Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crushing, Relentless Metal!
As a certified eccentric who listens to Celia Cruz, Roy Orbison, Opera, Ricardo Arjona, and Cannibal Corpse, I tend to gravitate to whatever I feel embodies a certain feeling or mood I am after.

This one I can appreciate as its mostly slow, crushing rythems have an apocolyptic feel to it, and at times it evokes insanely rich, vivid gore scenes and head-banging,...
Published on November 18, 2007 by S. Sommerville

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars could be better
SFU has made very good death metal albuns, that's why this one I think weak, it's worse than the earlier records, it has the same energy and agression, but it is like something is missing, it repeats itself at every song. But it is still better than a lot of DM groups or pseudo-black-metal rubbish.
Published 11 months ago by andrada


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crushing, Relentless Metal!, November 18, 2007
This review is from: Commandment (Audio CD)
As a certified eccentric who listens to Celia Cruz, Roy Orbison, Opera, Ricardo Arjona, and Cannibal Corpse, I tend to gravitate to whatever I feel embodies a certain feeling or mood I am after.

This one I can appreciate as its mostly slow, crushing rythems have an apocolyptic feel to it, and at times it evokes insanely rich, vivid gore scenes and head-banging, fist pumping evil.

The best tune is "The Edge of the Hatchet" and "Ghosts of the Undead," "Thou Shalt Kill," "Zombie Exectutioner," and "Doomsday" are all top-notch as well. Really, 9 of the 10 tunes are great (didn't care for track 7 for some reason).

Definitly a heavy album, not as blisteringly speedy as cannibal corpse, not as technical as Death and Morbid Angel-- musically it is similar to Obituary, and the vocals are terrifc-- deep, pissed and unmistakenable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Best, September 3, 2011
By 
cobias (Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Commandment (Audio CD)
Its funny how reviewers will say " pretty good" or " not their best but ". It seems like death metal and the " underground " metal fans like to sound legit or cool with their reviews.Like its cool to like the uncool. Grow up. I call it like i see it. This is their best. Song wise, sound wise, production wise. In my opinion this is the best metal or heavy cd release since Metallicas master of puppets or Maybe Panteras CFH. Seriously. Its crushing. There will always be comparisons to CC but this has outstripped anything CC has ever done. The guitar and bass sounds mesh together well and Steve Swanson is one metal riff meister. AMAZING STUFF ! I dont think SFU has ever got a great drum sound on their records but its pretty good here...and its Gregs best playing.

I think this was the begining of the end of the road for SFU though. Chris cannot keep up this vocal style forever and it showed on the following cd Death Rituals. I have no problem with weed but if you are pushing 40 and are singing death metal...cutting back on the weed may be a good idea. And i have seen plenty of live videos where they have missed parts missed vocal lines...not good. Now with the lineup change ? Forget it. Never got to see the original or last lineup! It sucks ! But back to the music....it f'n pumles the brain. Thou shal kill, edge of the hatchet, zombie executioner all crushing tracks. The vocals are just insane ! I had this CD in my truck for about two years straight...nothing else. Just recently had to replace it. Redescovered it. It rips. At 39 this is probably the last metal cd i will really ever be into. RIP to the real SFU !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six Feet Under Commandment, March 24, 2010
This review is from: Commandment (Audio CD)
This Is a Great Album From Six Feet Under Very Very Heavy And Loud This And 13 Are Their Best Albums I'm Hooked Like a Fish I Just Got This Cd At Fye Today And I Can't Stop Playing It Chris Barnes Can Really Scream With The Best Of Them Really Good Album So If You Are a Six Feet Under Fan Go Pick This Up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesome., August 7, 2009
This review is from: Commandment (Audio CD)
chris barnes says that commandment is his favorite sfu record.
kinda interesting... so i put it in my review.

its not my favorite, but it is their most straighforward offering.
as soon as you hit "play" till its over, you are pulverized with the ultra-mega death 'n' roll style straight to your brain. the production is pretty much what you'd expect, as are the songs... but, thats what i love about sfu: you always know that you're gonna get some good metal, man.

"the edge of the hatchet" is my favorite track. reminds me of a song by GHOUL for some reason? every song though has it's own special charm. musicianship and barnes' all sound top notch. everysingle s.m.f. is this band is pulling their weight on this release... no stragglers.

this is, i believe, their shortest release as well; its just over 30 minutes in length. i often have to play it two times in a row because i need my fix of metal in larger quantities than the length of a seinfeld episode. but... it never overstays its welcome. chris and the boys show up, beat the poop out of you, drink all your milk, kick your dog and leave before you even know what hit you.

i still like "13" better though? hence, only 4 starz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heavy riffed bellowing, January 3, 2008
This review is from: Commandment (Audio CD)
I think this is the best album I have had for awhile. The songs flow and continue, the vocals do not get tiresome, and the the overall tempo of the album is consistent. Heavy riffed bellowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sic Feet Under COMMANDMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, April 23, 2007
This review is from: Commandment (Audio CD)
Six Feet Under have had ups and downs in their musical direction. After they did the graveyard classics ACDC thing I kind of gave up on them and figured that Chris Barnes was just fading away into redundant lameness. Then they released the album 13 and I was really impressed with the brutality of the songs. Now with Commandment, Six Feet Under prove that they are far from washed up and still have plenty of Deathmetal in them. This album Commandment is in my opinion their best one since Maximum Violence. This new album is exactly what die hard Barnes fans want from him. Sick low growling vocals and thick chunky pure old school DEATH metal riffing. Commandmemnt is an excellent solid Deathmetal release If you like Six Feet Uunder, BUY OR DIE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 stars) More solid stuff from SFU, May 3, 2007
This review is from: Commandment (Audio CD)
Seven albums and twelve years into their career, death metallers know what to expect from a new Six Feet Under album. The band's fans like it that way, and if you're reading this, chances are you do, too. You already know what this Tampa-based quartet's seventh record, "Commandment," sounds like...which is exactly why you want to hear it. SFU is doubtlessly one of the most consistent and reliable metal groups around today. They are the AC-DC of death metal: their albums aren't vastly different from one another, and their music is none-too-complex or unique, but it is always completely straightforward (devoid of any kind of experimentation or superfluous fat), and it never fails to rock hard. Very hard.

The songs on Six Feet Under's new full-length, this year's "Commandment," take high levels of concentration to distinguish between, and will sound familiar to anyone that's ever been exposed to the band's back catalogue, because all the typical SFU mainstays are present: simple musical arrangements (including basic, blast beat-free drum beats, and immensely detuned guitar riffs), thick, meaty, often crushing rhythms, and frontman Chris Barnes' famous "angry bear" vocals and grotesque lyrics (all the usual subjects are covered here, especially death, gore, and destruction.) So, the new album won't win Chris and company any new listeners, but they clearly couldn't care less about that (as long as they're able to solidify an already strong fanbase). There are no surprises here whatsoever, so there are also no disappointments. Some may justifiably claim that "Commandment" sounds "safe," "predictable," and "formulaic" -- but it is a tried and true sound, and if it ain't broken, why fix it?

Fans will find much to enjoy on "Commandment." First of all, even though it is not as fast or good as 2005's "13," it does boast a slightly better production job, and is arguably SFU's heaviest offering since 1999's "Maximum Violence." Plus, there's a good, adherent, crunching groove running throughout most of the songs, thus making most of them quite catchy. And finally, the band wrote and recorded the whole record in only twelve days, so the music sounds remarkably raw and urgent. "Commandment" doesn't feature any classics or potential hit singles, but none of these songs are real throwaways, either, and several of them are worth checking out if you have more than a passing interest in death metal. Such recommended listens include the Bolt Thrower-reminiscent "Thou Shall Kill," the steamrolling guitar lead, thumping drums, and catchy, memorable chorus in "Zombie Executioner," the lumbering, machine gun riffs and vocal hooks of "Bled To Death," the positively blistering "Resurrection of the Rotten," "The Evil Eye," which borders on sounding almost like doom metal, and the disc closer, "Ghosts of the Undead," a mid-tempo chug and churner that's highlighted by a fairly long, ripping, and even kind of melodic solo.

The best advice you can receive about this album is not to take it very seriously or over think it. If you take it at face value and don't expect a heck of a lot from it, it should be quite an enjoyable and entertaining listen. In other words, think of "Commandment" as a plate of undercooked meat and potatoes: It definitely doesn't appeal to everyone, so if you want something meticulous, arty, and unique, look elsewhere; but if all you're after is something super quick, easy, raw, and heavy, there is almost nothing that could be more satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killer!, April 19, 2007
This review is from: Commandment (Audio CD)
This is classic Six Feet Under, and is better than their last release and there are no stupid covers on this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Only Review You Need, May 1, 2007
This review is from: Commandment (Audio CD)
This album compares closest to True Carnage or Bringer of Blood! The heavy vocals are back, not that worn out, I'm-now-almost-40 sound like the last release, 13 or whatever it was. Don't get me wrong, the age is still there, but at least it sounds like he's trying to be heavy this time. A word of warning though, it definitely isn't early Cannibal Corpse. There's some riff recycling here, but if you're listening to SFU you obviously don't care too much about that in the first place.

I'm giving this review five stars because it's definitely a turn in the right direction for Six Feet Under, but only 10 songs is rather weak. It would have been easy enough to churn out more of this stuff. The cd comes out around 35 minutes, give or take a couple with no song over 4 minutes; a fairly typical death metal album.

If you liked SFU but gave up after 13, try again. You're in for a real treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRUTAL DEATH METAL!!!, May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Commandment (MP3 Music)
I am a huge SFU fan so pretty much every release has something I enjoy! Commandment finishes off with Ghosts of the undead which is by far my favorite track!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Commandment
Commandment by Six Feet Under (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.