Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars39
Format: DVDChange
Price:$4.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 31, 2009
This was an easy choice to by for me. I saw the censored version first and loved it. The roast is incredibly funny and I watch it a lot. Cloris Leachman is hysterical as well as Gilbert Godfrey. The bonus materials are good but not something that I would watch very often specially compared to the roast.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2009
Great roast, like most of the other ones...can't wait to see more of Comedy Central's lampoonings in the future. Be warned though...uncut and uncensored means raunchy and inappropriate, so this probably isn't for the easily offended. Everyone else, feel free to enjoy.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2012
A rare display of integrated comedy brilliance. Cloris Leachman would have stole the show if it weren't of the fact that so many of the performances were also so well wrought. This included the classic bitting roast material by Greg Giraldo, a quintessentially warped exposition by Gilbert Godfied, and a brazenly surreal and histerical performance by Norm Mcdonald. There's a few contrived moments and false notes, especially in the prerecorded and more highly scripted material, that lacked the reactive catalyst of the live material, but the shine on this show was too bright to dull the finish much.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 9, 2010
Not quite as funny as the Pamela Anderson Roast, this destruction/homage to Bob Saget is nonetheless funny. With a semi-lame John Stamos as Roastmaster, it was up to the various comedians and presenters to step up their game.

Cloris Leachman's deadpan performance and references to years past are hilarious, but when she drops the bomb that she's just at the event so she can F*#@ John Stamos, things get really funny. You haven't been shocked until you've heard Leachman say "reach around." Aside from a few weak contributions from Brian Posehn and John Lovitz, and three people (Sarah Silverman, Lewis Black, and Don Rickles) who were completely unfunny in their pre-taped appearances, other noteworthy performers delivered. Stalwarts Greg Giraldo, Jim Norton, and King of Roasts Jeffrey Ross all had several good jabs at not only Saget but others on stage. The most hilarious presentation, however, was delivered by gravel-voiced comedian Gilbert Gottfried when he continued to mention that "Bob Saget raped and killed a girl in 1990."

This Roast is also noteworthy because Norm Macdonald delivered the classic anti-Roast string of jokes that were so straight-faced and ridiculous that they caused tears of laughter from several comedians on stage. He intentionally bombed, and ended up being the one person remembered from this Roast the most. Some don't get it, but Macdonald is simply brilliant in his series of lame, 1950s-era puns mixed with raunchier material in his signature delivery.
33 comments3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2009
Having always found Bob Saget immensely overrated (refer my separate review of his standup) I reluctantly glanced at a few minutes of this only to be amazed at the quality of 'the Roasters material' - and even though I am sure they were meant to be mean I in fact agreed with most of their conclusions as to the lack of depth and substance of Saget be it as a TV show host (America's Funniest Home Videos), soap star (Full House), or as a standup comedian.

Sure his peers were raunchy and a tad too keen to swear (for my taste) but they were generally charming and witty which made it digestible... contrary to Saget's standup.

Much to my surprise however Saget actually kept his composure well and actually delivered a brief 'thank you speech' in the end that was both funny and clever - may this start a new chapter and may he make use of this new skill in any future shows.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2015
While growing up on the hit television shows Full House and American's Funniest Home Videos and then seeing this roast of Bob Saget...I was at first shocked at all the shock value humor but gradually fell in love with it after watching it again with friends and laughed my face off! I mean I was used to The Dean Martin Celebrity Roasts with there tongue in cheek dirty humor but this goes above and beyond that! I guess what shocked me the most was after all the comedians that roasted Bob Saget that evening that Cloris Leachman was truly the funniest person there...probably because of her delivery! I recommend this roast to watch again and again especially with your friends because it never got old for me and the laughs were still there!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2013
These Comedy Central Roasts are always hysterical, but the problem is they are much too long! Ok, how many times can you make jokes about Bob being a dork and doing the Olson twins. They try to break up the monotony by having the guests rip on each other first, but like ripping on the host it gets old fast! Every guest is ripped on at least 7-8 times!? Many of the jokes are the same and by the end you're just like enough already. I realize the ratings are high and it's a chance to promote your other talent, but it really should be 3-5 close friends of the guest giving each other s***, and it's shouldn't ever be more than 45 minutes with commercials.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 10, 2010
For a while Bob Saget enjoyed a stint as television's favorite dad. He then parlayed this inch of fame into hosting a bloopers show and then into a new career as a dirty comic (except that he probably always was a dirty comic). This "reinvention" then becomes the focal thrust of the dais's skewering of Bob Saget as he garners his own Comedy Central roast. His old crony, John Stamos, acts as Roastmaster and he's surprisingly adequate with his rehearsed lines and big toothy grin and perfect hair (damn straight I'm jealous).

As usual, with these roasts, foul aspersions are cast and shockingly gleefully inappropriate language is bandied about. The air that evening hung heavy with cringe-inducing (but in a good way) barbs aimed at the Olson twins and at how Saget brought the creepy and how minuscule his nub of comedic talent and how guest roaster Cloris Leachman is as old as friggin' dirt. It's pretty funny stuff. There are taped bits from Sarah Silverman (amusing) and Don Rickles (meh). Jon Lovitz, Greg Giraldo, Brian Posehn, Jeffrey Ross, and Jim Norton do their thing. And plus you can witness Norm McDonald's slow painful death at the lectern (or maybe I just don't get his "humor"). However, Norm does have a good comeback when Jim Norton bags on his performance. Jeff Garland does an impression for his bit, but it's maybe a little too inside-jokey.

Two people absolutely destroy the room, absolutely own it. One of them, unexpectedly, delightfully, is Cloris Leachman who opens her set with "I am not here to roast Bob Saget. I'm here to fu-- John Stamos." - and from there she doesn't look back. Her act alone is so epic it makes me rate this DVD 5 stars out of 5, never mind that there are some lame segments in the show. But my favorite roast arrives courtesy of Gilbert Gottfried who is just fearless. Gottfried was so good he had his fellow insult comedians on that dais rollin' on the floor. Gilbert screeches: "Mary-Kate and Ashley Olson walk into a bar..." The rest of the joke is horrifyingly hilarious.

The guest of honor, Mr. Bob Saget, makes for a grand, good-natured audience, and it's fun watching his reactions as he's subjected to various humiliations. His rebuttal isn't bad. Except that he had to follow Gilbert Gottfried. FULL HOUSE alums Dave Coulier, Jodie Sweetin, and Lori Loughlin grace the audience, their fifteen minutes I guess not yet up, and the cameras cut to them often, and they're often laughing their fool heads off. Fun to see. For some reason, Alan Thicke is also in the audience. But maybe they needed a seat filler.

Bonus features: "Behind the Scenes" - a clip featuring brief red carpet interviews with Lori Loughlin, Dave Coulier, Jeffrey Ross, Jodie Sweetin, Cloris Leachman, and Bob Saget (00:01:06 minutes long); a Bob Saget Interview (00:02:27); "After the Roast" - post-roast interviews with Cloris Leachman and Saget, and also annoying bits where the no-name interviewer inserts his stupid jokes (00:05:25); "On the Blue Carpet" - more pre-roast interviews with folks on the dais and in the audience (00:11:09); and Comedy Central Quickies are segments culled from the following Comedy Central shows: SOUTH PARK ("Mr. Cartmanez"), THE DAILY SHOW WITH JON STEWART ("Baracknophobia"), THE COLBERT REPORT ("Cookie Monster"), and RENO 911! ("Proztitution Sting").
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
For the most part, people buy roasts like these because the TV networks can't air them uncensored (curse the outdated FCC!), and because there's no commercials on these. The format is no different than other roasts, but you do get to see the 'true' side of Bob Saget, if you haven't already.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2015
I ordered this as a Christmas gift kind of late but I got it really quickly and I am very pleased with that. The disc however does seem to be unattached inside the packaging and moving around I don't think that should have an effect on it being watchable
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse