Customer Reviews

51
3.7 out of 5 stars
Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars - Xbox 360
Platform: Xbox 360Edition: StandardChange
Price:$25.00 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
Most of the negative comments from previous reviewers are probably from those who are used to playing RTS games on PC's. I, myself, have never played an RTS on a PC, so I cannot relate to those folks. What I can say is that this game is addictive and insanely fun on the 360. You'd be surprised how quickly you can get used to the controls. The graphics and sound are terrific. Movement is smooth and fluid. There is hardly any lag during intense battle scenes. I think EA is doing a great job of bringing RTS games to consoles and would also recommend The Battle for Middle Earth II. The controls on that game are very similar to C&C3. Give both a shot.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on May 15, 2007
I loved CC Generals and Zero Hour expansion, they took RTS to a new level and really made it a skill to win a game. It seems like all you have to do in this latest version of CC is to build a huge army and attack fast! Though that's not such a bad thing, It misses out on the careful planning you had to do. It rewarded thoughtful structure building and placement as well as resource management. Seems like they took the S out of RTS. Dispite that it's a very fun game. There is strategy, just not in the same way as before. quick thinking is essential if you plan to take on anyone online.

Graphics are fantastic. The 360 version doesnt look as nice as the PC version but it's hardley noticable when you're in the thick of it. If you dont have a high end gaming PC, then the 360 version is the way to go. Online is where this game shines with a multitude of options to keep you busy. The controller took some getting use to. It's much easier with a keyboard and mouse but after completing a full campaign I got the hang of it. Hopefully CC3 will make use of the keyboard adapter that's due to come out soon for the 360.

CC fan?... PICK THIS UP.... new to RTS?...PICK THIS UP!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
42 of 55 people found the following review helpful
on May 10, 2007
First of all, if you're gonna play the demo and review it based on the demo, you're a moron. It's called a DEMO for a reason--not complete and finished product. If you like RTS games and are a fan of the command and conquer series, this game transfers great from PC to console--surprisingly. Just read game reviews from other sites and you'll see what I mean. Graphics aside (good graphics), gameplay is simple, yet challenging. Good pick up--especially for multiplayer aspect via Xbox Live.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on April 30, 2010
I think I would have really liked this game on a PC, but the RTS experience just doesn't seem to work on a console. I bought this game because I read reviews that said this was the best translation of an RTS to console controls, and now I'm thinking it's just not meant to be.

They have done some useful things with the controls, but it's just not enough. Not being able to select all units of a certain type, or all units on the map, or easily jump to certain units makes this really frustrating. Especially with infantry units, it's nearly impossible to tell a rifleman unit from a grenadier unit or the like in the middle of a battle, so I just found myself selecting all the units on screen and telling them to attack most of the time (which pretty much kills the very sophisticated tactical system they put into this game, where each unit type has different powers and abilities).

I think it might have been okay if it let you move the cursor around like you would with a mouse, but the cursor is always dead center of the screen like in a shooter, so if you move the cursor, you move the whole world with it. You can't select multiple units on screen without selecting all the units on the screen unless you've previously assigned them to a group number, which requires getting them to be the only units on screen for you to select them for the group. You're constantly turning the camera to see what's going on, which shifts the compass and makes navigation by looking at the mini-map cumbersome at best.

Bottom line here is that there's a good game buried under a frustrating control experience. I honestly spent much more time wondering where such-and-such unit went than I did planning my attacks. There were lots of options supposedly available to me for how to use different unit types, but I normally couldn't even tell if they were working. I don't necessarily fault the developers, as it does seem like a difficult prospect to translate a traditionally PC format to the console, but I want people like me out there who have played RTS's on the PC to understand that this is not the same experience.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on July 23, 2007
Xbox 360 owners are in for a treat with Tiberium Wars. First and foremost, it's an excellent real-time strategy game that features an intense story and a well-rounded set of multiplayer options. It's spirited and fun, and a great way for console enthusiasts to experience the fast and frantic action of a Command & Conquer game. Yet it's no mean feat that it plays so well without a mouse and keyboard. By using an intuitive control scheme similar to Electronic Arts' own Battle for Middle-earth 2, Command & Conquer 3 Tiberium Wars proves that strategy has a big role to play on consoles. If you have an Xbox 360 and even the remotest interest in earth-shattering explosions or campy science fiction, you owe it to yourself to pick up a copy.

When playing the campaign, you're rewarded with a whole lot of live-action video in between missions, featuring familiar actors getting hammy in near-future command centers. There's never been anything subtle about Command & Conquer's full-motion video in its previous PC incarnations, and true to form, the campaigns are loaded with wonderfully overblown sequences filled with intrigue and suspense. Actor Joe Kucan has returned as Nod figurehead Kane, and he's as irresistibly creepy as ever. He and other familiar actors serve up a heaping of extravagant solemnity against a backdrop of flashing lights and important-looking video screens.

If you think it sounds over the top, you'd be right--but it's cheesy in a good way, and it won't take you long to get involved in the story and the characters that drive it. The narrative is structured well, with the Global Defense Initiative and Brotherhood of Nod campaigns telling the same story from opposing viewpoints. There's also a new player in the mix: the alien Scrin race. At this stage in the series, the mineral tiberium has propagated over most of the Earth, but it's more than just an environmental plight--it's a key to future technology. It'll take you a couple dozen hours to get through the campaigns, and just when you think you've finished, there are a few surprise missions in store, and they are well worth the time it takes to unlock them. There are also plenty of reasons to return to the campaign once you're done, since the game rewards you with medals based on your performance.

The missions themselves are incredibly varied and involve a lot more than destroying an enemy base or defending a particular structure. You'll have to do these things, of course, but you have both primary and secondary objectives to complete, and they include using engineers to capture certain buildings, amassing beam cannons to take out defenses, or teaming up with your sworn enemy to defend against alien attacks. You'll be doing it all in a variety of real-world theaters, such as Washington, DC; downtown Sydney; and the eerily dry Amazon basin. The near-future take on familiar locales makes the intense battles feel even more thrilling because the settings are recognizable and meaningful.

This bittersweet victory brings GDI far more than it bargained for.
That's not to say the combat isn't gripping on its own. If you're inclined to turtle up in real-time strategy games, you'll be in for a surprise: Battles are intense and focused, and they give you little time to prepare. Like most strategy games, Tiberium Wars still requires you to build up resources, but it's a quick process of plopping down a bunch of tiberium refineries and power generators and then finding the action, because if you don't, the action will quickly find you. Once you get past the first two acts of each campaign, you'll discover that Tiberium Wars' artificial intelligence is aggressive and resourceful, and it will take advantage of your strategic flaws. Don't expect to put your trust in one or two favored units, because even the most powerful units have noticeable weaknesses.

It's a rusher's paradise, but you shouldn't take it to mean that technological advancement and thoughtful strategy don't have their places. You won't need to deal with long and complex tech trees, but you do have multiple powers and upgrades to earn by building various structures. The powers run the gamut from GDI's powerful ion strike to Nod's vapor bomb, and they fit each faction perfectly. As you use units, they level up, making them more effective in battle, and there are some cases where you improve units by more unconventional means. For example, you can use a Nod warmech to destroy your own flame tank, and the mech will then spew fire in addition to its own native attack.

How differently each faction plays is impressive. GDI units tend to be straightforward and powerful, and a huge force of mammoth tanks and juggernauts is a challenge to counter. Nod relies on sneakiness and smart use of unique abilities, and a small force of stealth tanks and viper bombers can cripple an enemy's economy. But playing as the Scrin is Tiberium Wars' greatest delight and challenge, since the alien faction is so different from the others. Your first encounters with the Scrin in the campaign are breathtaking, since even low-level units like buzzers look interesting and intimidating. In fact, the most threatening sight within the game is a fleet of Scrin assault carriers and their accompanying fighters. Yet while the Scrin have some potent units and other advantages, such as the ability to collect endless tiberium without building silos, they require a lot of micromanagement and intimate knowledge of each unit and structure.

With all of these aspects of the gameplay remaining intact from the PC version, it's hard to imagine handling all of the units and commands without the benefit of a keyboard and mouse. Yet there's very little awkward about the controls in the 360 version. The side bar of the PC edition has been moved to the bottom left of the screen, and you can access your build queues and special powers by pulling the right trigger and scrolling through the options with the D pad. Movement and attack orders are as simple as pressing the A button, and even tasks like creating control groups or performing special moves are easy and instinctive to pull off. It is definitely a compromise, and selecting smaller groups of units on the fly isn't particularly easy, but overall the controls work just fine. Placing structures is often a pain, too, since the game is picky about where you can put them. Positioning something as simple as a turret or a power plant can take multiple tries, and it's never clear exactly why you can't put certain buildings in certain places, particularly when the terrain is smooth and the area is totally free of nearby obstructions.

C&C3 is also home to an impressive set of multiplayer options. You've got the standard versus option, which lets you skirmish against other players or the CPU. There are also king-of-the-hill and capture-and-hold modes, which require you to hold certain spots on the map to attain victory. These options are the best of the bunch, not only because of the added strategic dimension, but also because the action is focused and intense as players struggle to maintain control. There is also a siege mode, which keeps you and your opponent from attacking until the timer is up. It's interesting to play, given the game's rush-friendly design, but it also allows players to pit high-level units against each other without worry of early bombardments. The final mode is capture the flag, which functions much like it does in first-person shooters. There are a good number of maps for up to four players, and with so many ways of playing, you're bound to get a good deal of mileage from the multiplayer. You can even connect your Xbox Live Vision Cam should you wish to make rude gestures at your opponent.

In many ways, Tiberium Wars looks really good, particularly the unit designs. Scrin annihilator tripods lumber about with a commanding attitude, GDI orca bombers circle in believable formations, and Nod avatar warmechs advance with heft. Their stature and fantastical nature fit perfectly with the over-the-top nature of the action, as do the titanic nuclear explosions and lightning strikes. In the most extreme battles, your screen will fill with mighty blasts and streams of lasers, as if you were the main player in a sci-fi action film. The visuals look washed out, though, so many of the effects aren't as vibrant as they could be. More noticeably, the frame rate suffers from regular and frustrating slowdown, particularly when there are a lot of units onscreen.

The visuals are good, though it sometimes looks like things were left out in the sun too long.

Bad unit voice-overs are a common annoyance in strategy games, but they're all done well in Tiberium Wars. EA pinpointed just the right amount of extravagance to lavish on the sound design, from mission voice-overs to the eclectic soundtrack, which is alternately tinged with orchestral fanfare and heavy metal grinding. While many of the sound effects are what you would expect from standard artillery and tanks, others, particularly those of the Scrin units, are ominous and appropriately alien.

There's a good set of achievements to unlock, including a few zero-point ones that pop up should you lose a few too many multiplayer games in a row or bypass the tutorial mission. But it's all just icing on the proverbial cake, since playing Tiberium Wars is a reward unto itself. Not only is it a great game, but it's a great example of a console RTS done right. If you've never played a Command & Conquer game before, there's no better time than the present.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on May 21, 2007
C&C3 is a very fun game, don't get me wrong. However, pretty much any RTS on a videogame system is bound to have control problems and C&C3 is no exception. This game is very fast paced for an RTS, and when there's a horde of bad guys attacking your base, you dont want to be fumbling around with a control stick trying to select your soldiers.

For me anyway, this game is just to fast paced for an RTS, but usually awesome battle scenes and graphics make this game at least somwhat enjoyable. RENT IT if you just want some gamerscore points and BUY IT if you like RTS's.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on April 14, 2011
It reminded me of the old C&C games - which I would rather have instead of the (in my opinion) crappy Red Alert 3.

It's fun, and can be quite intense. Has up to 4 player multi-player fast paced battles. The graphics are splendid and the computer AI will be a good challenge for many.

Basically, you start with just one building, a construction yard, and from there you construct other buildings like power plants, ore refineries and barracks. Every building requires a certain amount of power, and the more buildings you have, the more power plants you need. Eventually you can build war factories for tanks and mine layers and then airfields for powerful air units.

The story is acted out with a Hollywood cast with actors like Michael Ironside, Tricia Helfer, Josh Holloway and many others. The cut scenes tell you exactly what's going, and it has a very good story.

There's three factions that you can play ass. The GDI, the NOD and the Scrim. Each faction has it's own particular strengths and weaknesses and it causes for very strategical both online and offline play.

The game is very well thought out, and if you were a fan of the old C&C games made by Westwood Studios, this is a must buy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on February 21, 2014
The item was listed USED - VERY GOOD

The item is not average or even good its actually by Amazon or Ebay standards extremely poor. I will give him this much the shipping was semi fast seeming he lived 2 states over. The problem here is this:

The case is damaged really badly it looks as if a dog bit it or chewed on a side of it and it looks old and dingy.
The top of the disc and booklet look very good but the part that matters is the bottom of the disc where it reads.

Not only does the dish have scuffs on every single inch of the bottom of the disc there is also a huge scratch that goes from the inner ring all the way to the outter ring of the disc all the way across. I m wondering if this is what is to be expected for an item that is listed as VERY GOOD???? I would rate it VERY POOR not even poor.

I m trying to be fair and nice like I always tend to be but I wasted my time, money and this was a gift. I wish that the person would have been forth right with what the item looked like cause I dont see how anyone could make the honest mistake saying this item is in anyways in VERY GOOD condition. Its VERY POOR. So Poor in fact I wouldnt even resell this item to another person!

Maybe for 2.99 not 15.00 dollars. Other sellers had this item for a few dollars more from trust AMAZON sellers in VERY GOOD condition and I feel this is one of those situations where you get what you pay for and its upsetting cause I wanted to go with the new seller to help out his business and go with the underdog but now Im feeling underwhelmed and a bit disappointed.

I will go ahead and leave 2 stars because of the fast shipping but otherwise I would have left one star so I m being as far as possible. I really am disappointed but its only a game and life will go on.

From my experience I would not suggest buying from this individual unless he really starts to be honest or at least know what people expect when you give the item one of Amazons best ratings other than BRAND NEW this is right underbrand new and at the least they could have put good or poor and not very good. I find this to dishonest.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on November 4, 2009
So i finally picked up this game after years of procrastination, and fear that the xbox will not be able to satisfy my need for rts and produce them in a way that was comparable to a pc and easy to play. I would like to say that i was wrong in thinking the xbox couldnt capture a true Command and Conquer game and produce it on the xbox with ease.

Pro
-Graphics are a plus they are much better and updated than the past.
-Actual movies involving REAL AMERICAN people. Everyone speaks fluent english +
-Zero lag (game plays smooth all the way through)
-Controls are simple to use and easy to access.
-Training covers EVERYTHING and covers it well.
-Story is long believable and fun.
-Very Good replay value
-Game gives you multiple missions at times, allowing you to do certain ones before the other and unlock different units before you continue.

Con
-Units sometimes get a little confused and like usual dont have their own retreat button (figured by now out of common sense if a unit is about to die it would run away on its own!)
-Land cultivation is a slow process and expansion can take a long time
-Tanks die to marines with guns (still never quite understood how a tank dies to a gun)

All and all this game is fun takes a long time to finish and stands up to the other c&c titles. The price now adays for the game definatly makes it worth it. I would recommend this product to any real time strategy player.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on May 10, 2013
I really enjoyed Red Alert 2 on PC. I never played Red Alert 3 on PC or the Xbox 360 version. All I know is Command and Conquer 3 reminds me of the old days on Red Alert 2. I was really surprised how well they made the console interface. I'm stuck in one of the later levels.. but if you like Command & Conquer... and you don't have a good PC, you should check this game out if you can find it. Also, it's May 10, 2013, and online still works... amazing for an EA game you can't buy in stores. Good lucking winning an online game is all I gotta say.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3 - Xbox 360
Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3 - Xbox 360 by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
$20.90


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.