Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on HTL

Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$11.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

142 of 149 people found the following review helpful
on March 29, 2011
When you think about it, no one else -- none of the "other women" in John Kennedy's life (even his late wife, may she rest in peace) -- could have told this story. Ms. Haag, after all, was there from the very beginning. From those early 1970s teenage years in NY, through college days as housemates, through acting roles together and their ultimate courtship and five year romance, Haag may arguably be the only woman in the world who knew John, in his tragically too-short life, in all these myriad ways, and over so many decades.

Certainly no one could have told the story better, with more grace, more beauty, more heart.

COME TO THE EDGE is a radiant piece of work. Like all fine memoirs, it tells us something about being human: about what it's like to become vulnerable to another human being, about dreams, about coming of age, about crisis of faith -- about many of the themes that our greatest writers have tackled from time eternal. Though Haag's story is inherently a personal one, nonetheless on every page the reader has a shock of recognition from the truth and beauty of which she writes.

Haag has given us an insight into the Kennedy family, particularly John and his mother, never before seen. Never sensational, never titillating, this elegant memoir is limned in gorgeous prose that sometimes breaks your heart with its purity and insight. And the bravery with which Haag shares her own "postscript" at the end of the book will take your breath away.

A fabulous, memorable read, and a must for anyone interested in cultural history, memoir, and the sweet, vanished time that was NYC in the '60s-'80s.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
on March 30, 2011
Christina Haag has written one of the rare books about John Kennedy, Jr. which tells us more about who he was without trying to "make " it a best seller through gossip and tattling. She knew him as a best friend as well as a lover and uses her experiences with him to give his life depth of meaning and fullness. We see, through her eyes, a young teen who grows into an unsure young adult who matures into a profoundly kind and sensitive man. He has humor as well as a temper, he has doubts as well as endless courage. She also treats his mother as a woman of grace and elegance, but a warm and empathic person---these two Kennedys, in particluar, don't usually get treated with such convincing courtesy. I have read all the Kennedy materials....I have only admired a few books. But I truly loved this one. Ms Haag can really, really write. She has a sophisticated style that seems effortless. She has years of journals which helped her recreate this love story, and I am so glad she did so. This book is a tribute to a romance which soared, a man who took the risk of love, a woman who was wise enough to celebrate being drenched in his affection, and the aftermath which breaks the reader's heart. Thank you for sharing the glow with us, and telling the tale so eloquently.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
146 of 160 people found the following review helpful
The longtime girlfriend of John F. Kennedy, Jr. --- a woman he should have married, and didn't --- writes a book about their long friendship, glorious romance and fraught break-up.

On the plus side: Her memory is buttressed by decades of journals, and she makes a good-girl's effort to tell the truth.

On the minus side: She's an actress, that is, a woman most at home when not herself. And he was the stud muffin of a generation, an athlete dying young; you do not write ill of such a man.

What are the odds that Christina Haag could write a better-than-average memoir about her life with John Kennedy?

In fact, Christina Haag has written a surprisingly fine book.

They met as teenagers, in that special Upper East Side hothouse of private schools and privilege. They were not exactly equals --- her father was the son of a railroad foreman, and his father was...well, you know. But he was skinny and exuberant, fond of flipping water balloons out the windows of Fifth Avenue apartments, and she was dark and poetic, a budding actress. They hung out, walking through the park at night, Secret Service agents following.

They both go to Brown, where they share a house. (Another roommate is Christiane Amanpour, then known as "Kissy.") Like dogs, they travel in packs; they see a lot of one another, but romance never ignites. After graduation, Christina takes up with a fellow actor --- Bradley Whitford, later a mainstay on "The West Wing" --- and John bounces from woman to woman.

And then they connect.

Yes, she writes that first kiss like a romance novelist, but why not? They'd known each other for almost a decade, the pent-up curiosity was huge, and --- not a small point --- that kiss was electrifying. It sealed the deal.

Young love. Such intensity. And such drama. John is fidelity-challenged --- shades of you know who. And Christina is intent on an acting career, which means extended time in Los Angeles. Add to that that he's made a wrong turn --- he wanted to be an actor, but chose law school because he felt the tug of the family business. When it's like that, it doesn't really matter how kind, funny, caring and handsome someone is.

Haag traces the beats of the relationship, the quiet weekends, the exciting trips, the glittering family time. She doesn't pump it up, she just lays it out, holding out memories like jewels. "How lucky I was to have had all this," she says, between the lines, but she has it wrong --- how lucky he was to have had her.

Daryl Hannah shows up, and others, and there's a lot of making up and breaking up. "He'll leave you, one day he'll leave you," Bradley Whitford tells her, but that's wrong. Had they continued, Christina would have discovered that her resemblance to John's mother was superficial --- she couldn't put up with the cheating.

What's best about the book, for many readers, I suspect, is that it's the first credible portrait of John Kennedy, Jr. He's not that smart. He's had no father. His mother terrifies him. He doesn't have the courage to stand up to his family and declare his interest in acting. In a word, he's lost. And so he throws himself into extreme sports and blood-tingling hook-ups --- anything to feel the vitality of his own life. His death seals him as a tragic figure, but some kind of bad end was inevitable. Tragedy was his birthright. The poor bastard was doomed.

Christina Haag is now 50. She's not a star, she's had some bad bounces. But she has a sweet spirit, a generous character. I can see --- and so will you --- what John Kennedy Jr. saw in her. And what he threw away.
1010 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on April 4, 2011
This is a story of a boy and a girl who met as young teens, later fell in love, and changed each other's lives forever. As noted in the book, Christiane Amanpour described John Kennedy as "an ordinary boy in extraordinary circumstances." Christina Haag paints a vivid picture of their time together, before, during and after their romance. A picture of the ordinary boy, and the way in which those extraordinary circumstances shaped the man and affected their relationship.

This book touched me in ways I can't even begin to describe. I was nearly 11 years old when President Kennedy was assassinated, old enough to witness, to understand and to mourn. I saw the three year old John salute his father's casket and, along with the rest of the world, I watched him and his sister, Caroline, grow up in the public eye. I felt compassion for the man who could not walk down the street, or fail a bar exam without starting a media frenzy.

Christina has given John the humanity, dignity and vulnerability which was never attributed to him by the press. She depicts him as an intelligent, gifted, fun-loving and adventurous man with a great capacity to love. Flawed, as we all are, but not just the "hunk" he was all too often depicted as. This aspect of the book, the fact that Christina told their story with objectivity, was as important to me as the story of the love they shared, a love that was both exhilarating and heartbreaking. A love so strong, that John continues to make his presence known to her, years after his death . . . through an old newspaper clipping falling out of a book that had been tucked away for years, a little girl spinning and singing "Do you know where John Kennedy is?" and in dreams. I firmly believe that one day, when Christina needs it most, the lost compass will turn up.

When I came to the last page, I couldn't help but wonder "What if?" Read the book. You won't regret it.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on April 9, 2011
It can be very difficult to find dignity in today's world, where everything seems to fall to the lowest common denominator of a tabloid headline. But dignity is exactly what I found in Christina Haag's memoir, in her story and in her telling of it.

Her love story is at once warm and heart-breaking (much like JFK Jr. himself, I would imagine). Ms. Haag writes with clarity and eloquence, but to me what makes the story work so well is her independent spirit. Like any true romance, Haag's relationship with JFK Jr. shaped part of her life, but it does not define her. This adds depth and richness to her storytelling, which make the book immensely satisfying and even poetic. It also gives credibility to the portraits she paints of JFK Jr., his mother and the world in which they lived. Portraits that are a refreshing departure from what we've come to accept as truth about people we never really knew.

As I got further into the story I kept thinking to myself about "what might have been." What if they had stayed together? What if they had married? My heart ached for their lost love. And I wanted a different ending for him. However, Haag's story made me believe that if their love had survived "what might have been" was her life lost in the crash. As one might imagine, the book provokes thoughts of circumstance and fate.

This is a fantastic read on many levels. It is a personal story, an intimate tribute to an American icon, and an exploration of love and loss. A treasure!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on April 5, 2011
If you were a follower of John Jr. and the Kennedy's this book will feed your curiosity. If you were single and in your 20-30's in the 80's you will relate to the parties, college and friendships. If you have ever loved and lost this story will spell bind you. This is possibly the most beautiful love story I've read. It is real, honest and raw at times. Your heart will ache for days after you read it but you will feel honored for being invited to be a part of it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on April 6, 2011
Christina Haag has written a TERRIFIC book about her relationship with John K.

I was skeptical at first, but Come to the Edge completely blew me away. If you knew John, as I did, his presence in these pages will startle you. And if you didn't, you will experience the wonderful, adventurous, thoughtful, smart, funny, kind guy that he was. Christina has accomplished what no other book before has.

This is a love story, but it is also a moment captured, it describes an exciting time in New York City and Christina's book reminded me of how much fun we had. It's about youth, and the excitement and passion of embracing life and I think there is a universality.....

Ok...whatever, Listen up. Come to The Edge is a wonderful book that I ripped straight through and I bet you will too. I recommend you to read it before THIS moment passes. I loved it.

Jack M
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on March 30, 2011
Come to the Edge is an absolutely beautifully written memoir by Christina Haag. Yes, it happens to involve John Kennedy, Jr. But above that, this book presents a story of a romance that was full of love, trust, great intimacy and growth. It is a book that pulls one along, revealing the joys, and trials and tribulations, of a 5-year romance in uncanny detail, giving the story great traction, while making Haag's relationship with the son of the President of the United States, who sought to discover his own identity in the world, come alive for the reader. In so many ways, this book is universal. It's a story of young love and hopes, of the things that connect and divide us, of our search for meaning and purpose, and, importantly, of the power of our connection with the natural world. Bravo to Christina Haag for a job very, very well done.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on April 3, 2011
Christina Haag has written an achingly beautiful memoir. Her respectful portrait of John Kennedy not only reveals him as a flesh-and-blood human being but at the same time captures the larger-than-life aspects of his story. Christina tells of how their paths wove themselves together and apart during their childhoods in New York and beyond, culminating in an intense, five year love affair -- what John called the longest courtship ever. Also of great interest is Christina's portrait of John's mother, whom she obviously admired and adored. Their friendship continued even after the affair with John was over. But this book is more than all that. It is a delicate tale of coming of age, of first love, that transcends its connection to a famous family.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon March 30, 2011
"Come to the edge" is a memoir written by actress Christina Haag, about her five-year romance with JFK Jr. that took place in the eighties, and ended nine years before his tragic death.

During his lifetime, John Kennedy Jr. always attracted a lot of media attention and it wasn't hard to see why--not only was he the son of a former U.S. president and a famous mother, but he was , what Haag described in her memoir as "Adonis" looking. In other words, he had the looks to land the People Magazine cover as Sexiest Man Alive, be constantly taunted by the media as America's most eligible bachelor, and have random strangers throwing themselves at him. In the midst of all this, and while going through various relationships on the side, he strikes a friendship with the author.

Christina Haag first met JFK Jr. when her boyfriend at the time, a friend of his, invites her to join him at John's house. Even though Haag is at a girl's private school and JFK Jr. is at a boy's private school, their schools are close enough that the friendships get intermixed and Haag finds herself in John's crowd. Fast forward to college, and Haag attends Brown University as an acting major. JFK Jr. transfers to Brown as well, and they gradually end up sharing a house together with other students. JFK Jr. shares Haag's interest in acting, and even goes on to star with her in a play post-graduation and at the very beginning of their romance. Looking back, Haag sees a disturbing connection between the play's ending and John's life.

Even though JFK Jr. goes his separate way, doing a lot of travelling and eventually enrolling in law school, he continues to see Haag, who gradually gets introduced to his family. Haag discusses her relationship with Jacqueline Kennedy and JFK Jr.'s need for approval. JFK Jr.'s relationship with his mother again takes center stage, when he and Haag nearly die during their vacation in Jamaica.

Also included are intimate details of JFK Jr.'s relationship with Haag, such as their vacations, romantic encounters (JFK Jr. liked visiting Haag by climbing through her window in a Romeo-like fashion, though he nearly gets in trouble with the police), and struggles with a long distance relationship (Haag's acting, JFK Jr.'s law career, his rumored relationships on the side). But what really shapes this book for me are Haag's descriptions of JFK Jr.'s contradictory nature (he yearns to be an actor, but pursues the practical career of a lawyer; he seeks Jacqueline's approval, yet does dangerous things that she would disapprove of behind her back; he is addicted to adventure, but acknowledges things can sometimes get a little too far). Overall, it's a fascinating read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
What Remains: A Memoir of Fate, Friendship, and Love
What Remains: A Memoir of Fate, Friendship, and Love by Carole Radziwill (Paperback - June 5, 2007)

Fairy Tale Interrupted: A Memoir of Life, Love, and Loss
Fairy Tale Interrupted: A Memoir of Life, Love, and Loss by RoseMarie Terenzio (Paperback - July 10, 2012)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.