Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars24
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 12, 2012
This book is a very nice history of the San Francisco Giants' journey through 2012 to winning the MLB World Series championship. The book compiles key articles primarily by the San Jose Mercury News' Giants Beat Writer, Alex Pavlovic, who provided excellent team coverage all season. Other BayAreaNewsGroup articles are by Carl Stewart, Dan Brown, Monte Poole, etc. Some of the articles are specific to individual 2012 Giants or cover special moments like Matt Cain's Perfect Game.

You can't turn a page without seeing a large photo of an individual Giants player or a team moment. It is enjoyable just to flip pages to see the photos, much less read the accompanying articles. History in the making, documented.

Lots of 2012 World Series Champion Giants memories are captured in this book! I consider it a "must have" keeper for every SF Giants fan.
0Comment13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
I've been following the Giants pretty closely, and was looking for something I could read on my iPad on BART and relive the great moments :)
I ended up buying this, because it's only 3.99 on Kindle, but there are a couple strikes against it, just based on what I saw on the preview:
- Kinda thin, only 100 pages
- It has the World Series first, then the rest of the season up to that...what's up with that?
- In the absolute last game, WS Game 4, the winning run by Theriot and Scutaro was described in a fair amount of detail, but Romo going 1-2-3 and striking out freaking Miggy Cabrera was barely mentioned...well, this is what I mean by thin.

If you want to spend more than four bucks, I'm sure you could do better.
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2013
Great sum up of the 4 WS games and notable moments and characters of the season, bit if you have been reading the Bay Area News Group articles and blog posts over the season, you have read this before. Nice pictures. Can't complain - read it from the library. Can be a good souvenir of a great season, but there are other books out there that I haven't read yet that might be better or more original.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
It was just articles from the newspaper which I had already read. Not much to it. It was a quick read.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2012
I am a life-long Giants fan. The book captured the postseason very well and proved that the Giants were the best team. While individuals may have come up huge at various times, this was a true TEAM championship. This book showed exactly how the TEAM won it all!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2013
While merely a collection of articles from BANG's files, it does capture the excitement of the time. The stories were written at the time, not after the season, so they are very immediate(particularly the ones after the losses). A definite buy for any G's fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
The pictures alone make this book worth it! Great stories about the 2012 season filled with some unforgettable images. We live on the east coast now, but my husband is a diehard Giants fan. He was so excited to receive this for his birthday!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2012
Some articles were a good "look back" on the Series, but others seemed to be projections from last Spring, etc. - I don't have much interest in looking back on projections. I don't care for projections in the present, for that matter.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
I liked reading this book. Going over the stories during the playoff and series were fun to read again. I only wish it was a little more personal. The book about the 2010 Giants was a little better to me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2013
I would of started the story with the post season not the World Series. Took away the drama of the Reds and game three going in extra innings to save the Giants. Was a good read though for a Giant fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse