Customer Reviews

601
4.1 out of 5 stars
Command Medium Hooks, White, 6-Hook
Size Name: 6 HooksChange
Price:$7.19 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
It might sound silly that I would review something so small, so simply but it's also so effective.

I bought a 6Pack of Medium Command Hooks which came with 12 adhesive strips so that you can reuse the hooks. This is perfect when you don't have any air tools and don't want to leave a mess.

Right now I'm using 3 of them in my cook/shoe closet to hang up my broom, Swiffer and the previously mentioned Swiffer Duster. Because I have no space in my pantry and no other kitchen closet, I had to shove these items in my coat closet. However, the floor was already full of shoes so I decided to "build up" instead.

Peel off the line on the adhesive strips, stick it to the hook, stick the hook on the wall and wait an hour. The medium sized hooks are meant to hold up to 3lbs but 3M makes hooks as small as mini and as large as jumbo as well as hooks with different shapes and even chrome hooks to add a little style.

So far, I've had no problems. The hooks stick wonderfully and my Swiffer Wet is probably over the 3lb limit (although the fluid bottle is not full).

When it comes time to take them down, all I need to do is push up on the hook and it will slide off, revealing the end of the adhesive tab. Removing them, which I have done before, is simply a matter of pulling the tab until it comes undone and your wall is free of damage and residue.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
If you're using these for Christmas decorations, don't listen to the commercials - always buy the bigger ones because they do actually work. These smaller ones, although more compact, really cannot hold that much weight and you will have all your decorations come crashing to the ground. They're a great product, when they work, but if you read the label and buy accordingly, you'll be sorry. Just size up on these and you'll be fine. Learned that the hard way! Recommend, but with the above suggestions.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
on October 26, 2011
I have only used one of these so far, and while I don't anticipate putting much weight on this hook there is one thing I must mention.

They do NOT hold well on textured surfaces like dry-wall with said surface and latex paint. The first experiment showed that the surface had to be lightly sanded to give a more consistent surface texture, and then cleaned. I used a 400 grade sandpaper, and cleaned the surface with a rubbing alcohol swab.

This time the connection is very tight, and I will always "level" a surface before I start putting one in place, if you are putting it on a smooth surface, just be sure to clean it with something like the rubbing alcohol.

CCW.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on December 2, 2013
This product is terrible. I actually came to my computer to write a review. One is currently stuck on my front door because the tab I am supposed to pull off to remove it ripped and now I have to scrape it off with a knife. Another ripped a large circle of paint off my mantle after not being able to hold Christmas garland. Furious. Would not recommend.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on August 19, 2012
I actually bought my hooks from Lowe's, not Amazon but they are the exact same size and brand and I love buying online so I thought I'd share my experience.

So glad to say these hooks stick a lot better than I thought they would - they were a last resort for hanging up my shoe organizer - I lost the original hooks which latched over the top of the door. I purchased some different over-the-door hooks, but they were too big for the holes. Luckily, the store clerk showed me these and said that a lot of customers actually come in to the store looking for them specifically.

After 2 days, the shoe organizer is still hanging securely to the door even with several pairs of boots and other shoes on it.
review image review image
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on March 16, 2013
I purchased these hooks because I rent my house, so I don't like to put a ton of holes in the walls if I can help it. These 3M command products claim to be easily removable without leaving marks on walls. This is not true, in my experience. I hung these according to the directions on the package. I recently decided to move the hooks to a new location, so I removed the front of the hook, and pulled down on the sticky tab (this is what the directions say is required to "easily" remove the adhesive, and Yes, I pulled STRAIGHT down). First, the tab itself tore away from the rest of the strip. I then had nothing to pull on, so I saw no other option than to pry the adhesive from the wall, at which time the adhesive tore away the paint and top layer of drywall (I've submit an image of my wall). This is going to require sanding and repainting, which, in my opinion, is more work than simply filling a small nail/screw hole with drywall putty.

I will not be purchasing anymore 3M Command products. The only reason I gave 2 stars instead of 1 is because they did work well while on the wall. They didn't fall off, so they DID to their job in that respect. But the easy removal was the only reason I purchased these over regular hooks, and in this respect they did not perform as advertised for me.
review image
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on March 25, 2010
I love these hooks! I set them up throughout my dorm apartment, and they have never once failed me. I can hang a bath towel (pretty heavy, I would say!) and hand towel onto one hook, and they will remain on it perfectly. I also use them to hang purses and totes, winter coats, belts, and a dry erase board. They have -never- "sunk" or loosened - all the hooks remain firmly in the position I set them up in (which, by the way, was a breeze!). I highly recommend these hooks and can't see why others didn't like them - maybe they messed up on adhering them to the wall? Or maybe they just tried to hang too much - every product does have its limit, after all. But, with proper use, these hooks sure have been a valuable addition to my apartment!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on September 3, 2010
These things are rated at three pounds but it seems like they can hold a little more. They even work well on uneven wall surfaces. My room has walls made of the painted cinder block material and you can recall how bumpy it is. Not only do these adhere to the surface, but they remain strong. Very satisfied!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on February 23, 2013
I've been using these hooks for years now and I think I've had it. Never have I exceeded the load capacity of any size. I've used them as coat hooks, towel hooks, purse hooks ... I am pretty happy I've never hung wall art as every hook eventually breaks.

Either the hook plastic itself gives out or the sticky contact gives out. I just hung a light purse with a wallet and a makeup bag on a hook that is supposed to handle 10lbs. The hook's been on the wall for two years. I've replaced it ... well if I were going to putz around and re-replace it this time, this would be replacement #3.

You can follow the directions to the T. Clean the wall. Dry the wall. Put the stick back on it and don't put weight on it for a minimum of an hour, I'll let it go 3 hours. It doesn't matter - these things give out all the time, every time. They're not reliable. All they are is a profit generating gimmick for Command.

I'm not ever buying them again.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on June 14, 2012
I bought these hooks at Lowe's simply to hang pictures. My items were very lightweight, but even so these hooks did not hold any of them up. I purchased the correct sizes according to the packages. I feel they were an extremely poor investment and I urge people to reconsider purchasing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 26 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.