV war series ever. Sure ther wa splenty of fighting but it was the human side of the stories....the characters who became very real and memorable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Combat!, June 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Combat - Season 4, Conflict 1 (DVD)
Always loved the old series on TV and it was great to be able to collect all the episodes. Enjoyed them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Combat - Season 4, Conflict 1
Combat - Season 4, Conflict 1 by James Komack (DVD - 2005)
$39.99 $21.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.