Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maravilloso y divertido
Este libro vale la pena leerse por muchas razones, pero creo que la principal es contactarse con la propia necesidad de conectarse con lo divino y lo espiritual. Liz nos enseña a tomarle gusto a la vida, aún con todas sus vicisitudes. Me pude indentificar con algunas de la emociones y situaciones que describía, y me pareció muy valiente la...
Published on March 28, 2009 by Denise Escamilla Ortiz

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible translation
I read the book in Spanish, it easy for me since is my mother language. I found the book very bored and I thing the translation made was poor, very poor.
I won't recommend to read this book in Spanish.
Published on August 20, 2010 by Fortuna Bellande


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maravilloso y divertido, March 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Este libro vale la pena leerse por muchas razones, pero creo que la principal es contactarse con la propia necesidad de conectarse con lo divino y lo espiritual. Liz nos enseña a tomarle gusto a la vida, aún con todas sus vicisitudes. Me pude indentificar con algunas de la emociones y situaciones que describía, y me pareció muy valiente la manera en que las afrontó. Viajando por el mundo y sumergiéndose en otras culturas logra encontrarse a si misma, encontrarse con Dios, encuentra la paz, el equilibrio y el amor.

El secreto está en confirar en la vida. Ésta siempre nos proveera lo que necesitamos. A veces nos quita cosas y lo creemos injusto, pero lo mismo nos está haciendo un favor. Pero eso no lo entendemos sino hasta que ha pasado el tiempo. Y la vida siempre nos colocará dónde nos corresponde estar, y he aquí la eterna intervención de lo divino. Me parece un libro hermoso y muy bien escrito. Sobre todo es ameno e inspirador.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entrañable, divertido y profundo al mismo tiempo, November 18, 2007
Este libro es para cualquier mujer, de cualquier edad y condición, porque todas encontrarán en él algo con lo que identificarse.
Gilbert aborda con cierto humor y con inteligencia temas como el amor y el desamor, la vida, el éxito, el fracaso, la espiritualidad, el auto-conocimiento y mucho más.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible translation, August 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read the book in Spanish, it easy for me since is my mother language. I found the book very bored and I thing the translation made was poor, very poor.
I won't recommend to read this book in Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vale la pena!, March 12, 2009
Este libro me hizo reír y llorar, también me inspiró. Ya veo en nuestra sociedad, faltamos la espiritualidad. Creo que nuestra generación está desilusionado con la religión típica, pero no hay nada para llenar este vacío. Elizabeth Gilbert es una típica mujer de nuestra generación. Tiene éxito en su profesión, pero tiene hambre para algo más. En sus viajes, despierta su parte espiritual y empieza tener una vida más rica. Creo que este libro hablará a muchas mujeres y vale la pena.
(Perdona que español no es mi lengua materna!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Indulge, Gaze at Your Navel, Obsess, September 1, 2009
This book starts off well; it is well written, poignant, humorous, and insightful. Somewhere before the end of Italy though, Elizabeth Gilbert goes from all these lovely and positive traits to a person bent on proving that she deserves to have whatever the heck it is she wants. In fact, we should all do ourselves the favor of becoming self absorbed and selfish.

And that is the journey that Gilbert suffers us on. She deserves a break today and everyday and sets out to figure out, "What does Elizabeth want." Period.

And really how terrific is that, an advance for a book, this book, telling all of us how to achieve selfishness, like we need told, duh.

I really enjoyed the first third of the book, but Gilbert gets to be so full of herself, her wisdom, her desires that is just got b-o-r-i-n-g.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 8, 2008
By 
This book is amazing. I bought it cause one person in my family is going through something similar and it has really helped me to give her advice. I haven't finish the book but i can't stop reading it. Definitely something that happens to many women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mas de lo que imaginaba, July 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Tenia muchos deseos de leer el libro despues de que vi los previews de la pelicula, no queria gastar mucho dinero asi que ordene uno de los libros mas economicos. Tuve una gran sorpresa al recibirlo, es nuevo, esta en perfectas condiciones y la edicion es de muy buena calidad. Estoy muy conforme con mi compra y ya estoy buscando nuevos titulos para mis futuras ordenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No te lo pierdas, March 16, 2009
By 
InnateGirl (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
Come, reza, ama / Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia (Spanish Edition)

Este libro es muy buena para las mujeres de nuestra generación. Generalmente, las mujeres de nuestra generación estamos desilusionadas con toda la organización religiosa pero no hay nada para llenar este vacío. Elizabeth Gilbert describe todo ésto con su propia historia y por eso ella viaja para buscar algo más en referencia a todo ésto. Ella aprende a disfrutar de la vida en Italia y despierta su parte espiritual en India y descubre cómo amar en Bali.
Pienso, que este libro te hará reir, llorar y te llenará de inspiración.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars eat, pray, love, September 6, 2010
This review is from: Come, reza, ama / Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia (MTI) (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
This autobiographical tale of the writer, who is in my opinion an emotionally unstable woman, at age thirty-five spends a year in three different countries, following a very bad break up and divorce from a marriage. She goes to Italy, a country rich in art, history, music, architecture and incredible scenery, and spends her time ignoring all of this to gorge herself on rich Italian food. Then she travels to India to spend time in an Ashram to contemplate and find God. Finally she flies to Bali, in Indonesia, to study with a medicine man. In this place she meets a man with whom she falls in love.
In this present world there are many love affairs which go sour, many marriages that fall apart, many couples who separate,and many who seek solace and peace with God. However, most people do not have the luxury of traveling to other lands or exotic places to "find" themselves. I felt the author was just taking an ego trip but because she has a reputation as a writer, was able to have her work published. I purchased the book because the title intrigued me. I read it from beginning to end because I kept thinking I would find something worthwhile in it and because I have a policy to finish each book I start. But I was sorely tempted to deposit it in the "round file" after the first few pages. I found nothing to make me either sympathize or empathize with the author. Alma Winters,Author-Once Upon a Time Tales
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Navel gazing for dummies, January 14, 2011
By 
bagman29 (Phoenix, Arizona) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Come, reza, ama / Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia (MTI) (Spanish Edition) (Paperback)
Its no wonder we have a culture of narcissism when this book becomes such a hit.

An unbelievably self-absorbed divorcee gets a paid-for, year long trip across the world and spends all of her boring us to death with her pages and pages of over-the-top self reflection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.