Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Essays from Trusted Authors
Come Thou Long-Expected Jesus is a collection of short essays on Christmas topics from writers that Nancy Guthrie respects--"essays that reflect a high view of Scripture; and that put the incarnation in the context of God's unfolding plan of redemption."

Included are pieces from the sermons, essays or books of both historical and contemporary Christians. I've...
Published on October 22, 2008 by Rebecca Stark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent book excerpting excellent preachers
This compilation by Nancy Guthrie contains short advent readings for the Christmas season. Readings come from a broad range of writers and time periods, though mostly of the reformed tradition. It was a good book to ready your heart for the holiday season. This morning (Christmas Eve), I read the final story by Joni Erickson Tada, which may have been one of the strongest...
Published 19 months ago by Jason Kanz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Essays from Trusted Authors, October 22, 2008
This review is from: Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus: Experiencing the Peace and Promise of Christmas (Paperback)
Come Thou Long-Expected Jesus is a collection of short essays on Christmas topics from writers that Nancy Guthrie respects--"essays that reflect a high view of Scripture; and that put the incarnation in the context of God's unfolding plan of redemption."

Included are pieces from the sermons, essays or books of both historical and contemporary Christians. I've decided that listing the contributors would be more useful than anything else in helping you decided whether these are essays you would enjoy reading, so here you are, from first to last:

* George Whitefield
* Joseph "Skip" Ryan
* Martin Luther
* John Piper
* Tim Keller
* Martyn Lloyd-Jones
* J. Ligon Duncan III
* Jonathan Edwards
* Charles Spurgeon
* Saint Augustine
* J. I. Packer
* John Calvin
* Alistair Begg
* Randy Alcorn
* John MacArthur
* Raymond C. Ortland, Jr.
* Francis Schaeffer
* J. C. Ryle
* James Montgomery Boice
* R. C. Sproul
* R. Kent Hughes
* Joni Eareckson Tada

Impressive, isn't it?

Some of the specific topics of the reflections are Mary, Joseph, the shepherds, the wise men, the wisemen's gifts, the Holy Spirit (he did, you remember, have a big role in the incarnation story), Christ's humility, his poverty, and what it means that he became flesh. As you might expect from any collection with pieces from various authors, some are easier to read than others. Some you'll whip through like a summer breeze, and for a few, you'll need your thinking cap.

And as you also might expect, some readings are better than others. The selections are mostly (maybe always) excerpted from larger works, so when I used the word essay to describe them, that was not quite right. That they are parts of larger wholes shows more in some readings than others. If you are expecting tight packages with precise beginnings, middles, ends, and all strings knotted, you may be disappointed a few times as you read through this book.

As I read, I marked two essays with an X, which is my indication that didn't like it or strongly disagreed with it, and one I marked with a question mark because I am unsure whether its whole premise stands. About half of the rest I enjoyed but didn't love, and I thought nine out of the twenty-two were quite wonderful. I won't be telling you which ones are which, since I read this book over a few weeks and have a hunch I didn't judge consistently over time.

I will tell you that my favorite reading was the last one, A Christmas Longing, by Joni Eareckson Tada. Christmas, Joni says, is still a promise, even for those who live on our side of the first Advent.

"Every Christmas is still a "turning of the page" until Jesus returns. Every December 25 marks another year that draws us closer to the fulfillment."

Ah yes! We don't reflect on this often enough, do we? Christmas calls us to celebrate a glorious event of the past, but it is (and maybe more so) a call to celebrate what is to come.

All in all, Nancy Guthrie gets a blue ribbon from me for her editing choices. The shortcomings in Come Thou Long-Expected Jesus are minor, and not really shortcomings at all, but rather, the unevenness that comes in any collection of essays, particularly when the selections are taken from many authors and from different centuries. I can't think of a Christmas anthology that is better than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have - for Christmas or anytime!, December 1, 2008
By 
Kristine (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus: Experiencing the Peace and Promise of Christmas (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to fully embrace the spirit of Christmas. This is a great anthology featuring insight by many highly esteemed authors and theologians. The variety of perspectives offer insight into the birth of Christ that one may have never considered. This book allowed me the chance to slow down my thoughts a bit, moving away from the commercial aspects of Christmas and really reflecting upon the significance of Christ's birth and the relevance of Christianity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic collection features gems of wisdom, December 12, 2008
This review is from: Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus: Experiencing the Peace and Promise of Christmas (Paperback)
In this collection Nancy Guthrie has brought together classic and contemporary Christian authors. She has arranged the 23 advent sermons in order according to the Christmas story. It makes a wonderful early morning companion or family dinner devotional throughout the season of preparing for Christmas. The writings chosen range from the complex to the simple, from the modern to the ancient, but all point the way to the arrival of Jesus as God's loving solution to man's dilemma. Reading one selection at a time, I am discovering authors whose work I will explore further. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great tool for family and personal reflection at Advent, February 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus: Experiencing the Peace and Promise of Christmas (Paperback)
Guthrie's edited anthology of Advent writings from a selection of mostly contemporary Protestant Reformed, theologians and pastors is a great tool for personal and family reflection at the Advent season. There are 22 readings, and unlike many books like this, they are not categorized by a suggested date of reading. Each reading can stand on its own as a reflection and spiritual teaching about a particular part of the Christmas season.

This is a contemporary set of readings, with 12 of the 22 authors still living. The strongest of the writings, I believe is Timothy Keller's excerpt of a sermon from December of 2001, with its references to gift, hurt, pain and God's work with the least of these, showing, tenderly, I think, that everyone is part of the least of these. The sermon was initially given as New York City was dealing with the aftermath of 9/11, and so it is particularly rooted in the shadow of that event.

It would have been great if this book had included some Puritan expositions of the beginning chapters of Matthew or Luke. Otherwise, the only pre-18th century authors here are Augustine, Luther & Calvin. So the depth of this book, from the conservative contemporary Reformed tradition is strong; but it might have greater reach if more older works were included or works from early Medieval or church fathers period were included.

This collection of writings is rich in Biblical exposition of the Advent of Christ and is recommend. The richness of gospel teaching will be a welcome antidote to the frenzy of the secular observances of Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Blessing, December 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus: Experiencing the Peace and Promise of Christmas (Paperback)
It is now 3 days before Christmas and I have been reading this each day for the past 20 or so days. The chapters are all written by wonderful Christian thinkers. Jesus has been glorified in my heart, mind and soul and I thank Nancy Guthrie for all the work she put into editing this book. I am going to order several more and give them as gifts next year--at Thanksgiving--so people can have them to prepare their hearts for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, January 14, 2009
This review is from: Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus: Experiencing the Peace and Promise of Christmas (Paperback)
if you are thinking of buying this book, chances are you don't need this review to convince you. this is a good christian perspective on the birth of jesus and christmas. if you are looking for something (like i was) to reorientate your thinking regarding the holiday season, this is a great tool. i would recommend it. it is not light reading. but the excerpts are relatively short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Advent readings, January 13, 2012
By 
rachel (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus: Experiencing the Peace and Promise of Christmas (Paperback)
I've read this book the past 2 years in the month leading up to Christmas and find that it helps me focus on the Advent season and the coming of our Savior. Perfect mix of readings and topics in the perfect length to read each day. I'm very glad that Nancy Guthrie compiled these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Addition to the Advent Season, December 22, 2011
This review is from: Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus: Experiencing the Peace and Promise of Christmas (Paperback)
This has been a nice part of my Advent season. Each reading is short and meaningful, deep without being difficult to understand. It was a great option to help keep my head screwed on straight this year. My only complaints: I wish there had been 25 readings instead of this oddly-chosen 22. There was also a conspicuous absence of female writers. Only one, Joni Eareckson Tada, was included. I find it hard to believe that there is such an absence of quality contributions from women in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book for quiet times by the Christmas tree, November 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus: Experiencing the Peace and Promise of Christmas (Paperback)
I bought this book in the summer and read through it at that time.

Now it is next to my Bible to be read one day at a time in December. The variety and quality of authors makes this an excellent advent resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, January 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus: Experiencing the Peace and Promise of Christmas (Paperback)
A great book to read during the entire Advent Season. The writings of this book are a constant reminder of the glorious hope behind Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus: Experiencing the Peace and Promise of Christmas
Come, Thou Long-Expected Jesus: Experiencing the Peace and Promise of Christmas by Francis A. Schaeffer (Paperback - August 6, 2008)
$12.99 $11.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.