Comfortably Yum and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$13.47
Qty:1
  • List Price: $15.00
  • Save: $1.53 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Want it Monday, April 28? Order within and choose Two-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Comfortably Yum: Food for Body and Spirit Paperback


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.47
$13.47

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

100 M&T
100 Mysteries & Thrillers to Read in a Lifetime
Looking for something good to read? Browse our picks for 100 Mysteries & Thrillers to Read in a Lifetime, brought to you by the Amazon Book Editors.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 158 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (May 20, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1442145056
  • ISBN-13: 978-1442145054
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 8.2 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,132,748 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From the Author

Luisa Perkins has been cooking for over 30 years (and eating for even longer). She lives with her husband and their six children in the Hudson Highlands of New York.

About the Author

Luisa Perkins is the author of the YA novel Shannon's Mirror and a contributor to the essay collection Silent Notes Taken. Her short story "Dodmen and the Holophusikon" was recently produced as a podcast on StreamPod.org, and her story "Truck Stop" appears in the March issue of the webzine Noctober. She lives and cooks in the Hudson Highlands with her husband and their six children.

More About the Author

Luisa Perkins loves abandoned houses, ancient trees, and graveyards. Reading a great novel while eating homemade cookies is her idea of heaven. She and her family live in a small town in Southern California.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 9 customer reviews
It has become the cookbook I use the most.
Kate Murphy
This book is actually a love letter to her family and friends, and she has beautiful commentary throughout, including humorous "Prelude" and "Postlude" sections.
J. S. Haines
And, like many of her recipes, they are so versatile.
Jenna Consolo

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By J. S. Haines on June 1, 2009
Format: Paperback
I was extremely excited to find out that Ms. Perkins, a talented home chef, was putting out her own cookbook.

My excitement increased as I tore through my copy of "Comfortably Yum" and found that my all-time favorite food quote (the description of breakfast from Laura Ingalls Wilder's "Farmer Boy") was Ms. Perkins's pick for the intro. to her Breakfast section. I knew that my keen anticipation had not been in vain.

What I love about Ms. Perkins's philosophy about food is that it is a gift to be enjoyed, and that if people have "food issues" that's about other things and choices they make, not about recipes prepared well. She doesn't stint in the use of butter or sugar, and she has this marvelous story about her mother-in-law:

"Last Thanksgiving, my friend Tina Fairweather asked her (Luisa's mother-in-law) how to make it(cream of vegetable soup); my mother-in-law began giving instructions in response.When she came to the cup of milk and the cup of heavy cream, Tina asked, 'So you could use half-and-half, then?'
My mother-in-law replied in gracious but firm tones, 'Oh, no. I find there is no substitute for heavy cream.' Amen, Mother, amen."

Ms. Perkins also manages to convey her patience and kind heart via her writing: she presents an extremely useful ingredients/tools section at the beginning, which will certainly help in re-creating the recipes to their best advantage.

This book is actually a love letter to her family and friends, and she has beautiful commentary throughout, including humorous "Prelude" and "Postlude" sections. The Prelude concerns Ms. Perkins's personal history with food, and the Postlude contains some of her philosophy about food and enjoyment. Ms.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By dianamu on May 29, 2009
Format: Paperback
In the tradition of Laurie Colwin and Ann Hodgman, Luisa Perkins serves up her own rich portions of entertaining prose and time-tested, delicious recipes in her new book, Comfortably Yum. Many (maybe all?) of these recipes can be found on Luisa's wonderful blog, Novembrance, but now they're here in one place and, much to my delight, on my kitchen counter.

Each recipe (whether reprinted, reinvented, or "reverse-engineered") reflects the writer's love of good food and generosity of spirit. Perkins is liberal (or, shall we say, progressive) with her use of heavy cream, butter, milk, and cheese. She has my unflagging affection for her description of eggs (pg. 143) as "Nature's perfect food."

There is wisdom in Luisa's approach to food: "Food is a blessing," she writes. "Don't worship it, but do savor it.... Share it with as many people as you can." Amen, Luisa, amen.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Jenna Consolo on November 20, 2009
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
While it's true that Luisa Perkins is my friend, it is not true that all of my friends are talented and trustworthy cooks. With Luisa, however, you can't go wrong following any recipe or any piece of culinary advice she has to offer. Everything she touches is like gold to me. Luisa is one of those women who does everything wholeheartedly. With whatever she wishes to excel at, she is a diligent student, and as a result, her efforts are blessed with success. So when I was told the news that a whole collection of Luisa's culinary masterpieces would be published all in one binding? I had to have it!

As I made my menus for the last several weeks I scheduled in many of her tried-and-true recipes. I wanted to try some of everything before I wrote this review. I can't think of anything more enjoyable. Plus, I felt connected to my soul-friend who lives at the other side of the country from me.

When Comfortably Yum arrived in my mailbox from Amazon, the first thing I had to do (because I'm a nerd like that) was to read it cover to cover like a novel. Yes, I read cookbooks. And a good one will not let a reader down! This one was no exception. Even if you have a complete aversion to tasty food and being anywhere near a kitchen, you would find yourself thoroughly entertained by Luisa's narrations throughout the book. Several times I was laughing out loud, and there was more than one "Amen, sister" uttered vocally.

For instance, the first recipe we tried was "Cranberry Upside-Down Tart", which begins with this introduction:

"I got this recipe from a lovely German lady in our congregation (of course, I've monkeyed with it).
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Kate Murphy on November 22, 2009
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I am a self proclaimed foodie. I love to cook and I really, really love to eat. If any part of that statement sounds like you or someone you know, this is the cookbook for you.

Luisa has filled every page with her love of cooking and food and her years of experiment and research. Her descriptions are as delightful as the recipes. I have torn through the book and made at least two recipes from each category in only a few short months. I can't stop thinking about the butter cream frosting and sour cream chocolate cake. I make "Patrick's Pasta Sauce" at least once a week. My husband, a self proclaimed pasta hater, had three generous helpings of the lasagna last Sunday. There isn't one recipe I've come across that has made me think anything less than "WOW."

The book is always in my recipe stand, open to some amazing meal I plan to tackle next. It has become the cookbook I use the most. I've just purchased additional copies to give as Christmas gifts to all the chefs in my life.

This book is a cooking must. Buy it now!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Search
ARRAY(0xa0eee804)