Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Come Live With Me
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars21
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$17.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 26, 2010
Jimmy Stewart and Hedy Lamarr might make an odd pair but it works perfectly in this story. I don't want to give away too much of the plot, but suffice it to say the combination of the home spun country boy and slick beautiful city gal works perfect here. There is also a great short performance by a late blooming actress as Stewart's grandmother. If you like romantic comedies and are a fan of either Stewart or Lamarr you can't go wrong here.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2011
. . . but they've got to know each other before they get divorced." So Bill Smith (Jimmy Stewart) explains to Johanna "Johnny Jones" Janns (Hedy Lamarr) in this romantic comedy with Capra-esque overtones.

Married as strangers to enable her to avoid deportation, penniless would-be writer Bill understandably falls for Johnny, a wealthy cosmopolitan beauty whom he only sees once a week when she brings a check. In return for the formality of the marriage she has agreed to bankroll him during what turns out to be his first successful writing project, a book called Without Love based on his unlikely and mostly imaginary relationship with her. Just as he reaches this professional success and resolves to pursue her affection, she asks for a divorce so she can marry an older and more equally matched man, a wealthy publisher. As a condition for agreeing to the divorce, though, Smith insists she get to know him first, enlisting the help of the peaceful countryside he grew up in and his homey plain-spoken grandmother. Neither knows the publisher who has bought his book is the same she hopes to marry.

While not perfect in every gesture like Stewart's earlier Shop Around the Corner, this is still a fun, clever and sweet film with two very attractive leads. Occasional rough edges are more than made up for with some fine moments of comedy and romance. Fans of the actors and the genre won't be disappointed.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2011
This is another wonderful classic that I highly recommend for anyone that loves a good old fashioned love story from an era when they knew how to write captivating, sweet stories. It is worth the watch and if classic films are your thing I'm sure this will become a quick favorite! I know I love it and I would tell anyone to buy it!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 25, 2012
At one point, back in the day, Hedy Lamarr was regarded as the most beautiful woman to ever grace cinema. And like all pig chauvinists I'll dismiss her supreme knack for mathematics. But, okay, did you know that, according to Richard Rhodes's book HEDY'S FOLLY: THE LIFE AND BREAKTHROUGH INVENTIONS OF HEDY LAMARR, she co-invented technology that was a precursor to Bluetooth? I don't believe she was ever hailed as a great actress, but, man alive, she's so stunning I could watch her onscreen all day, even if all she did was clip coupons. I have no doubt she'd make clipping coupons this wildly seductive act. Hedy Lamarr was showcased in a series of exotic melodramas (ALGIERS, WHITE CARGO, SAMSON AND DELILAH) in which she played the irresistible siren. Except I enjoyed her more in her lighthearted pictures.

(Here's a drinking game: take a shot each time you read the word "married" or "marriage.")

With her temporary passport expired three months ago, an Austrian refugee (Lamarr) hiding in New York is finally tracked down by a kindly Immigration Inspector and given a one week deadline to marry an American citizen or face deportation. Naturally, "Johnny Jones" (her Americanized name) can't tie the knot with the rich, middle-aged publisher with whom she'd been carrying an affair, because he's already married, never mind that it's one of those "modern marriages."

Many minutes into the film, here strolls proud but struggling writer Bill Smith (Stewart) whose prospects are so dim he reluctantly enters into a marriage of convenience with Johnny Jones. Each week Johnny visits Bill to fork over a check worth $17.80 (Bill is a prideful minimalist when it comes to things like cost of living). This arrangement allows Johnny to stay in America and to carry on her fling with that publisher. The story conflict surfaces when, months later, Bill Smith grows dissatisfied with the contract, mainly because he'd fallen in love with Johnny and so wants a real marriage.

I rate COME LIVE WITH ME an above average 3 out of 5 stars. In 1941, when this film came out, Hedy Lamarr was at the height of her physical grace. I was so distracted by her the first time I saw this a few years ago, it took me a second viewing to realize that this movie is more mildly amusing than it is a ribald, uproarious screwball comedy. I do recommend it for its two leads and also for noteworthy performances by supporting actresses Verree Teasdale and Adeline de Walt Reynolds, both of whom lend depth to a shallow plot. Teasdale plays the two-timing publisher's wistful, understanding wife. De Walt Reynolds plays Bill Smith's endearingly crusty, proverb-slinging grandmother. But, overall, the humor is low key - you'll half-smile more than you'll chortle. There's also a sense of, I dunno, lethargy that made me fidget. Also, Johnny's sudden turnaround in the third act is a bit tough to swallow, considering how smitten she was with her publisher. Are fireflies then so magical that mere mention of them would palpitate a maiden's heart? I'll try that next time I go clubbin'.
33 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2011
Great Classic movie. I love James Stewart and Hedy Lamarr. This is a great classic love story. Boy meets girl falls in love but it takes a bit to win her over she is a tough nut to crack. But James Stewart is a lovable person so any girl would be hard pressed not to fall for nice guy like him. A must have Classic movie in your collection.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2016
Penniless writer meets wealthy immigrant about to be deported. They marry in order for her to stay in America. She, however, already has a married lover. Hedy Lamarr isn’t the best actress in this film, but she is the perfect beauty. Jimmy Stewart solidly plays the same cool, relaxed character he usually does. This film is simple, sentimental and interesting. Entertaining enough to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2013
I was completely satisfied with the condition of this movie! This is one of my all time favorite Jimmy Stewart movies! He and Hedy Lamarr are so cute together! If you haven't seen this movie then you just gotta it's a must see!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2015
I've seen it on TV. The movie is great, but I've tried to buy the DVD 2 times and the DVD wouldn't play either time. If I could find it in VHS format, I would buy it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2013
you would never think these two actors would work good together buit it work well,heedy lamarr is something else and everybody loves james stewart enjoy
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2011
I was thrilled to finally be able to get this in DVD format. I had been looking for it for over 20 years. It arrived quickly and was in great shape. Thank you!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$17.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.