Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teddy Roosevelt Cleans Up Crime in Old New York
Commissioner Roosevelt is a great account of Theodore Roosevelt's tenure as New York City Police Commission President. As the head of the three-person board that oversaw the city's police, Roosevelt changed our notion of a modern police department. Even as he attempted to institute reforms he faced down police corruption, ethnic-group protests, government foot-dragging,...
Published on November 30, 2000 by M

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A better than average work, though a bit on the shallow side
I have always wanted to learn more about Teddy Roosevelt's two-year stint with the New York Police Department, and was thus thrilled to find Mr. Jeffer's book on Amamzon.com. While it does do a fairly good job of describing the events as they occurred during Roosevelt's tenure at the NYPD, I found the book on the whole to deliver a very surface treatment of the subject...
Published on January 7, 2001 by A. Rafkin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A better than average work, though a bit on the shallow side, January 7, 2001
By 
A. Rafkin (ruidoso, nm United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Commissioner Roosevelt: The Story of Theodore Roosevelt and the New York City Police, 1895-1897 (Paperback)
I have always wanted to learn more about Teddy Roosevelt's two-year stint with the New York Police Department, and was thus thrilled to find Mr. Jeffer's book on Amamzon.com. While it does do a fairly good job of describing the events as they occurred during Roosevelt's tenure at the NYPD, I found the book on the whole to deliver a very surface treatment of the subject. It is, as one of the other reviewers noted, quite superficial, relying almost exlcusively on anecdotes which seem to have been gleaned from newspapers of the period. What the book is missing is any kind of meaningful insight into TR himself. I have always understood that TR was a prolific letter-writer. I think that this book would have benefitted greatly from the author spending more time relating TR's thoughts, which he must have undoubtedly conveyed many times in correspondence to friends and associates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teddy Roosevelt Cleans Up Crime in Old New York, November 30, 2000
By 
Commissioner Roosevelt is a great account of Theodore Roosevelt's tenure as New York City Police Commission President. As the head of the three-person board that oversaw the city's police, Roosevelt changed our notion of a modern police department. Even as he attempted to institute reforms he faced down police corruption, ethnic-group protests, government foot-dragging, and machine politics in the land of Tamany Hall. This firebrand commissioner would even prowl the gaslighted streets of Old New York looking for policemen asleep at their posts.
Join Theodore Roosevelt in this crusade to stop crime and corruption in New York. If you enjoyed Caleb Carr's fictional T.R. in The Alienist, you'll probably enjoy the real life crime-buster in Commissioner Roosevelt. (I liked Mr. Jeffers' real one better.) Anyone interested in politics, especially New York or ethnic politics, might like it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dee-lightful history!, May 14, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Commissioner Roosevelt: The Story of Theodore Roosevelt and the New York City Police, 1895-1897 (Paperback)
"Commissioner Roosevelt" is a dee-lightful narration of the two years during which Theodore Roosevelt served as President of the Board of Police Commissioners of New York. The author skillfully relates the struggles and events of Roosevelt's service with the development of the public man he was becoming. He captures the spirit of the man which would later be manifested on a grander scale. In viewing historical figures we often tend to focus on their most prominent roles, in this case the Rough Rider and President, and neglect other significant portions of their lives which reveal their character. Commissioner Roosevelt helps fill that gap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Police Era History, April 5, 2000
By 
Scott McGovney (Barrington, Rhode Island USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Commissioner Roosevelt: The Story of Theodore Roosevelt and the New York City Police, 1895-1897 (Paperback)
The book covered the period of history just at the turn of the 20th Century. I found it to be very informative and made me feel like I was right there strolling the streets with Ted Roosevelt. Although the book is strong in its era coverage more attention should have been given to the various laws and acts that were in place at the time preventing "police" to perform their respective functions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glory Days, December 27, 2000
By 
Jeremy Siegel (St. Mary's City, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Commissioner Roosevelt: The Story of Theodore Roosevelt and the New York City Police, 1895-1897 (Paperback)
COMMISSIONER ROOSEVELT exhibits Theodore Roosevelt's true modus opporandae. There were indeed many obstacles in Roosevelt's path to making a better city police force, however, the American public was, in my opinion, persuaded by eloquent speaking and the media more so then they are today. In all likelihood there is no way Roosevelt could achieve such drastic reform results over a relatively short period of time in the modern world. However, Jeffers' book is not about that issue, this book is about displaying Roosevelt's true core beliefs and the willpower that was within a person who was weak and sickly as a child. Personally I would have liked to have seen more critical material in this book, however, it is a beautiful narrative of how one man was able to make a difference (with the help of the fledgling media). This book should be mandatory reading for all people in the law enforcement field today, it shows all the principals that American's hold dear condensed into one mortal being, Roosevelt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Potentially Good History That Lacks Focus, February 28, 2011
This review is from: Commissioner Roosevelt: The Story of Theodore Roosevelt and the New York City Police, 1895-1897 (Paperback)
Few folks are aware that before Teddy R. was a Rough Rider, governor, vice-president and president, he was a member of the police commissioner board of New York City. Joining the board as a force of reform, Teddy forced through a number of changes to the NYC police policies and operations and helped clean up the department by establishing fair methods of promotion, supervision and leadership. Ultimately his good works were undermined by politics and he left the board to become Assistant Secretary of the Navy through his own instigation rather than continue in the world of endless infighting and backbiting. It is an interesting story but the author's style goes down to such day to day detail that it become difficult for the reader to maintain focus. Recommended only for those with a real interest in TR that would keep them motivated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Theordore: The man of many talents!, November 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Commissioner Roosevelt: The Story of Theodore Roosevelt and the New York City Police, 1895-1897 (Paperback)
I admire TR! This book by H. Paul Jeffers adds to the understanding of the depth of Theodore Roosevelt. Well written and fast paced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I liked it and it was very educational I even passed it on to my brother who also enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A readable biography, but rather superficial, November 5, 1998
By A Customer
I read this book after having read Jay S. Berman's Police Administration and Progressive Reform, which was written several years earlier. This is interesting, because Jeffer writes that his was the first book on this subject, despite the fact that he cites Berman in his bibliography and proceeds to cover the same ground. Jeffers book is readable but is shallow and superficial, consisting largely of anecdotes and summaries of newspaper accounts from the New York Times. Berman's book is far more scholarly and vastly better researched. Jeffers owes an apology to both his predecessor and his readers for claiming to have written a book that "needed to be written".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Commissioner Roosevelt: The Story of Theodore Roosevelt and the New York City Police, 1895-1897
Used & New from: $6.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.