Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful, gruesome, disturbing...pure Laymon!
Sherry sends her boyfriend Duane out for some condoms. However, Duane doesn't return, prompting Sherry to go out after him. Who she finds, however, is Toby Bones--a disturbed teenager who has a crush on Sherry...a crush that is about to become something more. Something horrifying.

What ensues is 400+ pages of pure adrenaline, as Sherry puts up with Toby, as...
Published on July 18, 2005 by DanD

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Come Out Tonight
Richard Laymon is a legend in the horror genre. His work is brutal, violent and, at times, almost pornographic. His novel Come Out Tonight is no exception. It is the story of Sherry Gates, and her scrape with a demented underage serial killer.

The novel opens with Sherry sending her boyfriend, Duane, to a local convenience store for condoms. When he doesn't...
Published on June 3, 2007 by Benjamin Boulden


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful, gruesome, disturbing...pure Laymon!, July 18, 2005
This review is from: Come Out Tonight (Mass Market Paperback)
Sherry sends her boyfriend Duane out for some condoms. However, Duane doesn't return, prompting Sherry to go out after him. Who she finds, however, is Toby Bones--a disturbed teenager who has a crush on Sherry...a crush that is about to become something more. Something horrifying.

What ensues is 400+ pages of pure adrenaline, as Sherry puts up with Toby, as she plots her revenge. If nothing else, what "Come Out Tonight" has going for it is a strong female lead. And there is something truly terrifying in the character of Toby Bones...almost as if he's been ripped from the latest news headlines. What holds the novel down are the supporting characters, most of whom are annoyances...you almost wish Toby will jump out of the shadows and hack them up with butcher knives.

Laymon has always drawn a following of readers who expect gore, sex, and a tale as dark as the deepest cave. Well, they get it here. However, for those of you not into that sort of thing (I'm not), Laymon has an attribute that most of fiction's greatest writers aspire to: he makes everything suspenseful. There's not a page of this novel that won't pique your curiousity, making you want to turn the page to see what'll happen...and, usually, it's something unexpected. Laymon never fails to deal with the darkest parts of human nature (in his heroes AND villains), and "Come Out Tonight" is a perfect example of that. Not for the faint of heart or the weak of stomach, but a gripping, thrilling ride for those who dare to give it a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Totally and completely illogical, but still a lot of fun., April 1, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Come Out Tonight (Mass Market Paperback)
Let's get something out of the way: Richard Laymon's "Come Out Tonight" features two stunningly illogical scenes: One has a woman violently attacked and nearly killed by a maniac and not wanting to call the cops because she doesn't want to tell them her boyfriend was out buying condoms. The other has the same woman jumping out of a moving car, the driver nearly running her over, and then running into a fast-food restaurant bloody and hurt, and not one single patron, who have seen the entire episode, is alarmed or offers help.

But you forgive Laymon these things because "Come Out Tonight" is the novel equivalent of a B-movie slasher flick. Heads are cut off, body parts are eaten, innocent people are taken down, and enough blood to fill a pool is spilled. And it's all great, silly, horror-extreme fun.

The book takes an unexpected twist about halfway through. I actually liked the second part better than the first because it is so straight-facedly weird. It's like a demented John Hughes film.

Laymon isn't a great writer, but his prose is so clean and simple that you'll find yourself unable to stop reading. You'll breeze through a hundred pages without even knowing it.

This novel is relentless. It throws you into the story from the first sentence and rarely lets up. There are things here that are audaciously unrealistic and sometimes breathtakingly implausible, but in a story like this it's hard to complain about such things. Instead of focusing on this, I just sat back and enjoyed the sick, twisted fun. And in "Come Out Tonight," there's plenty of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sick, Perverse Fun, September 23, 2005
By 
Bruboy1969 (Burlington, MA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Come Out Tonight (Mass Market Paperback)
If you are not into reading about gruesome violence and depravity, don't read this book. If you are open to hearing about others committing such atrocities,then pick this one up. Only fans of Laymons world where every guy is looking to "get some" and every woman considers sex enjoyable and is readily available for such, will like this and most of his other books. I know I did. Does this make me sick and twisted? Probably, but it sure puts a smile on my face to read this totally non-PC, pre-Reagan era prose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put this book down!, March 3, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Come Out Tonight (Mass Market Paperback)
The story - while unbelievable - was fairly well written, and I found myself reading it late into the night just to see what happens next. However, like most of the reviewers here, I was completely annoyed by the fact that Sherry did not call the police after she ran into the taco joint, and her behavior in this book was anything but realistic. In fact, several characters in this book were so far-fetched that it was difficult to fathom how Laymon could come up with them. That being said, the story is STILL a page turner, and that is a testament to Laymon's ability to create and maintain a suspenseful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Laymon's best, January 4, 2010
This review is from: Come Out Tonight (Audio CD)
Sherry and Duane are about to consummate their love (or whatever it is they have together) when some poor planning sends Duane out on a jaunt to the all-night Speed-D-Mart two blocks away for the appropriate supplies. After waiting for over an hour, and hearing what sounds very much like a gunshot, Sherry gets concerned and goes out to look for Duane.

This simple summary is the set-up for a night of terror that will soon involve Sherry's family, her sister's friends, and a trio of strangers with somewhat questionable motives, all doing their best to avoid and defeat a crazed teenager with the unforgettable name of Toby Bones. Come Out Tonight is a perfect example of Laymon's inimitable skill, and an excellent introduction to his particular style of writing.

Before I read Come Out Tonight, my favorite Richard Laymon novel was In the Dark, but two reads later, this one has displaced it. Sherry's and Toby's stories stay lodged in my memory unlike any other novel Laymon has written.

Laymon piles on all of the usual deviant behaviors found in the horror genre but levies them with his signature dark humor and a pure skill with words, resulting in a novel that was one of my quickest ever reads the first time around (less than 24 hours for a 400+ page book). The unabridged audiobook, read with range and insight by the prolific Gene Engene, took longer, of course, but it allowed me to get deeper into the characters by not allowing me to read any faster than Engene could speak.

What makes Come Out Tonight so memorable is Laymon's ability to truly get inside his characters. The chapters where two teenage boys nurse back to health a naked, nearly dead young woman found outside their house are some of the most realistically played scenes (from the standpoint of character motivation and action) of any novel I've read.

Laymon focuses on the conflicting emotions and thoughts that would occur in that situation, while never letting us know exactly what will happen next. In Come Out Tonight, as well as his other novels, he chronicles every detail of each event while never allowing a full description to slow down the action. And that is his appeal. The man is truly an artist; sex and violence are simply his medium of choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Come Out Tonight, June 3, 2007
By 
This review is from: Come Out Tonight (Mass Market Paperback)
Richard Laymon is a legend in the horror genre. His work is brutal, violent and, at times, almost pornographic. His novel Come Out Tonight is no exception. It is the story of Sherry Gates, and her scrape with a demented underage serial killer.

The novel opens with Sherry sending her boyfriend, Duane, to a local convenience store for condoms. When he doesn't return she gets nervous and goes out looking for him. She finds Duane's van, but she doesn't find him. This sparks an all night search, a chance meeting with a helpful older man and an encounter with two charmingly innocent teenage boys. And, somewhere in between, she is kidnapped, beaten, and raped. The plot takes a number of surprising turns. And in the end, it becomes difficult to tell the good guys from the bad.

Come Out Tonight opens with a bang. The prose is quick and sharp. The story is interesting and the characters are fun, even if a little familiar to anyone who has read Richard Laymon's work. It is dialogue rich, and a very quick read. Unfortunately, like many of Laymon's novels, it lacks a certain amount of believability. It is difficult to ignore the glaring fact that all of this pain, fear and downright horror could be escaped by simply picking up the telephone and dialing three numbers: 9-1-1.

While the characters motives are suspect, and not adequately explained, this is still a fun novel. The reader just has to ignore the obvious holes in the plot, and the fact that Laymon's characters never make the right decision. They always run down the wrong corridor, or choose the wrong road, or alley. They are innocent, or ignorant, of their true situations, and they always think they can handle it. They never, when it is available, ask for help. And, of course, their actions always lead them into deeper, darker and more frightening places.

Fortunately it is not as difficult to ignore the weaknesses, as it would seem. Richard Laymon can weave a great story and make you want to ignore the blemishes. He does it with a sturdy understanding of the tale and its impact on the audience. He tightens the suspense like a noose around the reader's neck. He makes you want to believe the tale. It is very much like a campfire story. You know it is not real, and could never be real, but somehow it still enthralls and even scares you just a little.

The action is violent and stuffed with sex--most of the novel is filled with sexual torture, but somehow, as written by Laymon it is less disturbing and nasty than it could be; perhaps because it is seemingly written through the eyes of a thirteen year-old boy. It is more fantasy than reality. And that fantasy is somehow innocent and almost coy.

Come Out Tonight is not for everyone. If you are offended by violence, sex, or just about anything else, avoid this book. If, on the other hand, you like a little heady action and quick-shot violence you just might like this offering. Be careful and don't take it too seriously, or we all may have to question both our sensibilities and our sanity.

Ben Boulden

Gravetapping: a thing for books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laymon Does it Again, June 28, 2005
By 
Joshua Koppel (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come Out Tonight (Mass Market Paperback)
Richard Laymon is great at writing novels that explore just how thin the veil is between civilization and savagery. He usually does this by putting a character in a situation where the normal restraints of civilization are at least temporarily absent. But a few of his books deal with the survivor and just how far a true survivor is willing to go to survive. This is one such book. The human monster in this book starts out as one although some readers will see a resemblance to the one in QUAKE.

A young substitute teacher named Sherry meets a human monster and gets sucked right into a world of terror. It starts when her boyfriend pops out to a convenience store to buy some condoms late one night while the Santa Ana winds blow. Shortly after Sherry's world gets turned over and then torn apart as the monster gets a hold of her. The monster also threatens her family. Sherry is subjected to a whole slew of horrors and degradations until the monster is done with her and moves on to her younger sister Brenda. Brenda gets a similar treatment along with some of her school mates. Does anyone survive? That is the beauty of a Laymon book. You can never be sure who will survive although you can usually guess a bunch that won't.

What makes this Laymon book different from say AFTER MIDNIGHT, is that we follow two different survivors, Sherry and then her sister. We also meet a few others along the way. But the read, with all of it's twist, turns and surprises, is all pure Laymon and no Laymon fan will be disappointed by this one. Definitely check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Laymon fans beware!, February 25, 2012
By 
coachtim (Indiana, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Come Out Tonight (Mass Market Paperback)
As a long-time fan and veteran reader of Richard Laymon's novels, I felt compelled to write this review of "Come Out Tonight" primarily as a warning to those who belong to his legion of followers. Comparing this to the 20 or so Laymon novels that I've read, this book has some of the most unbelievable and shallow characters to ever come from Laymon's vivid imagination. The plot is decent enough and certainly follows Laymon's recipe of fast-moving action combined with generous amounts of gore, sex, and violence. The plot is not the problem.

The story revolves around the stalking and eventual kidnapping of Sherry Gates by a deranged, murderous adolescent known as Toby Bones. As Sherry fights for her life against the advances of Bones, Laymon introduces a number of characters along the way that contribute in different ways to the plot. There are a sufficient number of twists to the storyline that kept me reading, but it was a struggle at times because of the sheer stupidity of the characters. (There was more than one time that I literally wanted to toss the book in the trash.) Laymon's reputation as a great storyteller usually includes great characterization. Unfortunately, that is certainly not the case in this book, in my humble opinion. At times I found myself actually rooting for Bones to knock off a couple of these stupid teenagers so that I could speed through the rest of the story and put it in the "finished" column.

If you a Laymon "completest", then you'll probably want to plod through this clunker. If you've new to Laymon's works, then avoid "Come Out Tonight" by all means. Pick up a copy of "Funland", The Traveling Vampire Show", "Island", "The Woods Are Dark" or any of the Beast House Chronicles to fully appreciate his churning plots and great stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never go to the Speed-D-Mart alone at night!!, August 31, 2006
By 
This review is from: Come Out Tonight (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed this book, although I thought the ending was a bit unlikely. But then if I'm honest there were quite a few bits of the book that I felt were very unlikely - HOWEVER...it still kept me up til way after midnight because the tension was so good.

It'd make a good slasher film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never go to the Speed-D-Mart alone at night!!, April 25, 2004
By 
This review is from: Come Out Tonight (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book, although I thought the ending was a bit unlikely. But then if I'm honest there were quite a few bits of the book that I felt were very unlikely - HOWEVER...it still kept me up til way after midnight because the tension was so good.
It'd make a good slasher film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Come Out Tonight
Come Out Tonight by Richard Laymon (Mass Market Paperback - July 1, 2005)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.