Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book about the Commodore 64 & Vic-20
I really enjoyed the book. I'm a fan of Commodore computers having grown up with the VIC-20 & C64. I'm always looking for new material about Commodore and this book fit the bill nicely. When I saw the book on Amazon, I knew I had to read it. Thanks Robinson for writing this great book.

Just a note for future editions: You need to include a chapter on...
Published on August 23, 2011 by Mark Zablocki

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for hardcore C-64 game fans
This book focuses less on the history, technical details, and impact of the C-64, and instead mainly provides information on C-64 emulation, specifically games; and to be more specific, adventure games. If you are someone who wants to know how to play your old Commodore 64 adventure/role-playing games with an emulator, then this book is perfect for you. Others might not...
Published 14 months ago by IT Guy 147


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book about the Commodore 64 & Vic-20, August 23, 2011
By 
Mark Zablocki (WARREN, MI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Commodore 64 Walkabout (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the book. I'm a fan of Commodore computers having grown up with the VIC-20 & C64. I'm always looking for new material about Commodore and this book fit the bill nicely. When I saw the book on Amazon, I knew I had to read it. Thanks Robinson for writing this great book.

Just a note for future editions: You need to include a chapter on programming. The ability to program both the VIC and C64 played a major role in their success. The VIC-20 & C64 introduced the world to programming and created a whole generation of future programmers (not something to be taken lightly). Programming was different back then. It provided the VIC-20 & C64 owner with a special connection to his/her computer that is not seen to the same extent with today's PCs. I was surprised to see this topic missing from your book. Please include a chapter expounding the virtues of programming on the VIC-20 & C64. It's too important a topic to be left out of your book.

Thanks again for such a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking back, May 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Commodore 64 Walkabout (Kindle Edition)
The author delivers a great present day feel of C64 gaming and novice advice. It makes me think of older games and BASIC programming. It makes me think just how fast time passes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for hardcore C-64 game fans, August 24, 2013
By 
IT Guy 147 (Oklahoma City, OK USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Commodore 64 Walkabout (Kindle Edition)
This book focuses less on the history, technical details, and impact of the C-64, and instead mainly provides information on C-64 emulation, specifically games; and to be more specific, adventure games. If you are someone who wants to know how to play your old Commodore 64 adventure/role-playing games with an emulator, then this book is perfect for you. Others might not find much of interest. Of course the price is very low so you are not risking much by purchasing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and informative for Commodore fans!, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Commodore 64 Walkabout (Kindle Edition)
This is a light entertaining read for the millions of us who have owned or admired Commodore computers. This book doesn't go too much into the history of the company but instead directs the reader to the current state of the Commodore scene. Yes, believe it or not the Commodore 64 lives on in the lives of thousands of computer hobbyists worldwide. This is an active group which after 30 years is still developing software and hardware for a computer which remains relevant in 2013.

This book is your guide to getting involved with retro-computing. Don't have the room or money for a 30 year old computer or the many thousands of games that run on it. No problem, the games can be dowloaded for free as most of them are so old they have been released into the public domain or abandoned by their publishers. You can run the games on free software for your current Mac or PC which emulates every feature, sound, and disk drive of the real Commodore 64. What else can you do? How about going online, connecting to networks, visiting old style Bulletin board systems, running a Windows like operating system before Bill Gates even knew what they were. No need to worry about getting a virus, you are immune! There are over 10,000 games available for download and each one is so compact it will download in a second or two even over dial up!

If you have any interest at all in Commodore Computers this book is for you and it will likely excite you enough to join in the fun. If so, be prepared to spend many a late evening in front of the computer staring at the blue screen of a 30 year old 8 bit C64.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The old Commodore 64 memories, November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Commodore 64 Walkabout (Kindle Edition)
I like the way it presents itself and still in the process of reading. The commodore 64 is one of the computer I first started out with so I like to read on what I missed out on in learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb for any C64-lover. New or experienced., March 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Commodore 64 Walkabout (Kindle Edition)
Recommended for anyone who's still in love with the Commodore 64. A guide to the experienced and not so experienced. Very well written, and writes about everything you need to know anno 2012 about the C64. A must-have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars See More C 64, July 12, 2014
By 
Dave (Albuquerque, NM, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Commodore 64 Walkabout (Kindle Edition)
For Commodore 64 fans, this book dabbles in the greatness of the World's Most Popular Computer. If you are a classic game lover, Mason gives some nice reviews/reminders of great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun retrospective, December 22, 2013
By 
Winfield Heagy (Leesburg, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Commodore 64 Walkabout (Kindle Edition)
It was fun to reminisce about one of my all time favorite computers. It inspired me to pull out my old Commodore machines and dust them off, as well as install emulation software on my notebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for cultural awareness, October 31, 2013
This review is from: A Commodore 64 Walkabout (Kindle Edition)
For C64 owners or previous owners this is a walk down memory lane or maybe an excuse to reach in the back of the closet and dust it off.

I no longer have mine. Gave it to Goodwill and fantasize it is still out there in the ether doing its thing. While most people installed games like early Startrek (in BAIC) adapted from the trash-80,I actually had it connected to a portable typewriter. No one wanted dot matrix at the time. Then it became a terminal at 2:00 AM to the local university computer.

Well enough memorizing, let us see what we missed with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old time classic, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Commodore 64 Walkabout (Kindle Edition)
I own several Commodore computers from the 80's. starting with the VIC 20 and the C64 and Amiga 500. They are all in perfect operating condition so I like to read about how things got started with the business and what was available at the time compared to other computer companies. Not a bad book but sometimes you can skip a few pages and not miss anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Commodore 64 Walkabout
A Commodore 64 Walkabout by Robinson Mason
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.