Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Is LOADED (pun intended) With Tons of Valuable Information
First off I have to say that I am thoroughly disgusted with several of the negative reviews posted for this book since the the negative comments are aimed directly towards the apparently poor transfer from print to e-book format. Just because the quality of the transfer from one format to another is of poor quality does not mean that the content of the book is...
Published on December 20, 2011 by Shawn Kovacich

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly a compilation of old material
I bought this on amazon last week. It is mostly a compilation of old material Ayoob has written. There is a lot of filler, especially in the section on competitive shooting, which is basically a breakdown of each stage of an IDPA match. Despite the lack of original material, I don't regret buying the book. Ayoob is a good writer and there is useful information in many of...
Published on January 16, 2012 by Frank Einstein


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Is LOADED (pun intended) With Tons of Valuable Information, December 20, 2011
By 
Shawn Kovacich "Shawn Kovacich" (The Greatest Little City in the World) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Combat Shooting with Massad Ayoob (Paperback)
First off I have to say that I am thoroughly disgusted with several of the negative reviews posted for this book since the the negative comments are aimed directly towards the apparently poor transfer from print to e-book format. Just because the quality of the transfer from one format to another is of poor quality does not mean that the content of the book is questionable. I have an actual physical copy of this book lying right next to the keyboard as I type this and I can attest to the fact that the quality of the content contained in this book is nothing short of fantastic. Sure some of the information, okay most of the information, is "old hat" and has been around for quite awhile and has definitely been in print before in other formats, but that doesn't take away from its quality in the slightest. Good information is still good information. Now as far as the Kindle format is concerned, this is a problem that should be addressed with the publishers and not the author, and especially not the content of the book.

I have been a fan of Mas Ayoob ever since I first read, Ayoob Files: The Book and his other oldie but goodie, In the Gravest Extreme: The Role of the Firearm in Personal Protection, of which I am a firm believer that both of these books should be in everyone's personal library. Now on with the review...

This book is broken down into five chapters of which I will give you a brief synopsis of what each chapter contains.

Chapter One: MINDSET

In this chapter the author goes over the importance of not only having the proper mindset, but also on how to develop it. He also discusses various physical training techniques for shooting a handgun and plenty of real-world examples are given to drive home those points. I especially liked the "Ten Commandments of Concealed Carry," although admittedly I am sure that some of you will swamp out one or two for some of your own. I also really liked the discussion on what happens to your body when faced with a highly stressful situation and what you can do to counter those effects.

Chapter Two: LEARNING COMBAT SHOOTING

This chapter deals with realistic training for real-world encounters and is less concerned with traditional bulls-eye shooting, although the author admits that bulls-eye training is very important, but one must graduate from that to practical uses and training methods with a handgun that simulate those situations and circumstances that you are more likely to find yourself in when you actually will need to use a handgun to save your life. As with the previous chapter, there are plenty of real-world examples to drive home those points.

Chapter Three: THREE GUNFIGHTERS

Here the author takes a look at three real-life bona fide gunfighters; Wyatt Earp, Charles Askins, and Jim Cirillo. Short descriptions and biographies are provided on each man as well as an example or two of gunfights they had been in and what could be learned from each of them. Due to space constraints, there is really not enough detail on any of the three, but that's okay because here are some books I recommend that you read in order to learn more about them.

Wyatt Earp............ Wyatt Earp: Frontier Marshal

Charles Askins........ Unrepentant Sinner: The Autobiography Of Col. Charles Askins

Jim Cirillo........... Jim Cirillo's Tales Of The Stakeout Squad

Chapter Four: COMPETITION AS TRAINING

This chapter deals with supplementing your practice with actual organized competition in order to be able to safely put yourself under the stressors of time and performance in order to help prepare you for the stress of an actual armed encounter. Although one must remember that NO amount of competition can compare to an actual life-and-death encounter with someone trying to kill you. However, it does have its benefits if understood and used correctly. Really a good section and one that made me want to check out local competitions in my area. Give it a try, what have you got to lose!

Chapter Five: CHOICES

This chapter primarily deals with the various choices you have concerning; types of guns to use, types of ammunition, holsters, etc. The primary thing that EVERYONE needs to get from this section is that you have to make those choices that are right for YOU, not someone else. Just because your buddy likes a particular brand of handgun or caliber does not mean that his choice will be the right choice for you.

In closing I would like to add that I highly recommend this book, in its printed format, and would strongly recommend it and the other books referenced in this review.

Shawn Kovacich
Krav Maga Instructor/NRA Firearms Instructor
Author and Creator of numerous books and DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide to Civilian Use of a Weapon, December 13, 2011
By 
Dr. WHO (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Combat Shooting with Massad Ayoob (Paperback)
A valued mentor once advised me to "start at the end where you want to see yourself and work back to where you are now. Then you will understand the important steps and decisions you must make to get where you want to arrive." This book starts with you in front of a jury explaining why you shot and possibly killed someone. I can think of no better advice for anyone contemplating an armed response to another human's actions. This is not a narrow book for gun nuts but a more general treatise on the importance of awareness, attitude or mind-set, tactics and the law. There are many examples related from the viewpoint of you standing in front of a judge ... illustrated with sobering cases taken from real life of well-intentioned people going to jail for "just defending themselves or their family." There is an interesting and appropriate chapter on firearms in the martial arts dojo that I appreciated as a nine year student of aikido. And you have to love a serious combat shooter that advises you to pay heed to Ogden Nash, "When called by a panther...Don't anther!" This book is full of very good advice, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly a compilation of old material, January 16, 2012
This review is from: Combat Shooting with Massad Ayoob (Paperback)
I bought this on amazon last week. It is mostly a compilation of old material Ayoob has written. There is a lot of filler, especially in the section on competitive shooting, which is basically a breakdown of each stage of an IDPA match. Despite the lack of original material, I don't regret buying the book. Ayoob is a good writer and there is useful information in many of the chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mas Ayoob has many books that are better, January 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Combat Shooting with Massad Ayoob (Paperback)
Mr. Ayoob is a good writer with important information. However, this book is not one of his better efforts. The photos are very poor and often do not track the text. Much of the text consists of reprints from earlier articles. This book needed a good editor. It looks like they just put together old photos and text with little new info. Pick another Ayoob book like his title on concealed carry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concealed Carry Holders - Read This, January 10, 2013
By 
A. Carlson (MI, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you have a concealed carry license and carry a firearm, you should read this book. If you are thinking about doing so, you should read this book. The same goes for anyone interested in what entails with carrying a gun, whether it is a civilian or police officer doing it.

Ayoob describes three historical figures well-known as gunfighters, what to expect when in a deadly force situation (what the sympathetic nervous system does to the body, etc), and great advice for those who carry concealed.

Highly recommended. For additional in-depth and excellent information on deadly force situations, check out Lt. Col. Dave Grossman's "On Combat" or perhaps his "On Killing" (both books also recommended by Ayoob in "Combat Shooting").

I should note that I purchased the Kindle version of this book; some of the captions for pictures seem to be misplaced but other than that it is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid content but Kindle edition is replete with typos and errors, December 6, 2011
By 
sdaniela "musicmansteve" (San Antonio, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Combat Shooting with Massad Ayoob (Paperback)
I haven't finished reading the book yet, so this review is limited to the condition of ebook conversion. The Kindle buyer should beware. This edition is one of the worst ebooks I've seen from Amazon. The text is literally filled with typos and other errors, likely from the digital conversion process. Words are missing letters, random spaces are inserted in the middle of words, spacing between words is loose. Very distracting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As always - excellent advice from Massad Ayoob, September 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm just a guy that wants to be able to protect my family, friends and home. I've read most of Massad Ayoob's books and found them to be straight forward and extraordinarily helpful. For me, this book provides perspective (from a career professional) on what REALLY happens in a gun fight (not the TV/movie crap) - and helps me prepare for an event I never want to experience. If you are thinking of using a firearm for personal defense, or, like me, have one and want to be better prepared, you need to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talented Teacher, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Combat Shooting with Massad Ayoob (Paperback)
Mr. Ayoob did an excellent job of organizing, prioritizing and clearly presenting a complex topic. The subject matter is ponderous; he has done a remarkable job of eliminating the unecessary and illuminating the obscure. His work goes a long way toward eliminating the naive notion that all is well when the smoke clears. He gives solid advice on surviving the aftermath of shooting encounters. I recommend this work to anyone who carries a firearm either professionally or for personal defense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Combat Shooting, February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Combat Shooting with Massad Ayoob (Paperback)
The thing I actually enjoyed about the book is how it stresses proper mindset & training on when NOT to squeeze the trigger. I was expecting a more military oriented book. Ayoob's books have been highly recommended, but this first one wasn't what I expected. It's still a good read. The stories of 3 famed lawmen were definitely worth reading. I wouldn't consider this a "must have" on the bookshelf. Pictures, though relevant, are dated. Not a big deal, but it's worth mentioning. The author's writing style is easy to follow and engaging. It's just ok for me. Some one else may think it great. It's not garbage and I don't feel the money was a waste primarily because of my first comment...it keeps your mind on when not to use the weapon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for beginner or seasoned shooter., July 5, 2014
This review is from: Combat Shooting with Massad Ayoob (Paperback)
Ayoob's material is always well thought-out, presented in the reader's best interest without alot of ego.
No matter how long you've been shooting, you'll learn something new, or something interesting about origins of techniques or equipment. Ayoob never disappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Combat Shooting with Massad Ayoob
Combat Shooting with Massad Ayoob by Massad F. Ayoob (Paperback - December 13, 2011)
$25.99 $16.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.