Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
47
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 28, 2007
I swear i think this is one of the funniest comedy roast's i have ever seen in my life!!! All the comedians were dogging so bad on Flavor Flav....especially Jeff Ross and Lisa Lampanelli. I would DEFINATELY recommend this to other viewers. i will be buying this as soon as it comes to DVD on Feb. 12, 2008...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2015
This roast was surprisingly funny! I've always thought Flavor Flav was ridiculous and I didn't know who he was. It was a bit awkward when Bridget Nielsen and Carrot Top did their sets because they just weren't that funny and you could tell they weren't going over all.

Aside from those two the rest of the roasters killed it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon April 2, 2009
Several joke SPOILERS ahead.

William Drayton aka Flavor Flav, he who rocks the clock necklace and is rap's hype man of all hype men, as well as a dubious reality TV star, gets his kiester fully roasted - and it's a show well worth the watching. This laugh-a-second event, debuting on television August 12, 2007 on Comedy Central, is definitely not for the faint-hearted. The humor is abundantly vulgar and oh-so-scandalous. I was startled that the uncut version (but with commercials) was televised until I remembered the same thing was done for a re-airing of the Pamela Anderson roast. But this one...daaammn. This one'll rip your guts out as you laugh and maybe collapse in shock off your sofa and onto your back pocket. Nothing is taboo, nothing is too PC. The things they say...

The festivities begin with a pre-opening credits assist from his Public Enemy cohort Chuck D, who drops him off and then skeddadles the hell out ("Chuck D wanted to be here tonight...but D stands for Dignity."). Then Katt Williams is introduced as the Roast Master. Now Katt Williams may style himself as a comedic pimp, but he's a short, tiny dude, a fact which doesn't go unnoticed by the dais. But Williams guides the show well and brings it with his brand of urban humor, even if he does sound remarkably like Eddie Griffin.

The professional comics do themselves proud, leaving no stone unturned and no guest on stage untouched. First roaster Greg Giraldo has a great line regarding Ice-T's age: "You're so old, the first thing you bought with your record deal money was your freedom." CarrotTop may well have tied with Lisa Lampanelli in "who got themselves torn a new one" department, although he held his own when his turn came (but, yes, he brought out the props). Jimmy Kimmel, Jeffrey Ross, and Pat Oswald, who all must be on some sort of Comedy Central roast retainer, strafed the dais with blistering disses. A comedienne named Sommore is decent. Even the rappers took a turn with the jokes and came up with some good zingers; I particularly like Snoop Dogg's bag on his buddy Ice-T about his music (don't get it twisted, I'm a fan of Ice-T's; the jokes were just way funny). Meanwhile, Snoop also busted a rhyme acapella. Finally, there's a reason Lisa Lampanelli, the potty mouthed Queen of Mean, is saved for the closer position. She is just howlingly funny. And, yes, predictably, she again brought down the house. Meanwhile, the Flavor of Love girls were in the audience and did not pass unscathed.

Regarding the man of the hour himself, Flavor Flav, this is the cleanest joke I can divulge, and it's from the cranky Jeffrey Ross: "Starving children send you 50 cents a day." The rest of the stuff is just too filthy to mention. As I've said, the shock factor is pretty high. There are brutal references to Magic Johnson, Michael Vick, James Brown's corpse, and even Chris Benoit. So, as a warning, if you can't stand the heat, if your feelings are easily ruffled, if you're of the uptight persuasion and tend to say things like, "Well, I never!" - well, then, don't.

The only one of the roasters to fail abjectly is Bridgitte Nielsen, who comes off as trying too hard and, worse, just isn't funny. I felt as awkward for her as I felt bad for the fumbling Farrah Fawcett in the Comedy Central Roast of William Shatner (Uncensored). Flavor Flav, when it was time for him to give as good as he got, didn't. But that's okay. Folks expecting this cat to be out-of-the-blue funny and witty is inhaling too much around Snoop. For me, this show's not about Flavor Flav. It's about the jokes. And, in that regard, I got my money's worth.

Also, it's nice to see Spinderella (of Salt 'n Pepa) once again spinning the wheels of steel. Damn, that DJ made my day.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2013
I never laughed so hard in all my life! Not the type of thing you'd be comfortable watching if you're the only black guy at a party full of white folk, or vice versa, perhaps. Even my liberal, politically correct friends couldn't stop laughing try as they might! Its so refreshing to hear comedians of both races unleash on a guy like Flav with things everyone says in private amongst their own race. And SSOOOOOOO hilarious!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2013
If you watched this one regular tv with almost the entire thing with bleeps left and right. You have to get this DVD. Snoop, Lisa Lampenelli they are very funny. They bleep his ho's reactions on tv so it's funny to watch their reactions to the jokes at their expense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2011
This was sooo funny. Almost everyone was funny, even Snoop Dog and ICE-T, and of course Ross and Giraldo killed it as usual. Check this one out. As always with these DVD's my only gripe is the lack of extras.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
I love this film it is so funny but for those of you who are selective to jokes concerning race and ethics, this film is not for you. There are so many black jokes and other sexual jokes. However it is still one of the best roasts of all time and comes recommended by me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2011
One of the Comedy Central roast gems! Jeff Ross, Greg Giraldo (R.I.P.), Lisa Lampinelli, Snoop Dogg, Katt Williams, Ice T and others rip into Flav and everyone else on the dais. Hilarious! Even an apparently relapsed (and spooky) Brigitte Nielson is there (is this before or after Celebrity Rehab?). Flavor Flav is the best sport, laughing at the jabs against him and everyone else. Worth watching anytime you want to laugh and laugh and laugh!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2008
Overall, really funny. I was upset to find they changed the music to some generic, instrumental pieces instead of actual radio songs. The clearest example being during the Snoop Dogg intro; when he gets to the podium, 'Snoop D.O. Double G' is playing and he moves with it and is following the beat very well. In the DVD version, he is still moving, but looks stupid as the new song has one beat and his movements have a completely different beat.

Other than that, I thought it was a very funny DVD and worth the $14.99 I paid.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2010
Probably second only to the Pam Anderson Comedy Central Roast, the Flavor Flav roast is raunchy, irreverent and insanely funny. The CC roasting core of Greg Giraldo, Lisa Lampanelli and Jeff Ross once again deliver the goods in the most politically incorrect way imaginable. Even Snoop and Ice-T are funny! Very explicit language, so if that kind of thing offends you, don't buy this DVD. Otherwise, it's a must-have roast and one of the funniest DVDs out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse