Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done - a keeper!
This book is a very nice history of the San Francisco Giants' journey through 2012 to winning the MLB World Series championship. The book compiles key articles primarily by the San Jose Mercury News' Giants Beat Writer, Alex Pavlovic, who provided excellent team coverage all season. Other BayAreaNewsGroup articles are by Carl Stewart, Dan Brown, Monte Poole, etc. Some of...
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good review of the season, but read it all before.
Great sum up of the 4 WS games and notable moments and characters of the season, bit if you have been reading the Bay Area News Group articles and blog posts over the season, you have read this before. Nice pictures. Can't complain - read it from the library. Can be a good souvenir of a great season, but there are other books out there that I haven't read yet that might...
Published 16 months ago by C. Haller


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done - a keeper!, November 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a very nice history of the San Francisco Giants' journey through 2012 to winning the MLB World Series championship. The book compiles key articles primarily by the San Jose Mercury News' Giants Beat Writer, Alex Pavlovic, who provided excellent team coverage all season. Other BayAreaNewsGroup articles are by Carl Stewart, Dan Brown, Monte Poole, etc. Some of the articles are specific to individual 2012 Giants or cover special moments like Matt Cain's Perfect Game.

You can't turn a page without seeing a large photo of an individual Giants player or a team moment. It is enjoyable just to flip pages to see the photos, much less read the accompanying articles. History in the making, documented.

Lots of 2012 World Series Champion Giants memories are captured in this book! I consider it a "must have" keeper for every SF Giants fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good review of the season, but read it all before., May 19, 2013
By 
Great sum up of the 4 WS games and notable moments and characters of the season, bit if you have been reading the Bay Area News Group articles and blog posts over the season, you have read this before. Nice pictures. Can't complain - read it from the library. Can be a good souvenir of a great season, but there are other books out there that I haven't read yet that might be better or more original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It was just articles from the newspaper which I had already read. Not much to it., January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Comeback Kings: The San Francisco Giants' Incredible 2012 Championship Season (Kindle Edition)
It was just articles from the newspaper which I had already read. Not much to it. It was a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's cheap on kindle, December 19, 2012
By 
R. Tinsman (San Francisco, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been following the Giants pretty closely, and was looking for something I could read on my iPad on BART and relive the great moments :)
I ended up buying this, because it's only 3.99 on Kindle, but there are a couple strikes against it, just based on what I saw on the preview:
- Kinda thin, only 100 pages
- It has the World Series first, then the rest of the season up to that...what's up with that?
- In the absolute last game, WS Game 4, the winning run by Theriot and Scutaro was described in a fair amount of detail, but Romo going 1-2-3 and striking out freaking Miggy Cabrera was barely mentioned...well, this is what I mean by thin.

If you want to spend more than four bucks, I'm sure you could do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book!, June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My son is huge Giants fan and got this book for Easter. He really has enjoyed reading it. I definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars adequate re-telling, March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Comeback Kings: The San Francisco Giants' Incredible 2012 Championship Season (Kindle Edition)
Good blending of stats and quotes. I wish it would've included more dramatic storytelling...most of the quotes stay limited to comments about the individual game played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Comeback Kings: The San Francisco Giants' Incredible 2012 Championship Season (Kindle Edition)
I liked reading this book. Going over the stories during the playoff and series were fun to read again. I only wish it was a little more personal. The book about the 2010 Giants was a little better to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Giants fans, January 12, 2014
By 
Linda Downs (Modesto, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great documentary of the SF Giants second championship and how they never gave up even when the deck was stacked against them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed reading the stories but I thought the end of the NL championship games was not covered enough., December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would of started the story with the post season not the World Series. Took away the drama of the Reds and game three going in extra innings to save the Giants. Was a good read though for a Giant fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comeback kings, February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Comeback Kings: The San Francisco Giants' Incredible 2012 Championship Season (Kindle Edition)
This book was very good I recommend it to all giants fans it tells about the games leading up to the world series and the world series itself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.